Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

Sumitomo Pharma

Sumitomo Pharma Co., Ltd.

Company highlights

The largest segment by revenue is North America, at 74.5% of the total.

Key figures

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026ConsolidatedIFRS

RevenueDisclosed ¥453.3B
Operating marginCalculated 23.7%
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 36.4%

Company profile

Securities code 4506 / EDINET code E00922 / Pharmaceuticals / Fiscal year end March 31

大阪市中央区道修町2丁目6番8号/Capital stock ¥22,400 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Official website: https://www.sumitomo-pharma.co.jp/
Official website: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry).

Company details
木村徹 Representative

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · filed 2026-06-23

Profitability ★★★★★position among all companies 23.7%
Growth (revenue, 4-year average) ★☆☆☆☆position among all companies -5.1%
Capital efficiency ★★★★★position among all companies 46.3%

Business activities and revenue composition

Sumitomo Pharma

Revenue and profit by business segment

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026Source Annual securities reportsConsolidated・Disclosed

SalesProfit North Ameri…North America Sales 74.5% 75% Profit 77.6% 78% JapanJapan Sales 20.4% 20% Profit 12.7% 13% AsiaAsia Sales 5.1% 5% Profit 9.7% 10%
BusinessNet sales to external customers Operating income
This yearShareLast year This yearShareMarginLast year
North America ¥337.9 billion 74.5% ¥251.8 billion ¥75.7 billion 77.6% 22.4% ¥42.6 billion
Japan ¥92.4 billion 20.4% ¥99.8 billion ¥12.4 billion 12.7% 13.4% ¥11.4 billion
Asia ¥23.0 billion 5.1% ¥47.2 billion ¥9.5 billion 9.7% 41.1% ¥23.9 billion
Total of the businesses ¥453.3 billion100.0% ¥97.5 billion 100.0%

Revenue and profit

Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses Selling general and administrative expenses IFRS ¥162.6 billion Consolidated
Salaries and bonuses ¥65.8 billion Consolidated
Other ¥52.8 billion Consolidated
Research and development expenses ¥32.3 billion Parent only
Depreciation and amortization ¥16.6 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥15.3 billion Parent only
Salaries ¥6.6 billion Parent only
Retirement benefit expenses ¥3.9 billion Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥2.3 billion Parent only
Profit by stage Operating income ¥107.3 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥106.9 billion Consolidated
Gross profit (loss) ¥101.0 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥62.9 billion Parent only

Sumitomo Pharma

Selling, general and administrative expenses

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026Source Annual securities reports

Selling general and administrative expenses IFRS ¥162.6 billion (47.1%)47%Salaries and bonuses ¥65.8 billion (19.1%)19%Other ¥52.8 billion (15.3%)15%Research and development expenses ¥32.3 billion (9.4%)9%Depreciation and amortization ¥16.6 billion (4.8%)Depreciation ¥15.3 billion (4.4%)¥345.5B
  • Selling general and administrative expenses IFRS ¥162.6 billion
  • Salaries and bonuses ¥65.8 billion
  • Other ¥52.8 billion
  • Research and development expenses ¥32.3 billion
  • Depreciation and amortization ¥16.6 billion
  • Depreciation ¥15.3 billion

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
36.4% Net assets to total assets Industry median 69.7% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
13.3% Return on assets (ROA)
¥689.23 Net assets per share
¥94.3 billion Free cash flow
¥804.6 billion Total assets
¥211.1 billion Goodwill (the part of the acquisition price above the net assets acquired)
Capital allocation
66.8% Cash conversion Industry median 112.1% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
9.2% Increase in working capital ★★★★★ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
22.2% Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation ★☆☆☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
0.0% Return to shareholders ★☆☆☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated

Long-term changes in performance

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Revenue ×1.30 from 2013 to 2026

Sumitomo Pharma

Long-term revenue, profit and asset trends

Period 2013 to 2026Source Annual securities reportsDisclosed

Mark on the chart
560 373 187 0 2013 2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 2025 2026 Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income 2014 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.4 points 2015 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -4.2 points 2016 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +2.5 points 2020 Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue +3.2 points 2021 Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue -2.3 points 2023 Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue -23.4 points, Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) profit to loss 2024 Revenue (IFRS) year on year -43.4%, Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue -94.1 points 2025 Revenue (IFRS) year on year +26.8%, Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue +107.1 points, Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) loss to profit 2026 Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue +17.7 points 453Latest value 2026 453¥ billion 560Highest in the period shown 2022 560¥ billion 315Lowest in the period shown 2024 315¥ billion ¥ billion

Recent performance trends

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Item20222023202420252026
Revenue (IFRS) ¥560.0B ¥555.5B ¥314.6B ¥398.8B ¥453.3B
Year on year (%) +8.5% -0.8% -43.4%◆ +26.8%◆ +13.7%
Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) ¥83.0B -¥47.9B -¥323.1B ¥17.6B ¥100.3B
Change from prior year +6.6% profit to loss◆ 6.74x loss to profit◆ +469.8%
Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of Revenue (IFRS) 14.8% -8.6% -102.7% 4.4% 22.1%
Change (percentage points) -0.3 points -23.4 points◆ -94.1 points◆ +107.1 points◆ +17.7 points◆

Fiscal periods marked for changes

Earlier fiscal periods (6)
  • 2014Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.4 points
  • 2015Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -4.2 points
  • 2016Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +2.5 points
  • 2020Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue +3.2 points
  • 2021Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue -2.3 points
  • 2023Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue -23.4 points, Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) profit to loss
  • 2024Revenue (IFRS) year on year -43.4%, Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue -94.1 points
  • 2025Revenue (IFRS) year on year +26.8%, Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue +107.1 points, Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) loss to profit
  • 2026Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) as a share of revenue +17.7 points

Sumitomo Pharma

Earnings and net assets per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

269 -85 -439 -793 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Earnings per share yen 1,530 1,020 510 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net assets per share yen
Consolidated indicators (14 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Revenue (IFRS) ¥560.0 billion ¥555.5 billion ¥314.6 billion ¥398.8 billion ¥453.3 billion
Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) ¥83.0 billion ¥-47.9 billion ¥-323.1 billion ¥17.6 billion ¥100.3 billion
Profit (loss) attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) ¥56.4 billion ¥-74.5 billion ¥-315.0 billion ¥23.6 billion ¥106.9 billion
Comprehensive income attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) ¥37.6 billion ¥-19.9 billion ¥-250.4 billion ¥13.4 billion ¥123.0 billion
Equity attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) ¥607.9 billion ¥406.7 billion ¥156.1 billion ¥169.5 billion ¥292.5 billion
Total assets (IFRS) ¥1,308.0 billion ¥1,134.7 billion ¥907.5 billion ¥742.6 billion ¥804.6 billion
Equity attributable to owners of parent per share (IFRS) 1,530.08 yen 1,023.8 yen 392.82 yen 426.59 yen 736.16 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share (IFRS) 141.99 yen -187.55 yen -792.79 yen 59.49 yen 268.99 yen
Ratio of equity attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) 46.5% 35.8% 17.2% 22.8% 36.4%
Return on equity attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) 9.5% -14.7% -111.9% 14.5% 46.3%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities (IFRS) ¥31.2 billion ¥11.9 billion ¥-241.9 billion ¥16.5 billion ¥71.7 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities (IFRS) ¥-18.3 billion ¥52.4 billion ¥33.0 billion ¥99.8 billion ¥22.5 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities (IFRS) ¥-21.4 billion ¥-146.8 billion ¥77.9 billion ¥-108.8 billion ¥-91.3 billion
Cash and cash equivalents (IFRS) ¥203.0 billion ¥143.5 billion ¥29.0 billion ¥23.1 billion ¥44.3 billion
Parent only indicators (14 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Net sales ¥302.4 billion ¥231.8 billion ¥98.2 billion ¥136.4 billion ¥249.5 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥140.9 billion ¥104.8 billion ¥-6.5 billion ¥12.0 billion ¥62.9 billion
Net income (loss) ¥58.7 billion ¥-183.0 billion ¥-588.1 billion ¥106.2 billion ¥115.0 billion
Capital stock ¥22.4 billion ¥22.4 billion ¥22.4 billion ¥22.4 billion ¥22.4 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 397,900,000 shares 397,900,000 shares 397,900,000 shares 397,900,000 shares 397,900,000 shares
Net assets ¥850.4 billion ¥675.3 billion ¥108.4 billion ¥158.9 billion ¥273.8 billion
Total assets ¥1,187.9 billion ¥1,089.0 billion ¥645.4 billion ¥523.4 billion ¥599.6 billion
Net assets per share 2,140.44 yen 1,699.81 yen 272.79 yen 399.98 yen 689.23 yen
Dividend per share 28 yen 21 yen Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved
Interim dividend per share 14 yen 14 yen Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved
Basic earnings (loss) per share 147.81 yen -460.52 yen -1,480.32 yen 267.28 yen 289.41 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 71.6% 62.0% 16.8% 30.4% 45.7%
Return on equity 7.1% Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved 79.5% 53.1%
Payout ratio 18.9% Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved

Dividend history

Source: reporting company’s key figures, annual securities reports · 11 years (2013 to 2023)Parent-onlyDisclosed

0 periods Consecutive increases (own definition) through FY ending 3/2023
11 periods Consecutive periods with dividends (site definition) through FY ending 3/2023
-25.0% Dividend growth (year on year)
-5.6% Dividend growth (5-year annual rate)
Fiscal yearAnnual dividend per share Of which interimPayout ratio (as reported, parent only) Flag
FY ending 3/2023 ¥21 ¥14 Could not be retrieved
FY ending 3/2022 ¥28 ¥14 18.9%
FY ending 3/2021 ¥28 ¥14 9.5%
FY ending 3/2020 ¥28 ¥14 11.0%
FY ending 3/2019 ¥28 ¥9 16.2%
FY ending 3/2018 ¥28 ¥9 26.3%
FY ending 3/2017 ¥20 ¥9 12.4%
FY ending 3/2016 ¥18 ¥9 10.7%
FY ending 3/2015 ¥18 ¥9 42.1%
FY ending 3/2014 ¥18 ¥9 47.0%
FY ending 3/2013 ¥18 ¥9 63.0%

Sumitomo Pharma

Dividends per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

28 19 9 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Dividend per share yen

Shareholder composition

As of 2026-03-31Disclosed

Share ownership by holder category

94,491 Shareholders
14.22% Foreign holders (total) Industry median 9.03%
16.45% Individuals and others Industry median 55.96%

Sumitomo Pharma

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

  • Financial institutions12.83%
  • Securities firms2.05%
  • Other corporations54.45%
  • Foreign holders (institutions)14.08%
  • Foreign holders (individuals)0.14%
  • Individuals and others16.45%

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 住友化学株式会社 51.76% 205,634,000
2 日本マスタートラスト信託銀行株式会社(信託口) 6.3% 25,038,000
3 株式会社SMBC信託銀行(株式会社三井住友銀行退職給付信託口) 1.76% 7,000,000
4 株式会社日本カストディ銀行(信託口) 1.57% 6,219,000
5 住友生命保険相互会社 1.45% 5,776,000
6 BNYM AS AGT/CLTS 10 PERCENT(常任代理人株式会社三菱UFJ銀行) 1.15% 4,573,000
7 稲畑産業株式会社 1.11% 4,400,000
8 THE BANK OF NEW YORK, TREATY JASDEC ACCOUNT(常任代理人株式会社三菱UFJ銀行) 1.0% 3,977,000
9 日本生命保険相互会社 0.95% 3,790,000
10 J.P. MORGAN BANK LUXEMBOURG S.A. 381593(常任代理人株式会社みずほ銀行決済営業部) 0.76% 3,030,000

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

Source: R&D and capital expenditure sections, annual securities reports · 2 years (2021 to 2026)Disclosed

¥44.0 billion Research and development 9.7% of revenue (industry median 14.7%)
¥6.6 billion Capital expenditure 1.5% of revenue (industry median 5.0%)
Fiscal year Research and development Capital expenditure
FY ending 3/2026 ¥44.0 billion ¥6.6 billion
FY ending 3/2021 ¥132.7 billion ¥12.7 billion

Revenue scale in the same industry

Sumitomo Pharma

Source Annual securities reports of each company

Pharmaceuticals: 68 companies · revenue · largest first・each company’s latest fiscal year・Consolidated・Disclosed

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

1,747 Employees (parent only) Industry median 94
44.5 Average age Industry median 44.3
18.9 years Average length of service Industry median 9.6 years
¥9.06 million Average annual salary Industry median ¥8.24 million
People and organisation
145.1¥ million Sales per employee Industry median 38.4¥ million FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
¥34.37 million Operating income per employee
82.9% Wage gap between men and women
15.4% Women in managerial positions
100.0% Men taking childcare leave

Administrative filings and published information

Workplace information filings

Filed 2026-08-27Disclosed

ItemValue
Employees 1,641
Childcare leave taken, men
Scope: 正社員
100%
Childcare leave taken, women
Scope: 正社員
100%
Share of managers who are women 15.4%

Greenhouse gas emissions

Reported to the government for fiscal 2023Disclosed

CategoryEmissions
特定事業所排出者53,744 t-CO2
Sites covered by the report4

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2026-03-31Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm 有限責任あずさ監査法人
Audit fees (this year, total) ¥0.2 billion
Non-audit fees (this year, total) Not applicable
Audit fees (this year, network firms) ¥0.2 billion
Non-audit fees (this year, network firms) ¥41.00 million
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard IFRS

See the book series →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Major management indicators (5 years) (25 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities (IFRS) ¥71.7 billion Consolidated
Basic earnings (loss) per share (IFRS) 268.99 yen Consolidated
Revenue (IFRS) ¥453.3 billion Consolidated
Profit (loss) attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) ¥106.9 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) ¥123.0 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities (IFRS) ¥22.5 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents (IFRS) ¥44.3 billion Consolidated
Profit (loss) before tax (IFRS) ¥100.3 billion Consolidated
Total assets (IFRS) ¥804.6 billion Consolidated
Equity attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) ¥292.5 billion Consolidated
Return on equity attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) 46.3% Consolidated
Ratio of equity attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) 36.4% Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities (IFRS) ¥-91.3 billion Consolidated
Equity attributable to owners of parent per share (IFRS) 736.16 yen Consolidated
Net sales ¥249.5 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥115.0 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 397,900,000 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥273.8 billion Parent only
Ordinary income (loss) ¥62.9 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥599.6 billion Parent only
Return on equity 53.1% Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 45.7% Parent only
Capital stock ¥22.4 billion Parent only
Basic earnings (loss) per share 289.41 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 689.23 yen Parent only

Accounts unique to this company (18 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue 3,123 Consolidated
Revenue ¥1.2 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥58.00 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥7.2 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥-3.2 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥-49.0 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥-13.2 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥-4.0 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥30.5 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥13.2 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥2.1 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥-75.00 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥49.0 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥2.5 billion Consolidated
Change in average annual salary from the previous year 27.0% Parent only
Revenue ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.7 billion Parent only

Employees (10 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of employees 3,123 people Consolidated
Wage gap between men and women (all employees) 82.9% Parent only
Average length of service (years) 18.9 years Parent only
Average annual salary ¥9.06 million Parent only
Average age (years) 44.5 years old Parent only
Number of employees 1,747 people Parent only
Number of employees 1,747 people Parent only
Number of employees 1,747 people Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (regular employees) 84.7% Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (non-regular employees) 43.5% Parent only

Shares (16 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of shares held 269,440,000 shares Consolidated
Total number of shares held treasury shares etc 611,100 shares Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares increased shares not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 1 issues Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares decreased shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 3 issues Consolidated
Total acquisition cost for increased shares shares not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company ¥4.00 million Consolidated
Total sale amount for decreased shares shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company ¥3.2 billion Consolidated
Number of shares 397,900,154 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio treasury shares etc 0.1% Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 67.8% Consolidated
Number of shares held in own name treasury shares etc 611,100 shares Consolidated
Number of voting rights 3,969,356 units Consolidated
Carrying amount on the balance sheet ¥19.5 billion Consolidated
Carrying amount on the balance sheet ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Number of issues 28 issues Consolidated
Number of issues 4 issues Consolidated
Total shareholder return 110.2% Parent only

Other disclosed items (3 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Rate of male employees taking childcare leave (all employees) 100.0% Parent only
Total return on the share price index 202.2% Parent only
Ratio of female employees in managerial positions 15.4% Parent only

Research and development (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Research and development expenses ¥44.0 billion Consolidated

Property and facilities (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Capital expenditures ¥6.6 billion Consolidated

Audit (7 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - reporting company ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - total ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - total ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - consolidated subsidiaries ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Fees for non-audit services - reporting company ¥8.00 million Consolidated
Fees for non-audit services - total ¥41.00 million Consolidated
Non audit fees consolidated subsidiaries network firms ¥33.00 million Consolidated

Statement of income (85 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥3.6 billion Consolidated
Other ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Other ¥52.8 billion Consolidated
Other ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Other ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Financial assets measured at fair value through other comprehensive income ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Other comprehensive income IFRS ¥16.1 billion Consolidated
Other comprehensive income IFRS ¥16.1 billion Consolidated
Other income IFRS ¥55.8 billion Consolidated
Other income IFRS ¥55.8 billion Consolidated
Other expenses IFRS ¥1.1 billion Consolidated
Other expenses IFRS ¥1.1 billion Consolidated
Lease obligations ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Financial liabilities measured at amortized cost ¥5.2 billion Consolidated
Financial assets measured at amortized cost ¥1.1 billion Consolidated
Operating income ¥107.3 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥71.7 billion Consolidated
Exchange differences on translation of foreign operations net of tax items that may be reclassified to profit or loss ociifrs ¥11.3 billion Consolidated
Basic earnings loss per share IFRS 268.99 yen Consolidated
Cost of sales IFRS ¥196.4 billion Consolidated
Gross profit IFRS ¥256.9 billion Consolidated
Net sales ¥453.3 billion Consolidated
Donations IFRS ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Advertising and sales promotion expenses IFRS ¥21.4 billion Consolidated
Research and development expenditure recognized as expense during period IFRS ¥44.0 billion Consolidated
Profit loss IFRS ¥106.9 billion Consolidated
Profit loss IFRS ¥106.9 billion Consolidated
Profit loss IFRS ¥106.9 billion Consolidated
Profit loss IFRS ¥106.9 billion Consolidated
Profit loss IFRS ¥106.9 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income (IFRS) ¥123.0 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income (IFRS) ¥123.0 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income (IFRS) ¥123.0 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥106.9 billion Consolidated
Total transactions with owners IFRS ¥-2.00 million Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities (IFRS) ¥22.5 billion Consolidated
Share of profit loss of investments accounted for using equity method IFRS ¥2.3 billion Consolidated
Change in fair value of contingent considerations income IFRS ¥3.1 billion Consolidated
Income tax expense IFRS ¥-6.5 billion Consolidated
Depreciation and amortization ¥16.6 billion Consolidated
Foreign exchange gain IFRS ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Net increase decrease in cash and cash equivalents before effect of exchange rate changes IFRS ¥3.0 billion Consolidated
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash and cash equivalents IFRS ¥5.0 billion Consolidated
Remeasurements of defined benefit plans net of tax items that will not be reclassified to profit or loss ociifrs ¥3.5 billion Consolidated
Salaries and bonuses ¥65.8 billion Consolidated
Profit loss before tax IFRS ¥100.3 billion Consolidated
Purchase of treasury stock ¥-2.00 million Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to owners of parent IFRS ¥123.0 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities (IFRS) ¥-91.3 billion Consolidated
Selling general and administrative expenses IFRS ¥162.6 billion Consolidated
Selling general and administrative expenses IFRS ¥162.6 billion Consolidated
Retirement benefit expenses ¥3.9 billion Consolidated
Finance income IFRS ¥3.2 billion Consolidated
Finance income IFRS ¥3.2 billion Consolidated
Finance costs IFRS ¥10.2 billion Consolidated
Finance costs IFRS ¥10.2 billion Consolidated
Other ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Other ¥2.1 billion Parent only
Interest and dividend income ¥56.5 billion Parent only
Operating income ¥19.4 billion Parent only
Non-operating income ¥57.4 billion Parent only
Non-operating expenses ¥13.8 billion Parent only
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Cost of sales ¥148.5 billion Parent only
Gross profit (loss) ¥101.0 billion Parent only
Net sales ¥249.5 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥115.0 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥115.0 billion Parent only
Loss on investments in partnership ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Gain on sales of investment securities ¥2.8 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥5.3 billion Parent only
Income taxes - current ¥3.1 billion Parent only
Income taxes ¥-10.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes - deferred ¥-13.3 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥15.3 billion Parent only
Foreign exchange losses ¥5.1 billion Parent only
Extraordinary income ¥41.8 billion Parent only
Research and development expenses ¥32.3 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥104.8 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥62.9 billion Parent only
Salaries ¥6.6 billion Parent only
Purchase of treasury stock ¥-2.00 million Parent only
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥81.7 billion Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥2.3 billion Parent only
Gain on sales of shares of subsidiaries and associates ¥38.4 billion Parent only

Balance sheet (149 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥-0.2 billion Consolidated
Other ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Other ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Other current liabilities clifrs ¥50.8 billion Consolidated
Other current assets caifrs ¥9.5 billion Consolidated
Other components of equity IFRS ¥111.8 billion Consolidated
Other financial liabilities ¥35.2 billion Consolidated
Other financial liabilities ¥16.6 billion Consolidated
Other financial assets ¥5.3 billion Consolidated
Other financial assets ¥44.7 billion Consolidated
Other non current liabilities nclifrs ¥23.5 billion Consolidated
Other non current assets ncaifrs ¥1.3 billion Consolidated
Goodwill ¥254.6 billion Consolidated
Goodwill ¥-43.5 billion Consolidated
Goodwill IFRS ¥211.1 billion Consolidated
Goodwill IFRS ¥211.1 billion Consolidated
Software ¥-23.9 billion Consolidated
Software ¥27.7 billion Consolidated
Software IFRS ¥3.8 billion Consolidated
Work in process ¥2.3 billion Consolidated
Right-of-use assets, Acquisition cost (IFRS) ¥12.3 billion Consolidated
Right-of-use assets, Accumulated depreciation and impairment losses (IFRS) ¥-9.9 billion Consolidated
Borrowings ¥38.1 billion Consolidated
Retained earnings IFRS ¥159.0 billion Consolidated
Raw materials and supplies ¥25.1 billion Consolidated
Merchandise and finished goods ¥58.1 billion Consolidated
Trade and other payables clifrs ¥56.7 billion Consolidated
Trade and other receivables caifrs ¥131.4 billion Consolidated
Land ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Land ¥-64.00 million Consolidated
Land IFRS ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Liabilities other than liabilities directly associated with assets held for sale IFRS ¥271.5 billion Consolidated
Current assets other than assets held for sale caifrs ¥279.3 billion Consolidated
Tools, furniture and fixtures ¥27.1 billion Consolidated
Tools, furniture and fixtures ¥-24.8 billion Consolidated
Tools, furniture and fixtures ¥2.3 billion Consolidated
Buildings and structures ¥70.0 billion Consolidated
Buildings and structures ¥-46.8 billion Consolidated
Buildings and structures IFRS ¥23.2 billion Consolidated
Construction in progress ¥9.9 billion Consolidated
Construction in progress IFRS ¥9.9 billion Consolidated
Provisions clifrs ¥89.6 billion Consolidated
Investments accounted for using equity method IFRS ¥36.4 billion Consolidated
Property, plant and equipment ¥166.4 billion Consolidated
Property, plant and equipment ¥-122.2 billion Consolidated
Property plant and equipment IFRS ¥44.2 billion Consolidated
Property plant and equipment IFRS ¥44.2 billion Consolidated
Income taxes receivable ¥3.3 billion Consolidated
Income taxes payable ¥1.1 billion Consolidated
Inventories ¥85.4 billion Consolidated
Inventories ¥85.4 billion Consolidated
Machinery, equipment and vehicles ¥45.5 billion Consolidated
Machinery, equipment and vehicles ¥-40.6 billion Consolidated
Machinery and vehicles IFRS ¥4.9 billion Consolidated
Total current liabilities IFRS ¥271.5 billion Consolidated
Current assets IFRS ¥279.3 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets accumulated amortization and impairment losses IFRS ¥-555.8 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets acquisition cost IFRS ¥716.3 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets IFRS ¥160.5 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets IFRS ¥160.5 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents (IFRS) ¥44.3 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents (IFRS) ¥44.3 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents if different from bs balance IFRS ¥44.3 billion Consolidated
Bonds and borrowings nclifrs ¥179.1 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥292.5 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥292.5 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥804.6 billion Consolidated
Deferred tax liabilities IFRS ¥15.8 billion Consolidated
Deferred tax assets IFRS ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Treasury shares IFRS ¥-0.7 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets associated with products accumulated amortization and impairment losses IFRS ¥-531.7 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets associated with products acquisition cost IFRS ¥688.2 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets associated with products IFRS ¥156.6 billion Consolidated
Equity attributable to owners of parent (IFRS) ¥292.5 billion Consolidated
Liabilities and equity IFRS ¥804.6 billion Consolidated
Liabilities IFRS ¥512.1 billion Consolidated
Share capital IFRS ¥22.4 billion Consolidated
Net defined benefit liability ¥5.7 billion Consolidated
Net defined benefit asset ¥19.5 billion Consolidated
Non current labilities IFRS ¥240.6 billion Consolidated
Non current assets IFRS ¥525.3 billion Consolidated
Other ¥2.3 billion Parent only
Other ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Other retained earnings ¥223.3 billion Parent only
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥7.6 billion Parent only
Other capital surplus ¥1.00 million Parent only
Software ¥1.6 billion Parent only
Work in process ¥2.3 billion Parent only
General reserve ¥275.5 billion Parent only
Retained earnings ¥228.6 billion Parent only
Legal retained earnings ¥5.3 billion Parent only
Prepaid pension cost ¥5.4 billion Parent only
Prepaid expenses ¥5.2 billion Parent only
Advance payments trade ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Raw materials and supplies ¥25.6 billion Parent only
Merchandise and finished goods ¥48.4 billion Parent only
Non-current liabilities ¥196.7 billion Parent only
Non-current assets ¥378.4 billion Parent only
Land ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable - trade ¥81.9 billion Parent only
Tools, furniture and fixtures ¥2.0 billion Parent only
Buildings, net ¥19.3 billion Parent only
Construction in progress ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Investments and other assets ¥95.9 billion Parent only
Investment securities ¥22.0 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥27.9 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable - other ¥23.1 billion Parent only
Income taxes refund receivable ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Income taxes payable ¥84.00 million Parent only
Accrued expenses ¥27.0 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥24.4 billion Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥266.2 billion Parent only
Structures, net ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Machinery and equipment, net ¥4.3 billion Parent only
Current liabilities ¥129.1 billion Parent only
Current assets ¥221.2 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥254.6 billion Parent only
Patent right ¥251.7 billion Parent only
Cash and deposits ¥32.3 billion Parent only
Short-term loans payable ¥38.1 billion Parent only
Bonds payable ¥120.0 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥273.8 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥273.8 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥599.6 billion Parent only
Deferred tax assets ¥8.9 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥-52.2 billion Parent only
Treasury stock ¥-0.7 billion Parent only
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥7.6 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥325.8 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥599.6 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - trade ¥14.1 billion Parent only
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-15.00 million Parent only
Capital surplus ¥15.9 billion Parent only
Legal capital surplus ¥15.9 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥22.4 billion Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥3.8 billion Parent only
Vehicles, net ¥28.00 million Parent only
Provision for retirement benefits ¥7.4 billion Parent only
Long-term loans payable ¥60.0 billion Parent only
Long-term prepaid expenses ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Long term accounts payable other ¥3.5 billion Parent only
Long-term deposits received ¥3.5 billion Parent only
Shares of subsidiaries and associates ¥43.5 billion Parent only
Affiliated company short-term loans payable ¥16.1 billion Parent only
Loans receivable to subsidiaries and affiliates ¥2.0 billion Parent only
Long-term loans receivable from subsidiaries and affiliates ¥14.4 billion Parent only
Deposits received ¥5.0 billion Parent only

Statement of cash flows (27 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Other ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Other ¥18.9 billion Consolidated
Repayments of lease obligations ¥-2.5 billion Consolidated
Interest received ¥1.1 billion Consolidated
Interest paid ope cfifrs ¥-4.5 billion Consolidated
Interest and dividend income ¥-1.8 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in trade and other payables ¥24.4 billion Consolidated
Decrease (increase) in trade and other receivables ¥-50.8 billion Consolidated
Subtotal ¥78.9 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in provisions ¥11.9 billion Consolidated
Purchase of investments inv cfifrs ¥-1.5 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from sale of investments inv cfifrs ¥4.2 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥7.8 billion Consolidated
Purchase of property plant and equipment inv cfifrs ¥-4.6 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from sale of property plant and equipment inv cfifrs ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Decrease (increase) in inventories ¥9.0 billion Consolidated
Income taxes paid ope cfifrs ¥-4.6 billion Consolidated
Income tax expense ¥-6.5 billion Consolidated
Depreciation and amortization ¥20.8 billion Consolidated
Impairment losses reversal of impairment losses ope cfifrs ¥2.1 billion Consolidated
Purchase of intangible assets inv cfifrs ¥-2.7 billion Consolidated
Decrease/increase in short-term loans payable ¥-4.4 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in net defined benefit asset and liability ¥-0.8 billion Consolidated
Dividends received ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Dividends ¥-2.00 million Consolidated
Repayments of long term borrowings fin cfifrs ¥-84.0 billion Consolidated

Statement of changes in equity (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥114.9 billion Parent only
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥-63.00 million Parent only
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥71.7 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Dividend per share Not disclosedNot applicable Not disclosed
Number of employees 3,123 ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net assets ¥292.5 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net sales ¥453.3 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating income ¥107.3 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥62.9 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Net income ¥106.9 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Total assets ¥804.6 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating margin 23.7%ConsolidatedCalculated
Net margin 23.6%ConsolidatedCalculated
Sales per employee 145146974 yenConsolidatedCalculated
Total asset turnover 0.56 timesConsolidatedCalculated
Net assets to total assets 36.4%ConsolidatedCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Operating margin 23.7% Operating income ÷ net sales  = ¥107.3 billion ÷ ¥453.3 billion
    Operating income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Consolidated, IFRS).
  • Net margin 23.6% Net income ÷ net sales  = ¥106.9 billion ÷ ¥453.3 billion
    Net income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Consolidated, IFRS).
  • Sales per employee 145,146,974 yen Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees  = ¥453.3 billion ÷ 3,123 people
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees. The denominator is Number of employees (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Total asset turnover 0.56 times Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets  = ¥453.3 billion ÷ ¥804.6 billion
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, IFRS).
  • Net assets to total assets 36.4% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥292.5 billion ÷ ¥804.6 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, IFRS).

Company details

  • Representative President, Representative Director, gBizINFO

Revenue and profit by business segment

  • Source: segment information, Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · Consolidated · Net sales to external customers · filed 2026-06-23
  • Share: against the total of Net sales to external customers disclosed by business (100%). Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out as they are not businesses (so no match with company-wide Net sales to external customers). Margin: calculated against the Net sales to external customers on the same row“報告セグメント計” in the segment information of the annual securities report: ¥453.3 billion. Gap against this table’s total (the part not listed as a business, such as “other”) within 1%The account may differ from “Revenue” at the top of this page

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Selling, general and administrative expenses

  • Breakdown of selling, general and administrative expenses (costs of selling and running the company). Cost of sales not included
  • Each item: already inside the SG&A total (not added to it)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Return on assets (ROA) Net income ÷ total assets (consolidated)
  • Net assets per share Parent only
  • Free cash flow Free cash flow: operating cash flow (cash generated by the business) plus investing cash flow (asset purchases, disposals and other investments), consolidated
  • Total assets Consolidated
  • Goodwill (the part of the acquisition price above the net assets acquired) 72% of net assets (consolidated)

Capital allocation

  • ★: position when all companies are sorted by value and cut into fifths (a position, not a rating). The five items with ★: only where both numerator and denominator are available on a consolidated basisSee the formulas
  • Cash conversion Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ÷ operating income
  • Increase in working capital (increase in trade receivables + increase in inventories) ÷ net sales (or operating revenue)。Trade receivables up ¥50.8 billion + inventories down ¥9.0 billion, over net sales ¥453.3 billion
  • Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation Purchase of property, plant and equipment ÷ depreciation。Purchase of property, plant and equipment ¥4.6 billion, over depreciation ¥20.8 billion
  • Return to shareholders (dividends paid + purchase of treasury stock) ÷ net cash provided by operating activities。Dividends paid ¥2.00 million (no treasury stock purchase disclosed), over operating cash flow ¥71.7 billion

Long-term changes in performance

  • Revenue Disclosed value for 2026 ÷ disclosed value for 2013

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Earnings and net assets per share over time

  • Earnings per share = net profit ÷ shares; net assets per share = net assets ÷ shares. Disclosed values from the key financial indicators of the annual securities report. No share prices used

Dividend history

  • Payout ratio: dividends as a proportion of net profit. Dividend amounts and payout ratios: the reporting company’s parent-only disclosed values (as written in the annual securities report, not recalculated from consolidated profit). Consecutive increases: years in a row, from the latest backwards, in which the annual dividend per share rose. Consecutive years with a dividend: years in a row with an annual dividend per share above zero. Both this site’s own count (not the criteria of any published index). A year with no disclosure not read as zero; counting stops there. Range limited to the years listed above.

Share ownership by holder category

  • Source: ownership table, annual securities report. Percentages as disclosed, calculated on trading units (some companies do not total exactly 100%). Foreign holders (total): institutions and individuals combined. “Individuals and others”: a register category (not necessarily the share actually held by individuals). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Pharmaceuticals that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

  • Research and development: total in the R&D section of the annual securities report. Capital expenditure: this year’s actual spending in the capital expenditure overview (not a plan). Years: only those available in the annual securities reports on hand (one to four per company); no row for other years. Share of revenue: divided by consolidated revenue in the same annual securities report. Industry median: the middle value among companies in Pharmaceuticals that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Revenue scale in the same industry

  • Revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry, using the same grouping as the industry pages. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Bar length relative to the largest company (100). An order of size, not a ranking of quality

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Employees across the consolidated group: 3,123 (a different scope, kept apart from the four above). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Pharmaceuticals that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

People and organisation

  • Sales per employee Net sales (or operating revenue) ÷ employees
  • Operating income per employee Operating income ÷ employees
  • Wage gap between men and women Women's pay with men's pay set to 100, reporting company
  • Women in managerial positions Reporting company (parent only)
  • Men taking childcare leave Reporting company (parent only)

Workplace information filings

  • Source: processed from Shokuba-labo, the workplace information site of the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. Items the company filed only Shokuba-labo

Greenhouse gas emissions

  • Source: processed from the Ministry of the Environment’s greenhouse gas calculation, reporting and disclosure system (EEGS). Companies required to report only Ministry of the Environment (EEGS)

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of Sumitomo Pharma Co., Ltd. on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 3120001077477 / Accounting standard: IFRS

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork