Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

JAPAN POST INSURANCE

JAPAN POST INSURANCE Co. , Ltd.

Company highlights

The annual dividend per share has risen for 5 consecutive years.

Key figures

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026

RevenueDisclosed —
Operating marginCalculated Could not be retrieved
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 7.1%

Company profile

Securities code 7181 / EDINET code E31755 / Insurance / Fiscal year end end of March

千代田区大手町二丁目3番1号/Capital stock ¥500,000 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Official website: https://www.jp-life.japanpost.jp/aboutus/csr/diversity/activities.html
Official website: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry).

Company details
取締役兼代表執行役社長 谷垣 邦夫 Representative
1 Consolidated subsidiaries

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · filed 2026-06-18

Profitability Could not be retrieved
Growth Could not be retrieved
Capital efficiency ★★☆☆☆position among all companies 4.6%

Business activities and revenue composition

Revenue and profit by business segment

Disclosed segments (business divisions used in reporting): one

Revenue and profit

Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses General and administrative expenses ¥350.6 billion Consolidated
Profit by stage Ordinary income ¥271.9 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥168.8 billion Consolidated

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
7.1% Net assets to total assets Industry median 28.4% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
0.3% Return on assets (ROA)
¥3,833.13 Net assets per share
¥-98.9 billion Free cash flow
¥58,442.2 billion Total assets
Capital allocation
6.9% Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation ★☆☆☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
39.7% Extraordinary gains and losses relative to ordinary profit ★★★★★ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated

JAPAN POST INSURANCE

Long-term revenue, profit and asset trends

Period 2013 to 2026Source Annual securities reportsDisclosed

Mark on the chart
529 353 176 0 2013 2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 2025 2026 Ordinary income 272Latest value 2026 272¥ billion 529Highest in the period shown 2013 529¥ billion 118Lowest in the period shown 2023 118¥ billion ¥ billion

JAPAN POST INSURANCE

Recent performance trends

Source Annual securities reports

356 237 119 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Ordinary income ¥ billion

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Item20222023202420252026
Ordinary income (loss) ¥356.1B ¥117.6B ¥161.2B ¥170.3B ¥271.9B
Change from prior year +3.0% -67.0% +37.1% +5.7% +59.7%

JAPAN POST INSURANCE

Earnings and net assets per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

153 102 51 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Earnings per share yen 3,833 2,555 1,278 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net assets per share yen

JAPAN POST INSURANCE

Return on equity over time

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

6 4 2 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Return on equity (ROE, %)
Consolidated indicators (13 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Ordinary income (loss) ¥356.1 billion ¥117.6 billion ¥161.2 billion ¥170.3 billion ¥271.9 billion
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent ¥158.1 billion ¥97.6 billion ¥87.1 billion ¥123.5 billion ¥168.8 billion
Comprehensive income ¥-0.8 billion ¥25.9 billion ¥1,055.9 billion ¥-116.4 billion ¥1,035.2 billion
Net assets ¥2,421.1 billion ¥2,375.4 billion ¥3,395.7 billion ¥3,241.4 billion ¥4,153.6 billion
Total assets ¥67,174.8 billion ¥62,687.4 billion ¥60,855.9 billion ¥59,555.7 billion ¥58,442.2 billion
Net assets per share 2,019.86 yen 2,068.93 yen 2,957.2 yen 2,822.66 yen 3,833.13 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share 125.05 yen 83.16 yen 75.82 yen 107.52 yen 152.55 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 3.6% 3.8% 5.6% 5.4% 7.1%
Return on equity 6.0% 4.1% 3.0% 3.7% 4.6%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-2,755.7 billion ¥-2,978.1 billion ¥-3,063.2 billion ¥-1,627.8 billion ¥-1,884.9 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥3,111.7 billion ¥3,216.8 billion ¥2,721.8 billion ¥2,386.5 billion ¥1,786.1 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-420.3 billion ¥-72.9 billion ¥62.2 billion ¥60.1 billion ¥-124.2 billion
Cash and cash equivalents ¥1,270.8 billion ¥1,436.5 billion ¥1,157.3 billion ¥1,976.1 billion ¥1,753.0 billion
Parent only indicators (13 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Ordinary income (loss) ¥355.8 billion ¥117.7 billion ¥162.6 billion ¥171.0 billion ¥273.2 billion
Net income (loss) ¥157.9 billion ¥97.8 billion ¥88.6 billion ¥124.1 billion ¥170.2 billion
Capital stock ¥500.0 billion ¥500.0 billion ¥500.0 billion ¥500.0 billion ¥500.0 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 399,693,000 shares 399,693,000 shares 383,192,000 shares 383,192,000 shares 371,822,000 shares
Net assets ¥2,418.7 billion ¥2,373.7 billion ¥3,395.7 billion ¥3,242.5 billion ¥4,143.5 billion
Total assets ¥67,174.8 billion ¥62,685.2 billion ¥60,857.1 billion ¥59,555.5 billion ¥58,450.8 billion
Net assets per share 2,017.93 yen 2,067.44 yen 2,957.18 yen 2,823.58 yen 3,823.75 yen
Dividend per share 90 yen 92 yen 94 yen 104 yen 124 yen
Interim dividend per share 45 yen 46 yen 47 yen 52 yen 62 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share 124.91 yen 83.31 yen 77.13 yen 108.06 yen 153.81 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 3.6% 3.8% 5.6% 5.4% 7.1%
Return on equity 6.0% 4.1% 3.1% 3.7% 4.6%
Payout ratio 24.0% 36.8% 40.6% 32.1% 26.9%

Dividend history

Source: reporting company’s key figures, annual securities reports · 14 years (2013 to 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

5 periods Consecutive increases (own definition) through FY ending 3/2026
10 periods Consecutive periods with dividends (site definition) through FY ending 3/2026
+19.2% Dividend growth (year on year)
+10.3% Dividend growth (5-year annual rate)
Fiscal yearAnnual dividend per share Of which interimPayout ratio (as reported, parent only) Flag
FY ending 3/2026 ¥124 ¥62 26.9%
FY ending 3/2025 ¥104 ¥52 32.1%
FY ending 3/2024 ¥94 ¥47 40.6%
FY ending 3/2023 ¥92 ¥46 36.8%
FY ending 3/2022 ¥90 ¥45 24.0%
FY ending 3/2021 ¥76 Could not be retrieved 25.8%
FY ending 3/2020 ¥76 ¥38 28.3%
FY ending 3/2019 ¥72 Could not be retrieved 35.7%
FY ending 3/2018 ¥68 Could not be retrieved 39.1%
FY ending 3/2017 ¥60 Could not be retrieved 40.7%
FY ending 3/2016 ¥56 Could not be retrieved 38.9% Stock split or share consolidation noted
FY ending 3/2015 ¥1,226.38 Could not be retrieved 30.0%
FY ending 3/2014 ¥840.43 Could not be retrieved 26.5%
FY ending 3/2013 ¥1,137.51 Could not be retrieved 25.0%

JAPAN POST INSURANCE

Dividends per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

124 83 41 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Dividend per share yen

Shareholder composition

As of 2026-03-31Disclosed

Share ownership by holder category

121,682 Shareholders
21.61% Foreign holders (total) Industry median 29.96%
13.89% Individuals and others Industry median 20.53%

JAPAN POST INSURANCE

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

  • Financial institutions13.51%
  • Securities firms1.80%
  • Other corporations49.19%
  • Foreign holders (institutions)21.59%
  • Foreign holders (individuals)0.02%
  • Individuals and others13.89%

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 日本郵政株式会社 49.75% 179,898,000
2 日本マスタートラスト信託銀行株式会社(信託口) 8.5% 30,739,000
3 株式会社日本カストディ銀行(信託口) 4.18% 15,109,000
4 STATE STREET BANK AND TRUST COMPANY 505001(常任代理人 株式会社みずほ銀行決済営業部) 2.93% 10,577,000
5 NOMURA CUSTODY NOMINEES LIMITED OMNIBUS-FULLY PAID (CASHPB)(常任代理人 野村證券株式会社) 1.35% 4,890,000
6 かんぽ生命保険社員持株会 0.95% 3,429,000
7 THE BANK OF NEW YORK, TREATY JASDEC ACCOUNT(常任代理人 株式会社三菱UFJ銀行) 0.73% 2,630,000
8 JP MORGAN CHASE BANK 385781(常任代理人 株式会社みずほ銀行決済営業部) 0.71% 2,573,000
9 STATE STREET BANK AND TRUST COMPANY 505103(常任代理人 株式会社みずほ銀行決済営業部) 0.59% 2,145,000
10 BNYM AS AGT/CLTS 10 PERCENT(常任代理人 株式会社三菱UFJ銀行) 0.57% 2,067,000

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

Source: R&D and capital expenditure sections, annual securities reports · 2 years (2021 to 2026)Disclosed

Not disclosed Research and development
¥41.8 billion Capital expenditure
Fiscal year Capital expenditure
FY ending 3/2026 ¥41.8 billion
FY ending 3/2021 ¥33.1 billion

Revenue scale in the same industry

Revenue of this company: not retrieved (no comparison)

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

17,706 Employees (parent only) Industry median 464
Could not be retrieved Average age Industry median 42.4
Could not be retrieved Average length of service Industry median 6.3 years
Could not be retrieved Average annual salary Industry median ¥8.40 million
People and organisation
75.1% Wage gap between men and women
10.6% Women in managerial positions
22.0% Share of female employees
100.0% Men taking childcare leave
Men 18.2 yrs
Women 14.9 yrs
Average length of service by gender
Men 15,044
Women 5,586
Employees by gender
225 / 2,118 Female managers
8 / 38 Female officers
2,294 Average temporary staff

Administrative filings and published information

Workplace information filings

Filed 2026-08-27Disclosed

ItemValue
Employees 20,630
Average monthly overtime (statutory overtime plus work on statutory days off)
Scope: 正社員
9.3 hours
Annual paid leave taken
Scope: 正社員
93.8%
Childcare leave taken, men
Scope: その他
100%
Childcare leave taken, women
Scope: その他
100%
Share of managers who are women 10.6%
Share of board members who are women 21.1%

Greenhouse gas emissions

Reported to the government for fiscal 2023Disclosed

CategoryEmissions
特定事業所排出者21,627 t-CO2
Sites covered by the report1

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2026-03-31Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm 有限責任あずさ監査法人
Audit fees (this year, total) ¥0.3 billion
Non-audit fees (this year, total) ¥53.00 million
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard Japanese GAAP

See the book series →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Accounts unique to this company (35 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue ¥2,188.7 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥1,310.8 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥4,417.8 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥143.6 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥302.0 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥15.8 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥-7,319.6 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥7,319.6 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥132.4 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥79.0 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥45.8 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥17.0 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥2,188.7 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥1,312.6 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥4,417.8 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥418.9 billion Parent only
Revenue 0.0214 Parent only
Revenue 0.0159 Parent only
Revenue ¥143.6 billion Parent only
Revenue 8,197 Parent only
Revenue 45.3 Parent only
Revenue 20.5 Parent only
Revenue ¥7.35 million Parent only
Revenue 0.027 Parent only
Revenue 9,509 Parent only
Revenue 43.1 Parent only
Revenue 16.4 Parent only
Revenue ¥6.14 million Parent only
Revenue 0.03 Parent only
Revenue ¥1,293.4 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥36.0 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥30.1 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.5 billion Parent only

Major management indicators (5 years) (26 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥1,035.2 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-1,884.9 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥1,786.1 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥1,753.0 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥4,153.6 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income (loss) ¥271.9 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥58,442.2 billion Consolidated
Return on equity 4.6% Consolidated
Equity-to-asset ratio 7.1% Consolidated
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent ¥168.8 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-124.2 billion Consolidated
Basic earnings (loss) per share 152.55 yen Consolidated
Net assets per share 3,833.13 yen Consolidated
Dividend per share 124 yen Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥170.2 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 371,822,000 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥4,143.5 billion Parent only
Ordinary income (loss) ¥273.2 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥58,450.8 billion Parent only
Return on equity 4.6% Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 7.1% Parent only
Capital stock ¥500.0 billion Parent only
Payout ratio 26.9% Parent only
Interim dividend per share 62 yen Parent only
Basic earnings (loss) per share 153.81 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 3,823.75 yen Parent only

Employees (6 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of employees 18,487 people Consolidated
Number of employees 18,487 people Consolidated
Wage gap between men and women (all employees) 75.1% Parent only
Number of employees 17,706 people Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (regular employees) 73.2% Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (non-regular employees) 80.8% Parent only

Other disclosed items (10 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 2,294 people Consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 2,294 people Consolidated
Number of associates accounted for using equity method 1 companies Consolidated
Number of unconsolidated subsidiaries accounted for using equity method 0 companies Consolidated
Number of consolidated subsidiaries 1 companies Consolidated
Rate of male employees taking childcare leave (all employees) 100.0% Parent only
Average number of temporary employees 2,274 people Parent only
Average number of temporary employees 2,274 people Parent only
Total return on the share price index 426.6% Parent only
Ratio of female employees in managerial positions 10.6% Parent only

Shares (16 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total of dividends received equity securities other than those not listed investment equity securities held for pure investment reporting company ¥17.8 billion Consolidated
Total of gain loss on sale equity securities other than those not listed investment equity securities held for pure investment reporting company ¥27.1 billion Consolidated
Number of shares held 254,059,000 shares Consolidated
Total number of shares held treasury shares etc 10,228,000 shares Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares increased shares not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 1 issues Consolidated
Total acquisition cost for increased shares shares not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company ¥3.6 billion Consolidated
Number of shares 371,822,700 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio treasury shares etc 2.8% Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 70.3% Consolidated
Number of shares held in own name treasury shares etc 10,228,000 shares Consolidated
Number of voting rights 3,615,046 units Consolidated
Carrying amount on the balance sheet ¥7.9 billion Consolidated
Book value equity securities other than those not listed investment equity securities held for pure investment reporting company ¥720.8 billion Consolidated
Number of issues 3 issues Consolidated
Number of issues 154 issues Consolidated
Total shareholder return 229.9% Parent only

Property and facilities (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Capital expenditures ¥41.8 billion Consolidated

Audit (5 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - reporting company ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - total ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - consolidated subsidiaries ¥6.00 million Consolidated
Fees for non-audit services - reporting company ¥53.00 million Consolidated
Fees for non-audit services - total ¥53.00 million Consolidated

Balance sheet (129 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥9.00 million Consolidated
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥2,448.5 billion Consolidated
Other liabilities liabilities ins ¥265.7 billion Consolidated
Other assets ¥454.9 billion Consolidated
Other, net ¥14.8 billion Consolidated
Call loan ¥30.0 billion Consolidated
Software ¥119.4 billion Consolidated
Lease assets, net ¥4.8 billion Consolidated
Agency accounts receivable assets ins ¥11.8 billion Consolidated
Reserve for price fluctuation ¥719.2 billion Consolidated
Reserve for insurance policy liabilities liabilities ins ¥48,102.3 billion Consolidated
Reinsurance accounts payable liabilities ins ¥6.0 billion Consolidated
Reinsurance accounts receivable assets ins ¥15.8 billion Consolidated
Retained earnings ¥894.3 billion Consolidated
Land ¥75.5 billion Consolidated
Payables under repurchase agreements liabilities ins ¥4,595.9 billion Consolidated
Reserve for dividends to policyholders liabilities ins ¥1,129.2 billion Consolidated
Buildings, net ¥40.7 billion Consolidated
Construction in progress ¥25.00 million Consolidated
Provision for directors' bonuses ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Outstanding claims ¥319.8 billion Consolidated
Securities ¥44,931.3 billion Consolidated
Property, plant and equipment ¥135.8 billion Consolidated
Shareholders' equity ¥1,753.5 billion Consolidated
Accumulated depreciation ¥-64.0 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets ¥119.4 billion Consolidated
Reserves under the special laws1 ¥719.2 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥1,753.0 billion Consolidated
Cash and deposits assets ins ¥1,753.0 billion Consolidated
Bonds payable ¥500.0 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥4,153.6 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥4,153.6 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥58,442.2 billion Consolidated
Deferred gains or losses on hedges ¥-62.7 billion Consolidated
Deferred tax assets ¥322.7 billion Consolidated
Treasury stock ¥-45.9 billion Consolidated
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥2,400.2 billion Consolidated
Liabilities ¥54,288.5 billion Consolidated
Liabilities and net assets ¥58,442.2 billion Consolidated
Provision for responaibility ¥46,653.3 billion Consolidated
Monetary receivables purchased assets ins ¥21.2 billion Consolidated
Receivables under resale agreements assets ins ¥472.5 billion Consolidated
Loans ¥2,134.8 billion Consolidated
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-0.9 billion Consolidated
Capital surplus ¥405.0 billion Consolidated
Capital stock ¥500.0 billion Consolidated
Remeasurements of defined benefit plans ¥14.3 billion Consolidated
Net defined benefit liability ¥98.7 billion Consolidated
Money held in trust ¥8,039.8 billion Consolidated
Other ¥9.00 million Parent only
Other securities assets ins ¥2,270.3 billion Parent only
Other current liabilities ¥10.5 billion Parent only
Other current assets ¥53.0 billion Parent only
Other retained earnings ¥791.1 billion Parent only
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥2,448.5 billion Parent only
Other liabilities liabilities ins ¥4,862.2 billion Parent only
Other assets ¥454.4 billion Parent only
Other, net ¥14.2 billion Parent only
Call loan ¥30.0 billion Parent only
Software ¥128.4 billion Parent only
Lease obligations ¥5.0 billion Parent only
Lease assets, net ¥4.5 billion Parent only
General loans assets ins ¥676.6 billion Parent only
Reserve for reduction entry of real estate ¥3.9 billion Parent only
Agency accounts receivable assets ins ¥11.8 billion Parent only
Suspense receipt ¥3.2 billion Parent only
Suspense payments assets ins ¥1.7 billion Parent only
Reserve for price fluctuation ¥719.2 billion Parent only
Reserve for insurance policy liabilities liabilities ins ¥48,102.3 billion Parent only
Policy loans assets ins ¥164.8 billion Parent only
Initial margins of futures markets assets ins ¥4.9 billion Parent only
Reinsurance accounts payable liabilities ins ¥6.0 billion Parent only
Reinsurance accounts receivable assets ins ¥15.8 billion Parent only
Retained earnings ¥898.5 billion Parent only
Legal retained earnings ¥107.4 billion Parent only
Prepaid expenses ¥4.5 billion Parent only
Government bonds assets ins ¥34,085.4 billion Parent only
Land ¥75.5 billion Parent only
Local government bonds assets ins ¥1,927.1 billion Parent only
Payables under repurchase agreements liabilities ins ¥4,595.9 billion Parent only
Foreign securities ¥2,105.0 billion Parent only
Reserve for dividends to policyholders liabilities ins ¥1,129.2 billion Parent only
Buildings, net ¥40.6 billion Parent only
Construction in progress ¥25.00 million Parent only
Provision for directors' bonuses ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Outstanding claims ¥319.8 billion Parent only
Securities ¥44,930.8 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥134.9 billion Parent only
Accrued income ¥120.2 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable-other ¥124.8 billion Parent only
Income taxes payable ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Accrued expenses ¥30.4 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥28.1 billion Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥1,757.6 billion Parent only
Shares ¥787.4 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥128.4 billion Parent only
Reserves under the special laws1 ¥719.2 billion Parent only
Cash ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Cash and deposits assets ins ¥1,749.7 billion Parent only
Bonds payable ¥500.0 billion Parent only
Bonds payable ¥3,755.7 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥4,143.5 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥4,143.5 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥58,450.8 billion Parent only
Deferred gains or losses on hedges ¥-62.7 billion Parent only
Deferred tax assets ¥327.4 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥787.2 billion Parent only
Treasury stock ¥-45.9 billion Parent only
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥2,385.8 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥54,307.3 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥58,450.8 billion Parent only
Provision for responaibility ¥46,653.3 billion Parent only
Monetary receivables purchased assets ins ¥21.2 billion Parent only
Receivables under resale agreements assets ins ¥472.5 billion Parent only
Loans ¥2,134.8 billion Parent only
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-0.9 billion Parent only
Capital surplus ¥405.0 billion Parent only
Legal capital surplus ¥405.0 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥500.0 billion Parent only
Asset retirement obligations ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Provision for retirement benefits ¥116.8 billion Parent only
Cash collateral paid for financial instruments assets ¥135.2 billion Parent only
Derivatives other than for trading assets liabilities ins ¥148.0 billion Parent only
Derivatives other than for trading assets assets ins ¥3.4 billion Parent only
Money held in trust ¥8,039.8 billion Parent only
Guarantee deposited ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Deposits received ¥2.7 billion Parent only
Cash segregated as deposits ¥6.5 billion Parent only
Deposits assets ins ¥1,749.0 billion Parent only

Statement of income (122 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other comprehensive income ¥866.4 billion Consolidated
Other other operating income oiins ¥14.1 billion Consolidated
Valuation difference on available for sale securities net of tax ¥896.8 billion Consolidated
Other income ¥2,126.3 billion Consolidated
Other expenses ¥70.2 billion Consolidated
Other refunds oeins ¥43.8 billion Consolidated
Other investment income oiins ¥47.00 million Consolidated
Other investment expenses ¥4.9 billion Consolidated
General and administrative expenses ¥350.6 billion Consolidated
Cost of sales ¥413.4 billion Consolidated
Reversal of reserve for price fluctuation eiins ¥110.7 billion Consolidated
Insurance premiums and other ¥2,188.7 billion Consolidated
Insurance claims oeins ¥3,369.2 billion Consolidated
Insurance claims and other ¥4,417.8 billion Consolidated
Reinsurance premiums oeins ¥216.4 billion Consolidated
Interest dividends and other income oiins ¥853.8 billion Consolidated
Dividends from surplus ¥-43.0 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥1,035.2 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-1,884.9 billion Consolidated
Loss on disposal of noncurrent assets elins life ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Gain on disposal of noncurrent assets eiins life ¥10.00 million Consolidated
Provision for reserve for policyholder dividends ¥143.6 billion Consolidated
Provision of interest portion of reserve for dividends to policyholders oeins ¥2.8 billion Consolidated
Annuity payments oeins ¥140.4 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥168.8 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥168.8 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥168.8 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥168.8 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥1,786.1 billion Consolidated
Share of other comprehensive income of investments accounted for using equity method ¥65.00 million Consolidated
Provision of outstanding claims ¥4.8 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥31.1 billion Consolidated
Loss on redemption of seciritues ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Gain on redemption of securities ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Loss on sales of securities ¥364.7 billion Consolidated
Gain on sale of securities ¥52.6 billion Consolidated
Income taxes current consolidated ins ¥13.0 billion Consolidated
Income taxes ¥67.4 billion Consolidated
Income taxes - deferred ¥54.4 billion Consolidated
Impairment loss ¥2.6 billion Consolidated
Foreign exchange gains ¥6.2 billion Consolidated
Extraordinary income ¥110.7 billion Consolidated
Extraordinary loss ¥2.9 billion Consolidated
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents ¥-223.1 billion Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥236.2 billion Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥236.2 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income ¥271.9 billion Consolidated
Ordinary revenue ¥5,625.8 billion Consolidated
Operating expenses ins ¥5,353.8 billion Consolidated
Benefits oeins ¥236.7 billion Consolidated
Deferred gains or losses on hedges net of tax ¥-43.0 billion Consolidated
Disposal of treasury stock ¥8.00 million Consolidated
Purchase of treasury stock ¥-80.0 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to owners of parent ¥1,035.2 billion Consolidated
Income from cancellation of contract ¥411.3 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-124.2 billion Consolidated
Reversal of policy reserve ins ¥2,112.2 billion Consolidated
Provision of policy reserve and other oeins ¥7.6 billion Consolidated
Reversal of allowance for doubtful accounts ¥29.00 million Consolidated
Investment income ¥1,310.8 billion Consolidated
Investment expenses ¥444.9 billion Consolidated
Remeasurements of defined benefit plans net of tax ¥12.6 billion Consolidated
Net derivative financial instruments loss oeins ¥44.0 billion Consolidated
Gain from money held in trust oiins ¥397.7 billion Consolidated
Other other operating income oiins ¥11.5 billion Parent only
Other other operating expenses oeins ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Other interest and dividends oiins ¥9.8 billion Parent only
Other income ¥2,124.3 billion Parent only
Other expenses ¥71.8 billion Parent only
Other refunds oeins ¥43.8 billion Parent only
Other investment income oiins ¥47.00 million Parent only
Other investment expenses ¥4.9 billion Parent only
Cost of sales ¥410.1 billion Parent only
Reversal of reserve for price fluctuation eiins ¥110.7 billion Parent only
Insurance expenses ¥2,128.1 billion Parent only
Insurance premiums and other ¥2,188.7 billion Parent only
Insurance claims oeins ¥3,369.2 billion Parent only
Insurance claims and other ¥4,417.8 billion Parent only
Reinsurance premiums oiins ¥60.5 billion Parent only
Reinsurance premiums oeins ¥216.4 billion Parent only
Interest dividends and other income oiins ¥855.6 billion Parent only
Dividends from surplus ¥-43.0 billion Parent only
Loss on disposal of noncurrent assets elins life ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Gain on disposal of noncurrent assets eiins life ¥10.00 million Parent only
Provision for reserve for policyholder dividends ¥143.6 billion Parent only
Provision of interest portion of reserve for dividends to policyholders oeins ¥2.8 billion Parent only
Annuity payments oeins ¥140.4 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥170.2 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥170.2 billion Parent only
Provision of outstanding claims ¥4.8 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥31.1 billion Parent only
Loss on redemption of seciritues ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Gain on redemption of securities ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Interest and dividends on securities oiins ¥795.7 billion Parent only
Loss on sales of securities ¥364.7 billion Parent only
Gain on sale of securities ¥52.6 billion Parent only
Income taxes current nonconsolidated ins ¥13.0 billion Parent only
Income taxes ¥67.3 billion Parent only
Income taxes - deferred ¥54.4 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥40.2 billion Parent only
Impairment loss ¥2.6 billion Parent only
Foreign exchange gains ¥6.2 billion Parent only
Extraordinary income ¥110.7 billion Parent only
Extraordinary loss ¥2.9 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥237.5 billion Parent only
Tax ¥30.4 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥273.2 billion Parent only
Ordinary revenue ¥5,625.5 billion Parent only
Operating expenses ins ¥5,352.3 billion Parent only
Benefits oeins ¥236.7 billion Parent only
Disposal of treasury stock ¥8.00 million Parent only
Purchase of treasury stock ¥-80.0 billion Parent only
Income from cancellation of contract ¥411.3 billion Parent only
Reversal of policy reserve ins ¥2,112.2 billion Parent only
Provision of policy reserve and other oeins ¥7.6 billion Parent only
Interest on loans ¥11.7 billion Parent only
Reversal of allowance for doubtful accounts ¥29.00 million Parent only
Investment income ¥1,312.6 billion Parent only
Investment expenses ¥444.9 billion Parent only
Net derivative financial instruments loss oeins ¥44.0 billion Parent only
Gain from money held in trust oiins ¥397.7 billion Parent only
Interest on deposits oiins ¥8.3 billion Parent only

Statement of changes in equity (4 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥912.2 billion Consolidated
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥866.4 billion Consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥901.0 billion Parent only
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥853.7 billion Parent only

Statement of cash flows (45 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥-330.0 billion Consolidated
Other ¥-202.2 billion Consolidated
Other ¥-0.1 billion Consolidated
Increase decrease in other investing and financing activities liabilities ope cfins ¥-9.4 billion Consolidated
Decrease increase in other investing and financing activities assets ope cfins ¥25.8 billion Consolidated
Repayments of lease obligations ¥-1.3 billion Consolidated
Decrease increase in agency accounts receivable ope cfins ¥-1.0 billion Consolidated
Increase decrease in reserve for price fluctuation ope cfins ¥-110.7 billion Consolidated
Increase decrease in reinsurance accounts payable ope cfins ¥32.00 million Consolidated
Decrease increase in reinsurance accounts receivable ope cfins ¥-5.1 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses paid ¥-29.6 billion Consolidated
Interest and dividends income received ope cfins ¥873.1 billion Consolidated
Interest dividends and other income ope cfins life ¥-853.8 billion Consolidated
Total of net cash provided by used in operating activities and investment transactions inv cfins ¥-55.0 billion Consolidated
Interest on reserve for dividends to policyholders ope cfins ¥2.8 billion Consolidated
Provision reversal of reserve for dividends to policyholders ope cfins ¥143.6 billion Consolidated
Dividends to policyholders paid ope cfins ¥-102.0 billion Consolidated
Subtotal ¥-2,642.3 billion Consolidated
Net change in reserve for management board benefit trust-OpeCF ¥73.00 million Consolidated
Increase decrease in provision for directors bonuses ¥21.00 million Consolidated
Equity in earnings losses of affiliates ¥-2.1 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in outstanding claims ¥4.8 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥31.1 billion Consolidated
Purchase of short term investment securities ¥-1,414.0 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from sales and redemption of securities inv cfins ¥2,883.1 billion Consolidated
Loss gain related to securities ope cfins ¥312.0 billion Consolidated
Purchase of property plant and equipment ¥-2.6 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from sales of property plant and equipment ¥11.00 million Consolidated
Loss gain related to property plant and equipment ope cfins ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥38.5 billion Consolidated
Impairment loss ¥2.6 billion Consolidated
Foreign exchange loss (gain) ¥-6.2 billion Consolidated
Purchase of intangible assets ¥-41.1 billion Consolidated
Regarding purchase of treasury stock ¥-80.0 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in policy reserve ¥-2,112.2 billion Consolidated
Purchases of monetary receivables purchased inv cfins ¥-39.9 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from sales and redemption of monetary receivables purchased inv cfins ¥41.5 billion Consolidated
Payments of loans receivable ¥-506.0 billion Consolidated
Collection of loans receivable ¥901.3 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in allowance for doubtful accounts ¥98.00 million Consolidated
Total of net cash provided by used in investment transactions inv cfins ¥1,830.0 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in net defined benefit liability ¥-9.3 billion Consolidated
Dividends ¥-43.0 billion Consolidated
Increase in money held in trust ¥-402.2 billion Consolidated
Decrease in money held in trust ¥357.1 billion Consolidated
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-1,884.9 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Dividend per share 124 Parent onlyDisclosed
Number of employees 18,487 ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net assets ¥4,153.6 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥271.9 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net income ¥168.8 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Total assets ¥58,442.2 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating margin Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Net margin Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Sales per employee Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Total asset turnover Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Net assets to total assets 7.1%ConsolidatedCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Net assets to total assets 7.1% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥4,153.6 billion ÷ ¥58,442.2 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).

Company details

  • Representative gBizINFO
  • Consolidated subsidiaries Annual Securities Report

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Return on assets (ROA) Net income ÷ total assets (consolidated)
  • Net assets per share Consolidated
  • Free cash flow Free cash flow: operating cash flow (cash generated by the business) plus investing cash flow (asset purchases, disposals and other investments), consolidated
  • Total assets Consolidated

Capital allocation

  • ★: position when all companies are sorted by value and cut into fifths (a position, not a rating). The five items with ★: only where both numerator and denominator are available on a consolidated basisSee the formulas
  • Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation Purchase of property, plant and equipment ÷ depreciation。Purchase of property, plant and equipment ¥2.6 billion, over depreciation ¥38.5 billion
  • Extraordinary gains and losses relative to ordinary profit (extraordinary income − extraordinary loss) ÷ ordinary income。Extraordinary income ¥110.7 billion − extraordinary loss ¥2.9 billion, over ordinary income ¥271.9 billion

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Earnings and net assets per share over time

  • Earnings per share = net profit ÷ shares; net assets per share = net assets ÷ shares. Disclosed values from the key financial indicators of the annual securities report. No share prices used

Return on equity over time

  • Return on equity (ROE): net profit as a proportion of equity. For Japanese companies, the disclosed value in the key financial indicators of the annual securities report (decimals converted to percentages)

Dividend history

  • Payout ratio: dividends as a proportion of net profit. Dividend amounts and payout ratios: the reporting company’s parent-only disclosed values (as written in the annual securities report, not recalculated from consolidated profit). Consecutive increases: years in a row, from the latest backwards, in which the annual dividend per share rose. Consecutive years with a dividend: years in a row with an annual dividend per share above zero. Both this site’s own count (not the criteria of any published index). A year with no disclosure not read as zero; counting stops there. Range limited to the years listed above. Flagged 1 years: a note about a stock split or share consolidation, or a period other than 12 months. No calculation across those years, as the dividend per share may rest on a different share base.

Share ownership by holder category

  • Source: ownership table, annual securities report. Percentages as disclosed, calculated on trading units (some companies do not total exactly 100%). Foreign holders (total): institutions and individuals combined. “Individuals and others”: a register category (not necessarily the share actually held by individuals). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Insurance that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

  • Research and development: total in the R&D section of the annual securities report. Capital expenditure: this year’s actual spending in the capital expenditure overview (not a plan). Years: only those available in the annual securities reports on hand (one to four per company); no row for other years.

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Employees across the consolidated group: 18,487 (a different scope, kept apart from the four above). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Insurance that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

People and organisation

  • Wage gap between men and women Women's pay with men's pay set to 100, reporting company
  • Women in managerial positions Reporting company (parent only)
  • Share of female employees gBizINFO, covering その他
  • Men taking childcare leave Reporting company (parent only)
  • Average length of service by gender gBizINFO, covering 正社員
  • Employees by gender gBizINFO
  • Female managers gBizINFO: 225 women among 2,118 managers
  • Female officers gBizINFO: 8 women among 38 officers
  • Average temporary staff Consolidated, average headcount other than regular employees

Workplace information filings

  • Source: processed from Shokuba-labo, the workplace information site of the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. Items the company filed only Shokuba-labo

Greenhouse gas emissions

  • Source: processed from the Ministry of the Environment’s greenhouse gas calculation, reporting and disclosure system (EEGS). Companies required to report only Ministry of the Environment (EEGS)

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of JAPAN POST INSURANCE Co. , Ltd. on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 6010001112696 / Accounting standard: Japanese GAAP

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork