Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

The Kyoei Fire and Marine Insurance

The Kyoei Fire and Marine Insurance Company,Limited

Company highlights

The company has paid a dividend for 9 consecutive years.

Key figures

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026

RevenueDisclosed —
Operating marginCalculated Could not be retrieved
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 26.2%

Company profile

No securities code (not listed) / EDINET code E03850 / Insurance / Fiscal year end March 31

港区新橋一丁目18番6号/Capital stock ¥52,500 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · filed 2026-06-25

Profitability Could not be retrieved
Growth Could not be retrieved
Capital efficiency ★☆☆☆☆position among all companies 0.8%

Business activities and revenue composition

Revenue and profit by business segment

Disclosed segments (business divisions used in reporting): one

Revenue and profit

Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Profit by stage Ordinary income ¥1.2 billion Parent only

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
26.2% Net assets to total assets Industry median 28.4% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
¥522,079.13 Net assets per share
¥579.5 billion Total assets

The Kyoei Fire and Marine Insurance

Long-term revenue, profit and asset trends

Period 2013 to 2026Source Annual securities reportsDisclosed

Mark on the chart
14 9 5 0 2013 2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 2025 2026 Ordinary income 1Latest value 2026 1¥ billion 14Highest in the period shown 2015 14¥ billion 1Lowest in the period shown 2023 1¥ billion ¥ billion

The Kyoei Fire and Marine Insurance

Recent performance trends

Source Annual securities reports

11 7 4 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Ordinary income ¥ billion

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Item20222023202420252026
Ordinary income (loss) ¥10.5B ¥1.1B ¥11.2B ¥3.8B ¥1.2B
Change from prior year +80.8% -89.8% +948.4% -66.3% -68.3%

The Kyoei Fire and Marine Insurance

Earnings and net assets per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

26,100 17,400 8,700 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Earnings per share yen 528,082 352,054 176,027 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net assets per share yen

The Kyoei Fire and Marine Insurance

Return on equity over time

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

5 4 2 -0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Return on equity (ROE, %)
Parent only indicators (22 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Net premiums written ¥170.1 billion ¥172.8 billion ¥174.6 billion ¥185.0 billion ¥203.0 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥10.5 billion ¥1.1 billion ¥11.2 billion ¥3.8 billion ¥1.2 billion
Net income (loss) ¥6.9 billion ¥0.7 billion ¥7.6 billion ¥3.3 billion ¥1.1 billion
Net loss ratio 56.8% 61.5% 60.9% 61.5% 60.7%
Net expense ratio 37.9% 38.3% 38.5% 38.3% 37.0%
Interest and dividend income ¥8.0 billion ¥7.5 billion ¥8.2 billion ¥8.6 billion ¥10.4 billion
Yield on investment assets (income yield) 1.7% 1.6% 1.9% 2.0% 2.5%
Yield on investment assets (realized yield) 1.9% 1.8% 2.4% 3.0% 3.5%
Capital stock ¥52.5 billion ¥52.5 billion ¥52.5 billion ¥52.5 billion ¥52.5 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 293,452 shares 293,452 shares 293,452 shares 293,452 shares 293,452 shares
Net assets ¥127.5 billion ¥128.7 billion ¥152.4 billion ¥145.6 billion ¥151.8 billion
Total assets ¥586.0 billion ¥565.6 billion ¥571.2 billion ¥553.9 billion ¥579.5 billion
Net assets per share 434,707.48 yen 438,679.08 yen 528,081.61 yen 500,455.13 yen 522,079.13 yen
Dividend per share 2,800 yen 2,800 yen 3,200 yen 3,200 yen 3,200 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share 23,616.4 yen 2,228.9 yen 26,100.22 yen 11,460.72 yen 3,842.59 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 21.8% 22.8% 26.7% 26.3% 26.2%
Return on equity 5.4% 0.5% 5.4% 2.2% 0.8%
Payout ratio 11.9% 125.6% 12.3% 27.9% 83.3%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-3.3 billion ¥-21.0 billion ¥-13.8 billion ¥-8.9 billion ¥12.5 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥11.3 billion ¥16.1 billion ¥14.2 billion ¥14.4 billion ¥14.00 million
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-0.4 billion ¥-0.8 billion ¥-2.1 billion ¥-0.3 billion ¥-0.9 billion
Cash and cash equivalents ¥32.8 billion ¥27.0 billion ¥25.3 billion ¥30.4 billion ¥42.0 billion

Dividend history

Source: reporting company’s key figures, annual securities reports · 9 years (2018 to 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

0 periods Consecutive increases (own definition) through FY ending 3/2026
9 periods Consecutive periods with dividends (site definition) through FY ending 3/2026
+0.0% Dividend growth (year on year)
+18.0% Dividend growth (5-year annual rate)
Fiscal yearAnnual dividend per share Of which interimPayout ratio (as reported, parent only) Flag
FY ending 3/2026 ¥3,200 Could not be retrieved 83.3%
FY ending 3/2025 ¥3,200 Could not be retrieved 27.9%
FY ending 3/2024 ¥3,200 Could not be retrieved 12.3%
FY ending 3/2023 ¥2,800 Could not be retrieved 125.6%
FY ending 3/2022 ¥2,800 Could not be retrieved 11.9%
FY ending 3/2021 ¥1,400 Could not be retrieved 11.3%
FY ending 3/2020 ¥1,400 Could not be retrieved 19.0%
FY ending 3/2019 ¥1,400 Could not be retrieved 16.2%
FY ending 3/2018 ¥1,400 Could not be retrieved 11.3%

The Kyoei Fire and Marine Insurance

Dividends per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

3,200 2,133 1,067 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Dividend per share yen

Shareholder composition

As of 2026-03-31Disclosed

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 全国共済農業協同組合連合会 74.86% 217,729
2 農林中央金庫 6.69% 19,459
3 信金中央金庫 6.5% 18,907
4 全国労働者共済生活協同組合連合会 1.03% 3,000
5 全国共済水産業協同組合連合会 0.61% 1,785
6 全国農業協同組合連合会 0.61% 1,785
7 日本コープ共済生活協同組合連合会 0.61% 1,785
8 株式会社きらぼし銀行 0.61% 1,785
9 積水ハウス株式会社 0.61% 1,785
10 大和ハウス工業株式会社 0.61% 1,785
11 前田建設工業株式会社 0.61% 1,785
12 富国生命保険相互会社 0.61% 1,785

Revenue scale in the same industry

Revenue of this company: not retrieved (no comparison)

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

2,636 Employees (parent only) Industry median 464
Could not be retrieved Average age Industry median 42.4
Could not be retrieved Average length of service Industry median 6.3 years
Could not be retrieved Average annual salary Industry median ¥8.40 million

Administrative filings and published information

Workplace information filings

Filed 2026-07-23Disclosed

ItemValue
Employees 3,022
Average monthly overtime (statutory overtime plus work on statutory days off)
Scope: 基幹的な職種
7.6 hours
Annual paid leave taken
Scope: 正社員
62%
Childcare leave taken, men
Scope: その他
73.9%
Share of managers who are women 14.5%

Greenhouse gas emissions

Reported to the government for fiscal 2023Disclosed

CategoryEmissions
特定事業所排出者5,210 t-CO2

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2026-03-31Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm EY新日本有限責任監査法人
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard Japanese GAAP

See the book series →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Major management indicators (5 years) (22 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Dividend per share 3,200 yen Parent only
Interest and dividend income ¥10.4 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥12.5 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥14.00 million Parent only
Net expense ratio 37.0% Parent only
Net premiums written ¥203.0 billion Parent only
Net loss ratio 60.7% Parent only
Cash and cash equivalents ¥42.0 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 293,452 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥151.8 billion Parent only
Ordinary income (loss) ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥579.5 billion Parent only
Return on equity 0.8% Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 26.2% Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-0.9 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥52.5 billion Parent only
Yield on investment assets (realized yield) 3.5% Parent only
Yield on investment assets (income yield) 2.5% Parent only
Payout ratio 83.3% Parent only
Basic earnings (loss) per share 3,842.59 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 522,079.13 yen Parent only

Accounts unique to this company (4 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue 0.0973 Parent only
Revenue -0.6829 Parent only
Revenue -0.6641 Parent only
Revenue 0.2162 Parent only

Employees (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of employees 2,636 people Parent only

Shares (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of shares held 273,375 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 94.0% Consolidated

Balance sheet (71 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥4.4 billion Parent only
Other securities assets ins ¥14.0 billion Parent only
Other retained earnings ¥28.8 billion Parent only
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥58.8 billion Parent only
Other liabilities liabilities ins ¥24.5 billion Parent only
Other assets ¥37.5 billion Parent only
Other, net ¥2.3 billion Parent only
Software ¥2.0 billion Parent only
General loans assets ins ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Agency accounts receivable assets ins ¥18.6 billion Parent only
Suspense receipt ¥9.2 billion Parent only
Suspense payments assets ins ¥4.2 billion Parent only
Reserve for price fluctuation ¥5.8 billion Parent only
Reserve for insurance policy liabilities liabilities ins ¥388.4 billion Parent only
Policy loans assets ins ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Coinsurance accounts payable liabilities ins ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Coinsurance accounts receivable assets ins ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Reinsurance accounts payable liabilities ins ¥5.8 billion Parent only
Reinsurance accounts receivable assets ins ¥5.0 billion Parent only
Deferred tax liabilities for land revaluation ¥2.7 billion Parent only
Retained earnings ¥32.8 billion Parent only
Legal retained earnings ¥4.0 billion Parent only
Prepaid pension cost ¥3.4 billion Parent only
Government bonds assets ins ¥97.9 billion Parent only
Land ¥26.5 billion Parent only
Revaluation reserve for land ¥-4.1 billion Parent only
Local government bonds assets ins ¥6.8 billion Parent only
Foreign reinsurance accounts payable liabilities ins ¥1.8 billion Parent only
Foreign reinsurance accounts receivable assets ins ¥2.3 billion Parent only
Foreign securities ¥81.3 billion Parent only
Buildings, net ¥13.5 billion Parent only
Construction in progress ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Provision for directors' retirement benefits ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Outstanding claims ¥76.2 billion Parent only
Securities ¥428.6 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥42.8 billion Parent only
Accrued premiums assets ins ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Accrued income ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable-other ¥4.7 billion Parent only
Income taxes payable ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥5.8 billion Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥97.1 billion Parent only
Shares ¥134.3 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-55.8 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥6.4 billion Parent only
Reserves under the special laws1 ¥5.8 billion Parent only
Special reserve ¥4.0 billion Parent only
Cash ¥3.00 million Parent only
Cash and cash equivalents ¥42.0 billion Parent only
Cash and deposits assets ins ¥42.5 billion Parent only
Bonds payable ¥94.4 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥151.8 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥151.8 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥579.5 billion Parent only
Deferred tax assets ¥17.9 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥24.8 billion Parent only
Treasury stock ¥-0.7 billion Parent only
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥54.7 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥427.6 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥579.5 billion Parent only
Provision for responaibility ¥312.2 billion Parent only
Loans ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-57.00 million Parent only
Capital surplus ¥12.6 billion Parent only
Legal capital surplus ¥12.6 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥52.5 billion Parent only
Asset retirement obligations ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Provision for retirement benefits ¥6.1 billion Parent only
Deposits received ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Cash segregated as deposits ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Deposits assets ins ¥42.5 billion Parent only

Statement of income (55 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other other operating expenses oeins ¥95.00 million Parent only
Other underwriting income oiins ¥6.00 million Parent only
Other underwriting expenses oeins ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Other income ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Other expenses ¥97.00 million Parent only
Other investment income oiins ¥0 Parent only
Other investment expenses ¥92.00 million Parent only
Provision of reserve for price fluctuation ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Underwriting income oiins ¥205.5 billion Parent only
Underwriting expenses oeins ¥182.4 billion Parent only
Interest and dividend income ¥10.4 billion Parent only
Dividends from surplus ¥-0.9 billion Parent only
Premiums of saving type insurance oiins ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥12.5 billion Parent only
Operating,general and administrative expenses ¥34.8 billion Parent only
Loss on disposal of noncurrent assets ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Gain on sale of fixed assets ¥76.00 million Parent only
Revaluation reserve for land ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Dividends to policyholders oeins ¥3.00 million Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥14.00 million Parent only
Loss adjustment expenses oeins ¥11.2 billion Parent only
Provision of outstanding claims ¥8.0 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥0 Parent only
Loss on redemption of seciritues ¥6.00 million Parent only
Loss on sales of securities ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Gain on sale of securities ¥5.6 billion Parent only
Net premiums written ¥203.0 billion Parent only
Net loss paid oeins ¥112.0 billion Parent only
Income taxes current nonconsolidated ins ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Income taxes ¥-0.9 billion Parent only
Income taxes - deferred ¥-1.0 billion Parent only
Impairment loss ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Maturity refunds to policyholders oeins ¥4.4 billion Parent only
Foreign exchange gains ¥4.00 million Parent only
Foreign exchange gains ¥0 Parent only
Extraordinary income ¥76.00 million Parent only
Extraordinary loss ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Provision of reserves under the special laws ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents ¥11.6 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Investment income from saving type insurance oiins ¥2.3 billion Parent only
Income credited to saving type insurance oiins ¥-2.3 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Ordinary revenue ¥220.1 billion Parent only
Operating expenses ins ¥218.9 billion Parent only
Commissions and collection fees oeins ¥41.3 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-0.9 billion Parent only
Provision of policy reserve ¥5.3 billion Parent only
Bad debts expenses ¥0 Parent only
Investment income ¥13.8 billion Parent only
Investment expenses ¥1.6 billion Parent only
Net derivative financial instruments gain oiins ¥15.00 million Parent only

Statement of changes in equity (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥6.3 billion Parent only
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥6.0 billion Parent only

Statement of cash flows (32 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥30.00 million Parent only
Other ¥15.00 million Parent only
Increase decrease in other investing and financing activities liabilities ope cfins ¥4.9 billion Parent only
Decrease increase in other investing and financing activities assets ope cfins ¥-3.9 billion Parent only
Increase decrease in reserve for price fluctuation ope cfins ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Interest expenses paid ¥-0 Parent only
Interest and dividends income received ¥10.7 billion Parent only
Interest and dividend income ¥-10.4 billion Parent only
Total of net cash provided by used in operating activities and investment transactions inv cfins ¥18.2 billion Parent only
Subtotal ¥2.7 billion Parent only
Increase decrease in provision for directors retirement benefits ¥10.00 million Parent only
Increase (decrease) in outstanding claims ¥8.0 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥0 Parent only
Purchase of short term investment securities ¥-36.1 billion Parent only
Proceeds from sales and redemption of securities inv cfins ¥41.0 billion Parent only
Loss gain related to securities ope cfins ¥-4.2 billion Parent only
Purchase of property plant and equipment ¥-2.4 billion Parent only
Proceeds from sales of property plant and equipment ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Loss gain related to property plant and equipment ope cfins ¥-24.00 million Parent only
Income taxes refund (paid) ¥-0.8 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥2.5 billion Parent only
Impairment loss ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Foreign exchange loss (gain) ¥-0 Parent only
Purchase of intangible assets ¥-3.5 billion Parent only
Increase (decrease) in policy reserve ¥5.3 billion Parent only
Payments of loans receivable ¥-48.00 million Parent only
Collection of loans receivable ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Increase (decrease) in allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-0 Parent only
Total of net cash provided by used in investment transactions inv cfins ¥5.7 billion Parent only
Accrued pension cost ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Dividends ¥-0.9 billion Parent only
Net decrease (increase) in time deposits ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥12.5 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Dividend per share 3,200 Parent onlyDisclosed
Number of employees 2,636 Parent onlyDisclosed
Net assets ¥151.8 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥1.2 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Total assets ¥579.5 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Operating margin Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Net margin Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Sales per employee Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Total asset turnover Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Net assets to total assets 26.2%Parent onlyCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Net assets to total assets 26.2% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥151.8 billion ÷ ¥579.5 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Net assets per share Parent only
  • Total assets Parent only

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Earnings and net assets per share over time

  • Earnings per share = net profit ÷ shares; net assets per share = net assets ÷ shares. Disclosed values from the key financial indicators of the annual securities report. No share prices used

Return on equity over time

  • Return on equity (ROE): net profit as a proportion of equity. For Japanese companies, the disclosed value in the key financial indicators of the annual securities report (decimals converted to percentages)

Dividend history

  • Payout ratio: dividends as a proportion of net profit. Dividend amounts and payout ratios: the reporting company’s parent-only disclosed values (as written in the annual securities report, not recalculated from consolidated profit). Consecutive increases: years in a row, from the latest backwards, in which the annual dividend per share rose. Consecutive years with a dividend: years in a row with an annual dividend per share above zero. Both this site’s own count (not the criteria of any published index). A year with no disclosure not read as zero; counting stops there. Range limited to the years listed above.

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Industry median: the middle value among companies in Insurance that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Workplace information filings

  • Source: processed from Shokuba-labo, the workplace information site of the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. Items the company filed only Shokuba-labo

Greenhouse gas emissions

  • Source: processed from the Ministry of the Environment’s greenhouse gas calculation, reporting and disclosure system (EEGS). Companies required to report only Ministry of the Environment (EEGS)

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of The Kyoei Fire and Marine Insurance Company,Limited on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 3010401050012 / Accounting standard: Japanese GAAP

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork