Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING CO., LTD.

Company highlights

The company has paid a dividend for 14 consecutive years.

Key figures

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026Parent onlyJapanese GAAP

RevenueDisclosed ¥268.1B
Operating marginCalculated 2.7%
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 75.8%

Company profile

Securities code 5423 / EDINET code E01261 / Iron and Steel / Fiscal year end March 31

千代田区霞が関三丁目7番1号 霞が関東急ビル/Capital stock ¥30,894 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Company details
奈良 暢明 Representative

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · filed 2026-06-23

Profitability ★★☆☆☆position among all companies 2.7%
Growth (revenue, 4-year average) ★☆☆☆☆position among all companies -0.3%
Capital efficiency ★★☆☆☆position among all companies 5.4%

Business activities and revenue composition

Revenue and profit by business segment

Disclosed segments (business divisions used in reporting): one

Revenue and profit

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026Source Annual securities reports

Net sales and operating revenue ¥268.1B 100% Cost of sales ¥236.0B 88% Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥24.8B 9% Operating income ¥7.2B 3%
Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses Freight ¥19.8 billion Parent only
Payrolls and allowances ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Research and development expenses ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥53.00 million Parent only
Retirement benefit expenses ¥10.00 million Parent only
Provision of allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-2.00 million Parent only
Profit by stage Gross profit (loss) ¥32.1 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥8.6 billion Parent only
Operating income ¥7.2 billion Parent only

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

Selling, general and administrative expenses

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026Source Annual securities reports

Freight ¥19.8 billion (79.7%)80%Payrolls and allowances ¥1.0 billion (4.0%)Research and development expenses ¥0.3 billion (1.4%)Depreciation ¥0.3 billion (1.3%)Provision for bonuses ¥0.1 billion (0.2%)Retirement benefit expenses ¥0.0 billion (0.0%)Other (not itemized) ¥3.3 billion (13.3%)13%¥24.8B
  • Freight ¥19.8 billion
  • Payrolls and allowances ¥1.0 billion
  • Research and development expenses ¥0.3 billion
  • Depreciation ¥0.3 billion
  • Provision for bonuses ¥0.1 billion
  • Retirement benefit expenses ¥0.0 billion
  • Other (not itemized) ¥3.3 billion

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
75.8% Net assets to total assets Industry median 62.4% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
¥2,166.3 Net assets per share
¥293.0 billion Total assets
Capital allocation
-45.3% Cash conversion Industry median 157.4% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated

Long-term changes in performance

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Revenue ×1.95 from 2013 to 2026

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

Long-term revenue, profit and asset trends

Period 2013 to 2026Source Annual securities reportsDisclosed

Mark on the chart
367 245 122 0 2013 2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 2025 2026 Net sales and operating revenue 2014 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +14.1 points, Ordinary income (loss) loss to profit 2015 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +6.1 points 2016 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +5.1 points 2017 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -4.3 points 2018 Net sales year on year +34.8% 2019 Net sales year on year +26.2% 2021 Net sales year on year -21.4% 2022 Net sales year on year +91.5% 2023 Net sales year on year +33.4% 268Latest value 2026 268¥ billion 367Highest in the period shown 2024 367¥ billion 122Lowest in the period shown 2017 122¥ billion ¥ billion

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

Recent performance trends

Source Annual securities reports

367 245 122 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net sales and operating revenue ¥ billion

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Item20222023202420252026
Net sales ¥270.9B ¥361.2B ¥367.2B ¥326.8B ¥268.1B
Year on year (%) +91.5%◆ +33.4%◆ +1.7% -11.0% -18.0%

Fiscal periods marked for changes

Earlier fiscal periods (6)
  • 2014Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +14.1 points, Ordinary income (loss) loss to profit
  • 2015Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +6.1 points
  • 2016Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +5.1 points
  • 2017Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -4.3 points
  • 2018Net sales year on year +34.8%
  • 2019Net sales year on year +26.2%
  • 2021Net sales year on year -21.4%
  • 2022Net sales year on year +91.5%
  • 2023Net sales year on year +33.4%

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

Earnings and net assets per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

2,166 1,444 722 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net assets per share yen

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

Return on equity over time

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

22 15 7 -0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Return on equity (ROE, %)
Parent only indicators (15 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Net sales ¥270.9 billion ¥361.2 billion ¥367.2 billion ¥326.8 billion ¥268.1 billion
Capital stock ¥30.9 billion ¥30.9 billion ¥30.9 billion ¥30.9 billion ¥30.9 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 155,064,249 shares 155,064,249 shares 155,064,249 shares 110,064,249 shares 110,064,249 shares
Net assets ¥158.3 billion ¥179.3 billion ¥203.9 billion ¥209.9 billion ¥222.1 billion
Total assets ¥240.3 billion ¥271.0 billion ¥310.6 billion ¥293.0 billion ¥293.0 billion
Net assets per share 1,366.98 yen 1,618.17 yen 1,867.2 yen 2,014.68 yen 2,166.3 yen
Dividend per share 25 yen 40 yen 50 yen 50 yen 50 yen
Interim dividend per share 10 yen 20 yen 25 yen 25 yen 25 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 65.9% 66.2% 65.6% 71.7% 75.8%
Return on equity 22.1% 18.3% 14.6% 10.2% 5.4%
Payout ratio 9.3% 14.7% 19.7% 25.3% 44.4%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥26.9 billion ¥39.8 billion ¥53.4 billion ¥19.6 billion ¥-3.3 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-9.7 billion ¥-11.9 billion ¥-18.2 billion ¥-21.9 billion ¥-10.8 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-7.5 billion ¥-11.7 billion ¥-8.1 billion ¥-13.8 billion ¥-8.2 billion
Cash and cash equivalents ¥68.6 billion ¥85.1 billion ¥112.2 billion ¥96.1 billion ¥73.5 billion

Dividend history

Source: reporting company’s key figures, annual securities reports · 14 years (2013 to 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

0 periods Consecutive increases (own definition) through FY ending 3/2026
14 periods Consecutive periods with dividends (site definition) through FY ending 3/2026
+0.0% Dividend growth (year on year)
+25.6% Dividend growth (5-year annual rate)
Fiscal yearAnnual dividend per share Of which interimPayout ratio (as reported, parent only) Flag
FY ending 3/2026 ¥50 ¥25 44.4%
FY ending 3/2025 ¥50 ¥25 25.3%
FY ending 3/2024 ¥50 ¥25 19.7%
FY ending 3/2023 ¥40 ¥20 14.7%
FY ending 3/2022 ¥25 ¥10 9.3%
FY ending 3/2021 ¥16 ¥8 33.3%
FY ending 3/2020 ¥15 ¥7 14.5%
FY ending 3/2019 ¥13 ¥6 11.8%
FY ending 3/2018 ¥10 ¥5 12.7%
FY ending 3/2017 ¥10 ¥5 12.9%
FY ending 3/2016 ¥8 ¥4 6.1%
FY ending 3/2015 ¥6 ¥2 8.5%
FY ending 3/2014 ¥2 ¥0 12.9%
FY ending 3/2013 ¥2 ¥2 Could not be retrieved

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

Dividends per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

50 33 17 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Dividend per share yen

Shareholder composition

As of 2026-03-31Disclosed

Share ownership by holder category

10,140 Shareholders
21.68% Foreign holders (total) Industry median 8.05%
14.34% Individuals and others Industry median 37.34%

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

  • Financial institutions13.84%
  • Securities firms0.72%
  • Other corporations49.42%
  • Foreign holders (institutions)21.67%
  • Foreign holders (individuals)0.01%
  • Individuals and others14.34%
  • Government and municipalities0.00%

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 合同会社TOS 24.41% 25,020,000
2 公益財団法人池谷科学技術振興財団 12.68% 13,000,000
3 日本マスタートラスト信託銀行株式会社(信託口) 8.52% 8,735,000
4 合同会社MYM 5.18% 5,314,000
5 合同会社MYJ 4.68% 4,800,000
6 宜本興産株式会社 3.9% 4,000,000
7 GOLDMAN SACHS INTERNATIONAL(常任代理人 ゴールドマン・サックス証券株式会社) 2.42% 2,477,000
8 株式会社日本カストディ銀行(信託口) 2.06% 2,107,000
9 KSD-KB(常任代理人 シティバンクエヌ・エイ東京支店) 1.39% 1,430,000
10 FIRST INTERNATIONAL BANK OF ISRAEL CLIENTS-GLOBAL(常任代理人 シティバンクエヌ・エイ東京支店) 1.3% 1,332,000

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

Source: R&D and capital expenditure sections, annual securities reports · 2 years (2021 to 2026)Disclosed

¥0.3 billion Research and development
¥20.0 billion Capital expenditure
Fiscal year Research and development Capital expenditure
FY ending 3/2026 ¥0.3 billion ¥20.0 billion
FY ending 3/2021 ¥0.2 billion ¥7.8 billion

Revenue scale in the same industry

TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING

Source Annual securities reports of each company

Iron and Steel: 39 companies · revenue · largest first・FY Mar 2026・consolidated (parent-only where no consolidated figures)・Disclosed

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

1,161 Employees (parent only) Industry median 537
39.8 Average age Industry median 41.7
16.9 years Average length of service Industry median 17.3 years
¥8.22 million Average annual salary Industry median ¥7.22 million
People and organisation
230.9¥ million Sales per employee Industry median 65.1¥ million FY ending 3/2026 · parent company only / calculated
¥6.23 million Operating income per employee
73.8% Wage gap between men and women
1.5% Women in managerial positions
95.5% Men taking childcare leave

Administrative filings and published information

Greenhouse gas emissions

Reported to the government for fiscal 2023Disclosed

CategoryEmissions
特定事業所排出者1,388,035 t-CO2
特定荷主59,078 t-CO2
Sites covered by the report4

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2026-03-31Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm 有限責任あずさ監査法人
Audit fees (this year, filing company) ¥45.00 million
Non-audit fees (this year, total) Not applicable
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard Japanese GAAP

See the book series →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Major management indicators (5 years) (15 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Dividend per share 50 yen Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-3.3 billion Parent only
Net sales ¥268.1 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-10.8 billion Parent only
Cash and cash equivalents ¥73.5 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 110,064,249 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥222.1 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥293.0 billion Parent only
Return on equity 5.4% Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 75.8% Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-8.2 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥30.9 billion Parent only
Payout ratio 44.4% Parent only
Interim dividend per share 25 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 2,166.3 yen Parent only

Accounts unique to this company (13 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue ¥8.6 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥11.6 billion Parent only
Revenue 112.56 Parent only
Change in average annual salary from the previous year -5.6% Parent only
Revenue ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥-81.00 million Parent only
Revenue ¥-13.00 million Parent only
Revenue ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥-0.1 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥-0.5 billion Parent only

Employees (8 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Wage gap between men and women (all employees) 73.8% Parent only
Average length of service (years) 16.9 years Parent only
Average annual salary ¥8.22 million Parent only
Average age (years) 39.8 years old Parent only
Number of employees 1,161 people Parent only
Number of employees 1,161 people Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (regular employees) 81.1% Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (non-regular employees) 72.7% Parent only

Shares (19 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total of dividends received equity securities other than those not listed investment equity securities held for pure investment reporting company ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Total of gain loss on sale equity securities other than those not listed investment equity securities held for pure investment reporting company ¥2.6 billion Consolidated
Number of shares held 68,217,000 shares Consolidated
Total number of shares held treasury shares etc 7,544,100 shares Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares decreased shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 4 issues Consolidated
Total sale amount for decreased shares shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company ¥2.7 billion Consolidated
Number of shares 110,064,249 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio treasury shares etc 6.9% Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 66.5% Consolidated
Number of shares held in own name treasury shares etc 7,544,100 shares Consolidated
Total of valuation gain (loss) ¥23.5 billion Consolidated
Number of voting rights 1,024,655 units Consolidated
Carrying amount on the balance sheet ¥35.00 million Consolidated
Carrying amount on the balance sheet ¥6.2 billion Consolidated
Book value equity securities other than those not listed investment equity securities held for pure investment reporting company ¥24.3 billion Consolidated
Number of issues 4 issues Consolidated
Number of issues 3 issues Consolidated
Number of issues 6 issues Consolidated
Total shareholder return 216.4% Parent only

Other disclosed items (4 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Rate of male employees taking childcare leave (all employees) 95.5% Parent only
Total return on the share price index 202.2% Parent only
Write-downs of inventories ¥-0.2 billion Parent only
Ratio of female employees in managerial positions 1.5% Parent only

Research and development (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Research and development expenses ¥0.3 billion Consolidated

Property and facilities (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Capital expenditures ¥20.0 billion Consolidated

Audit (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - reporting company ¥45.00 million Consolidated

Balance sheet (73 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥5.6 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Other ¥3.1 billion Parent only
Other ¥8.00 million Parent only
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥19.8 billion Parent only
Other capital surplus ¥1.00 million Parent only
Software ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Lease obligations ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Lease assets ¥1.6 billion Parent only
Lease assets, net ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Retained earnings ¥154.4 billion Parent only
Legal retained earnings ¥3.9 billion Parent only
Raw materials and supplies ¥16.1 billion Parent only
Merchandise and finished goods ¥24.9 billion Parent only
Non-current liabilities ¥19.3 billion Parent only
Non-current assets ¥147.5 billion Parent only
Land ¥33.0 billion Parent only
Reserve for reduction entry1 ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable - trade ¥26.6 billion Parent only
Contract liabilities ¥1.9 billion Parent only
Tools, furniture and fixtures ¥16.6 billion Parent only
Tools, furniture and fixtures ¥5.4 billion Parent only
Buildings ¥66.8 billion Parent only
Buildings, net ¥10.7 billion Parent only
Construction in progress ¥14.5 billion Parent only
Investments and other assets ¥35.6 billion Parent only
Investment securities ¥35.4 billion Parent only
Securities ¥10.5 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥111.4 billion Parent only
Accrued expenses ¥10.7 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥4.4 billion Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥202.3 billion Parent only
Structures ¥26.8 billion Parent only
Structures, net ¥3.1 billion Parent only
Machinery and equipment ¥359.4 billion Parent only
Machinery and equipment, net ¥42.6 billion Parent only
Current liabilities ¥51.6 billion Parent only
Current assets ¥145.5 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-0.4 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation and impairment loss ¥-11.2 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation and impairment loss ¥-56.1 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation and impairment loss ¥-23.7 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation and impairment loss ¥-316.8 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation and impairment loss ¥-1.2 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Cash and cash equivalents ¥73.5 billion Parent only
Cash and deposits ¥63.5 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥222.1 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥222.1 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥293.0 billion Parent only
Deferred tax liabilities ¥7.1 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥149.3 billion Parent only
Treasury stock ¥-11.8 billion Parent only
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥19.8 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥70.9 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥293.0 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - trade ¥32.6 billion Parent only
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-0 Parent only
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-28.00 million Parent only
Capital surplus ¥28.8 billion Parent only
Legal capital surplus ¥28.8 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥30.9 billion Parent only
Asset retirement obligations ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Vehicle and delivery equipment ¥1.9 billion Parent only
Vehicles, net ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Provision for retirement benefits ¥6.1 billion Parent only
Long-term prepaid expenses ¥31.00 million Parent only
Long-term loans receivable ¥47.00 million Parent only
Electronically recorded obligations - operating ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Electronically recorded monetary claims - operating ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Deposits received ¥0.1 billion Parent only

Statement of income (53 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Purchase discounts ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Transfer from other account cos ¥6.0 billion Parent only
Transfer to other accounts ¥9.6 billion Parent only
Dividends from surplus ¥-5.2 billion Parent only
Interest income ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Dividend income ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Total ¥265.2 billion Parent only
Operating income ¥7.2 billion Parent only
Non-operating income ¥1.9 billion Parent only
Non-operating expenses ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-3.3 billion Parent only
Loss on disposal of noncurrent assets ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Gain on sale of fixed assets ¥13.00 million Parent only
Loss on sale of non-current assets ¥19.00 million Parent only
Gain on sales of non-current assets ¥4.8 billion Parent only
Cost of sales ¥236.0 billion Parent only
Gross profit (loss) ¥32.1 billion Parent only
Net sales ¥268.1 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥11.6 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥11.6 billion Parent only
Cost of products manufactured ¥242.7 billion Parent only
Gain on sales of investment securities ¥2.6 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-10.8 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Interest on securities ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes - current ¥3.9 billion Parent only
Income taxes ¥2.5 billion Parent only
Income taxes - deferred ¥-1.4 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Foreign exchange losses ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Extraordinary income ¥7.4 billion Parent only
Extraordinary loss ¥1.9 billion Parent only
Effect of exchange rate change on cash and cash equivalents ¥-0.4 billion Parent only
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents ¥-22.6 billion Parent only
Environmental expenses ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Research and development expenses ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Taxes and dues ¥16.00 million Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥14.1 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥14.1 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥8.6 billion Parent only
Payrolls and allowances-SGA ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Disposal of treasury stock ¥19.00 million Parent only
Purchase of treasury stock ¥-2.6 billion Parent only
Ending finished goods cos ¥19.5 billion Parent only
Beginning finished goods cos ¥16.5 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-8.2 billion Parent only
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥24.8 billion Parent only
Provision of allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-2.00 million Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥53.00 million Parent only
Retirement benefit expenses ¥10.00 million Parent only
Freight ¥19.8 billion Parent only
Miscellaneous income ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.2 billion Parent only

Statement of changes in equity (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥12.2 billion Parent only
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥8.4 billion Parent only

Statement of cash flows (31 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥32.00 million Parent only
Other ¥-0.4 billion Parent only
Repayments of lease obligations ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Increase decrease in notes and accounts payable trade ¥-4.0 billion Parent only
Interest expenses paid ¥-0.1 billion Parent only
Interest and dividends income received ¥1.3 billion Parent only
Interest and dividend income ¥-1.3 billion Parent only
Gain on sales of non-current assets ¥-4.8 billion Parent only
Decrease increase in notes and accounts receivable trade ¥1.8 billion Parent only
Increase (decrease) in contract liabilities ¥-1.0 billion Parent only
Subtotal ¥3.4 billion Parent only
Proceeds from redemption of investment securities ¥1.7 billion Parent only
Proceeds from sales of investment securities ¥2.7 billion Parent only
Loss (gain) on sales of long-term investment securities ¥-2.6 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Purchase of property plant and equipment ¥-22.6 billion Parent only
Proceeds from sales of property plant and equipment ¥7.7 billion Parent only
(Increase) decrease in accounts receivables other ¥0.7 billion Parent only
(Increase)/decrease in consumption tax/value-added tax receivables ¥-1.5 billion Parent only
Decrease in consumption taxes payable ¥-0.9 billion Parent only
Increase/(decrease) in accounts payable - expenses ¥-2.7 billion Parent only
Decrease (increase) in inventories ¥-4.1 billion Parent only
Income taxes refund (paid) ¥-7.2 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥8.1 billion Parent only
Foreign exchange loss (gain) ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Regarding purchase of treasury stock ¥-2.6 billion Parent only
Proceeds from subsidy income ¥81.00 million Parent only
Increase (decrease) in allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-2.00 million Parent only
Increase (decrease) in provision for bonuses ¥-0.1 billion Parent only
Accrued pension cost ¥-0.4 billion Parent only
Dividends ¥-5.2 billion Parent only
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-3.3 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Dividend per share 50 Parent onlyDisclosed
Number of employees 1,161 Parent onlyDisclosed
Net assets ¥222.1 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Net sales ¥268.1 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Operating income ¥7.2 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥8.6 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Total assets ¥293.0 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Operating margin 2.7%Parent onlyCalculated
Net margin Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Sales per employee 230917313 yenParent onlyCalculated
Total asset turnover 0.92 timesParent onlyCalculated
Net assets to total assets 75.8%Parent onlyCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Operating margin 2.7% Operating income ÷ net sales  = ¥7.2 billion ÷ ¥268.1 billion
    Operating income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).
  • Sales per employee 230,917,313 yen Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees  = ¥268.1 billion ÷ 1,161 people
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees. The denominator is Number of employees (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).
  • Total asset turnover 0.92 times Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets  = ¥268.1 billion ÷ ¥293.0 billion
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net assets to total assets 75.8% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥222.1 billion ÷ ¥293.0 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).

Company details

  • Representative President, Representative Director, gBizINFO

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Selling, general and administrative expenses

  • Breakdown of selling, general and administrative expenses (costs of selling and running the company). Cost of sales not included
  • Each item: already inside the SG&A total (not added to it)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Net assets per share Parent only
  • Total assets Parent only

Capital allocation

  • ★: position when all companies are sorted by value and cut into fifths (a position, not a rating). The five items with ★: only where both numerator and denominator are available on a consolidated basisSee the formulas
  • Cash conversion Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ÷ operating income

Long-term changes in performance

  • Revenue Disclosed value for 2026 ÷ disclosed value for 2013

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Earnings and net assets per share over time

  • Earnings per share = net profit ÷ shares; net assets per share = net assets ÷ shares. Disclosed values from the key financial indicators of the annual securities report. No share prices used

Return on equity over time

  • Return on equity (ROE): net profit as a proportion of equity. For Japanese companies, the disclosed value in the key financial indicators of the annual securities report (decimals converted to percentages)

Dividend history

  • Payout ratio: dividends as a proportion of net profit. Dividend amounts and payout ratios: the reporting company’s parent-only disclosed values (as written in the annual securities report, not recalculated from consolidated profit). Consecutive increases: years in a row, from the latest backwards, in which the annual dividend per share rose. Consecutive years with a dividend: years in a row with an annual dividend per share above zero. Both this site’s own count (not the criteria of any published index). A year with no disclosure not read as zero; counting stops there. Range limited to the years listed above.

Share ownership by holder category

  • Source: ownership table, annual securities report. Percentages as disclosed, calculated on trading units (some companies do not total exactly 100%). Foreign holders (total): institutions and individuals combined. “Individuals and others”: a register category (not necessarily the share actually held by individuals). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Iron and Steel that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

  • Research and development: total in the R&D section of the annual securities report. Capital expenditure: this year’s actual spending in the capital expenditure overview (not a plan). Years: only those available in the annual securities reports on hand (one to four per company); no row for other years.

Revenue scale in the same industry

  • Revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry, using the same grouping as the industry pages. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Bar length relative to the largest company (100). An order of size, not a ranking of quality

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Industry median: the middle value among companies in Iron and Steel that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

People and organisation

  • Sales per employee Net sales (or operating revenue) ÷ employees
  • Operating income per employee Operating income ÷ employees
  • Wage gap between men and women Women's pay with men's pay set to 100, reporting company
  • Women in managerial positions Reporting company (parent only)
  • Men taking childcare leave Reporting company (parent only)

Greenhouse gas emissions

  • Categories count different things; not added together Source: processed from the Ministry of the Environment’s greenhouse gas calculation, reporting and disclosure system (EEGS). Companies required to report only Ministry of the Environment (EEGS)

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of TOKYO STEEL MANUFACTURING CO., LTD. on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 8010001008819 / Accounting standard: Japanese GAAP

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork