Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

Metropolitan Intercity Railway

Metropolitan Intercity Railway Company

Company highlights

The largest holder on the register is 茨城県, at 18.1%.

Key figures

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026

RevenueDisclosed —
Operating marginCalculated Could not be retrieved
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 32.9%

Company profile

No securities code (not listed) / EDINET code E04151 / Land Transportation / Fiscal year end March 31

台東区台東四丁目25番7号/Capital stock ¥185,016 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · filed 2026-06-26

Profitability Could not be retrieved
Growth (revenue, 4-year average) ★★★★☆position among all companies 9.7%
Capital efficiency ★★☆☆☆position among all companies 3.9%

Business activities and revenue composition

Revenue and profit by business segment

Disclosed segments (business divisions used in reporting): one

Revenue and profit

Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Profit by stage Ordinary income ¥8.4 billion Parent only

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
32.9% Net assets to total assets Industry median 41.8% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
¥55,888.6 Net assets per share
¥629.0 billion Total assets

Long-term changes in performance

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Revenue ×1.33 from 2013 to 2026

Metropolitan Intercity Railway

Long-term revenue, profit and asset trends

Period 2013 to 2026Source Annual securities reportsDisclosed

Mark on the chart
50 31 12 -8 2013 2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 2025 2026 Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income 2018 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +2.2 points 2020 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.2 points 2021 Operating revenue year on year -33.1%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -41.6 points, Ordinary income (loss) profit to loss 2022 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +12.8 points 2023 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +17.2 points, Ordinary income (loss) loss to profit 2024 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +9.1 points 50Latest value 2026 50¥ billion 50Highest in the period shown 2026 50¥ billion 31Lowest in the period shown 2021 31¥ billion ¥ billion

Metropolitan Intercity Railway

Recent performance trends

Source Annual securities reports

50 32 14 -4 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income ¥ billion

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Item20222023202420252026
Operating revenue ¥34.8B ¥40.9B ¥45.2B ¥47.9B ¥50.4B
Year on year (%) +11.2% +17.4% +10.7% +6.0% +5.1%
Ordinary income (loss) -¥4.3B ¥2.0B ¥6.3B ¥7.2B ¥8.4B
Change from prior year 0.55x loss to profit◆ +220.8% +14.5% +16.2%
Ordinary income (loss) as a share of Operating revenue -12.4% 4.8% 13.9% 15.0% 16.6%
Change (percentage points) +12.8 points◆ +17.2 points◆ +9.1 points◆ +1.1 points +1.6 points

Fiscal periods marked for changes

Earlier fiscal periods (3)
  • 2018Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +2.2 points
  • 2020Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.2 points
  • 2021Operating revenue year on year -33.1%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -41.6 points, Ordinary income (loss) profit to loss
  • 2022Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +12.8 points
  • 2023Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +17.2 points, Ordinary income (loss) loss to profit
  • 2024Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +9.1 points

Metropolitan Intercity Railway

Earnings and net assets per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

2,211 1,084 -43 -1,171 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Earnings per share yen 55,889 37,259 18,630 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net assets per share yen

Metropolitan Intercity Railway

Return on equity over time

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

4 2 -0 -2 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Return on equity (ROE, %)
Parent only indicators (15 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Operating revenue ¥34.8 billion ¥40.9 billion ¥45.2 billion ¥47.9 billion ¥50.4 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥-4.3 billion ¥2.0 billion ¥6.3 billion ¥7.2 billion ¥8.4 billion
Net income (loss) ¥-4.3 billion ¥2.1 billion ¥6.1 billion ¥6.0 billion ¥8.2 billion
Capital stock ¥185.0 billion ¥185.0 billion ¥185.0 billion ¥185.0 billion ¥185.0 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 3,700,326 shares 3,700,326 shares 3,700,326 shares 3,700,326 shares 3,700,326 shares
Net assets ¥184.4 billion ¥186.6 billion ¥192.6 billion ¥198.6 billion ¥206.8 billion
Total assets ¥765.5 billion ¥724.8 billion ¥673.0 billion ¥646.2 billion ¥629.0 billion
Net assets per share 49,838.27 yen 50,417.04 yen 52,057.29 yen 53,677.17 yen 55,888.6 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share -1,170.53 yen 578.76 yen 1,640.24 yen 1,619.88 yen 2,211.42 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 24.1% 25.7% 28.6% 30.7% 32.9%
Return on equity -2.4% 1.1% 3.2% 3.0% 3.9%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥15.1 billion ¥19.3 billion ¥22.9 billion ¥21.5 billion ¥23.4 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥30.1 billion ¥32.7 billion ¥35.9 billion ¥15.3 billion ¥8.7 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-46.9 billion ¥-44.1 billion ¥-59.2 billion ¥-34.8 billion ¥-26.6 billion
Cash and cash equivalents ¥7.9 billion ¥15.8 billion ¥15.3 billion ¥17.4 billion ¥22.9 billion

Shareholder composition

As of 2026-03-31Disclosed

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 茨城県 18.05% 667,906
2 東京都 17.65% 653,200
3 千葉県 7.06% 261,280
4 足立区 7.06% 261,280
5 つくば市 6.68% 247,115
6 埼玉県 5.88% 217,735
7 台東区 5.3% 195,960
8 柏市 5.3% 195,960
9 流山市 5.3% 195,960
10 千代田区 2.65% 97,980
11 荒川区 2.65% 97,980
12 八潮市 1.62% 59,876
13 守谷市 1.47% 54,433
14 つくばみらい市 1.47% 54,432
15 三郷市 1.32% 48,989

Revenue scale in the same industry

Revenue of this company: not retrieved (no comparison)

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

803 Employees (parent only) Industry median 349
Could not be retrieved Average age Industry median 43.9
Could not be retrieved Average length of service Industry median 15.6 years
Could not be retrieved Average annual salary Industry median ¥6.52 million
People and organisation
11 Average temporary staff

Administrative filings and published information

Workplace information filings

Filed 2026-06-25Disclosed

ItemValue
Employees 827
Annual paid leave taken (all employees) 93%
Childcare leave taken, men
Scope: その他
105.6%
Childcare leave taken, women
Scope: その他
100%
Share of managers who are women 2.2%

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2026-03-31Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm 有限責任あずさ監査法人
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard Japanese GAAP

See the book series →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Major management indicators (5 years) (15 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Operating revenue ¥50.4 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥23.4 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥8.2 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥8.7 billion Parent only
Cash and cash equivalents ¥22.9 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 3,700,326 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥206.8 billion Parent only
Ordinary income (loss) ¥8.4 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥629.0 billion Parent only
Return on equity 3.9% Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 32.9% Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-26.6 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥185.0 billion Parent only
Basic earnings (loss) per share 2,211.42 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 55,888.6 yen Parent only

Employees (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of employees 803 people Parent only

Other disclosed items (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 11 people Parent only

Shares (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of shares held 3,310,086 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 89.5% Consolidated

Balance sheet (51 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Other ¥46.51 million Parent only
Other ¥99.20 million Parent only
Lease obligations ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Lease obligations ¥24.29 million Parent only
Retained earnings ¥21.8 billion Parent only
Prepaid fares received clrwy ¥4.9 billion Parent only
Non-current liabilities ¥385.1 billion Parent only
Non-current assets ¥568.6 billion Parent only
Construction in progress ¥4.7 billion Parent only
Provision for directors' retirement benefits ¥44.66 million Parent only
Investments and other assets ¥19.8 billion Parent only
Investment securities ¥16.8 billion Parent only
Securities ¥28.2 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥854.6 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment, net ¥513.9 billion Parent only
Accrued income ¥56.71 million Parent only
Accrued fares receivables ¥4.7 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable-other ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes payable ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Accrued consumption taxes ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Accrued expenses ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥25.6 billion Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥206.8 billion Parent only
Current liabilities ¥37.1 billion Parent only
Current assets ¥60.4 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-340.6 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥30.2 billion Parent only
Cash and cash equivalents ¥22.9 billion Parent only
Cash and deposits ¥22.9 billion Parent only
Short-term loans payable ¥2.5 billion Parent only
Short-term loans receivable with resale agreement ¥2.5 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥206.8 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥206.8 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥629.0 billion Parent only
Deferred tax assets ¥2.1 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥21.8 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥422.2 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥629.0 billion Parent only
Supplies ¥1.7 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥185.0 billion Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Provision for retirement benefits ¥5.3 billion Parent only
Noncurrent assets railway rwy ¥544.2 billion Parent only
Long-term loans payable ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Long term accounts payable other ¥377.4 billion Parent only
Long-term loans receivable ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Shares of subsidiaries and associates ¥10.00 million Parent only
Inter line fares received clrwy ¥10.47 million Parent only
Deposits received ¥1.8 billion Parent only

Statement of income (29 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
General and administrative expenses ¥1.8 billion Parent only
Interest income ¥76.22 million Parent only
Non-operating income ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Non-operating expenses ¥2.6 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥23.4 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥8.2 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥8.2 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥8.7 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥2.5 billion Parent only
Commission fees ¥77.36 million Parent only
Passenger transportation ¥48.2 billion Parent only
Interest on securities ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes - current ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes - deferred ¥-1.0 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥15.2 billion Parent only
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents ¥5.5 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥8.4 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥8.4 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥8.4 billion Parent only
Taxes ¥2.9 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-26.6 billion Parent only
Miscellaneous income of transportation ¥2.2 billion Parent only
Freightage expenditure ¥19.7 billion Parent only
Operating income railway rwy ¥10.7 billion Parent only
Operating revenue railway rwy ¥50.4 billion Parent only
Operating expenses railway rwy ¥39.7 billion Parent only
Miscellaneous income ¥24.79 million Parent only
Miscellaneous expenses noerwy ¥12.41 million Parent only

Statement of changes in equity (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥8.2 billion Parent only

Statement of cash flows (32 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥-11.52 million Parent only
Repayments of lease obligations ¥-12.14 million Parent only
Interest received ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Interest expenses paid ¥-2.5 billion Parent only
Increase (decrease) in advances received ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Interest and dividend income ¥-0.2 billion Parent only
Increase decrease in operating debt ¥-2.94 million Parent only
Decrease increase in operating receivables ¥-0.7 billion Parent only
Subtotal ¥26.8 billion Parent only
Proceeds from collection of guarantee deposits ¥0.11 million Parent only
Payments for guarantee deposits ¥-0.09 million Parent only
Increase decrease in provision for directors retirement benefits ¥21.86 million Parent only
Proceeds from redemption of investment securities ¥17.0 billion Parent only
Purchase of investment securities ¥-12.0 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥2.5 billion Parent only
Purchase of property plant and equipment ¥-2.9 billion Parent only
Loss on retirement of property, plant and equipment ¥40.79 million Parent only
(Increase) decrease in accounts receivables other ¥-0.03 million Parent only
Decrease in consumption taxes payable ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Increase/(decrease) in accounts payable - expenses ¥22.94 million Parent only
Increase (decrease) in accounts payable-other ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Income taxes paid ¥-1.1 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥15.2 billion Parent only
Purchase of intangible assets ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Decrease increase in supplies ¥-0.1 billion Parent only
Collection of loans receivable ¥7.2 billion Parent only
Increase (decrease) in provision for bonuses ¥45.30 million Parent only
Accrued pension cost ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Repayment of long term loans payable ¥-7.2 billion Parent only
Decrease (increase) in long-term prepaid expenses ¥18.90 million Parent only
Payments for long term accounts payable other fin cfrwy ¥-19.4 billion Parent only
Increase (decrease) in deposits ¥0.2 billion Parent only

Accounts unique to this company (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue ¥4.72 million Parent only
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥23.4 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Number of employees 803 Parent onlyDisclosed
Net assets ¥206.8 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥8.4 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Total assets ¥629.0 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Operating margin Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Net margin Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Sales per employee Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Total asset turnover Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Net assets to total assets 32.9%Parent onlyCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Net assets to total assets 32.9% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥206.8 billion ÷ ¥629.0 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Net assets per share Parent only
  • Total assets Parent only

Long-term changes in performance

  • Revenue Disclosed value for 2026 ÷ disclosed value for 2013

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Earnings and net assets per share over time

  • Earnings per share = net profit ÷ shares; net assets per share = net assets ÷ shares. Disclosed values from the key financial indicators of the annual securities report. No share prices used

Return on equity over time

  • Return on equity (ROE): net profit as a proportion of equity. For Japanese companies, the disclosed value in the key financial indicators of the annual securities report (decimals converted to percentages)

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Industry median: the middle value among companies in Land Transportation that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

People and organisation

  • Average temporary staff Parent only, average headcount other than regular employees

Workplace information filings

  • Source: processed from Shokuba-labo, the workplace information site of the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. Items the company filed only Shokuba-labo

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of Metropolitan Intercity Railway Company on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 3010501015419 / Accounting standard: Japanese GAAP

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork