Hobonichi
Hobonichi Co.,Ltd.
Company highlights
The latest annual dividend per share is higher than the year before.
Key figures
Period Sep 2024 to Aug 2025Parent onlyJapanese GAAP
Company profile
Tables scroll sideways
Disclosed data
Business activities and revenue composition
Revenue and profit by business segment
Disclosed segments (business divisions used in reporting): one
Revenue and profit
Amounts by account
| Group | Account | Amount | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Selling, general and administrative expenses | Payrolls and allowances | ¥0.9 billion | Parent only |
| Shipping expense | ¥0.9 billion | Parent only | |
| Sales commission | ¥0.5 billion | Parent only | |
| Depreciation | ¥0.1 billion | Parent only | |
| Provision for bonuses | ¥0.1 billion | Parent only | |
| Directors' compensations | ¥96.60 million | Parent only | |
| Retirement benefit expenses | ¥25.46 million | Parent only | |
| Provision of allowance for doubtful accounts | ¥1.92 million | Parent only | |
| Profit by stage | Gross profit (loss) | ¥4.9 billion | Parent only |
| Ordinary income | ¥0.7 billion | Parent only | |
| Operating income | ¥0.6 billion | Parent only |
Hobonichi
Selling, general and administrative expenses
Period Sep 2024 to Aug 2025Source Annual securities reports
- Payrolls and allowances ¥0.9 billion
- Shipping expense ¥0.9 billion
- Sales commission ¥0.5 billion
- Depreciation ¥0.1 billion
- Provision for bonuses ¥0.1 billion
- Directors' compensations ¥0.1 billion
Performance, financial position and capital allocation
Long-term changes in performance
Hobonichi
Long-term revenue, profit and asset trends
Period 2016 to 2025Source Annual securities reportsDisclosed
Hobonichi
Recent performance trends
Source Annual securities reports
Year-on-year comparison
| Item | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net sales | ¥5.6B | ¥5.9B | ¥6.8B | ¥7.5B | ¥8.7B |
| Year on year (%) | +6.2% | +4.8% | +15.4% | +10.5% | +15.2% |
| Ordinary income (loss) | ¥0.2B | ¥0.3B | ¥0.6B | ¥0.5B | ¥0.7B |
| Change from prior year | +71.0% | +70.3% | +101.1% | -7.0% | +19.7% |
| Ordinary income (loss) as a share of Net sales | 3.0% | 4.9% | 8.6% | 7.2% | 7.5% |
| Change (percentage points) | +1.1 points | +1.9 points | +3.7 points◆ | -1.4 points | +0.3 points |
Fiscal periods marked for changes
- 2018Net sales year on year +25.4%
- 2020Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -9.8 points
- 2023Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.7 points
Hobonichi
Earnings and net assets per share over time
Unit yenSource Annual securities reports
Hobonichi
Return on equity over time
Unit %Source Annual securities reports
Parent only indicators (18 items)
| Item | 4 years ago | 3 years ago | 2 years ago | Last year | This year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net sales | ¥5.6 billion | ¥5.9 billion | ¥6.8 billion | ¥7.5 billion | ¥8.7 billion |
| Ordinary income (loss) | ¥0.2 billion | ¥0.3 billion | ¥0.6 billion | ¥0.5 billion | ¥0.7 billion |
| Net income (loss) | ¥0.2 billion | ¥0.2 billion | ¥0.4 billion | ¥0.4 billion | ¥0.4 billion |
| Capital stock | ¥0.4 billion | ¥0.4 billion | ¥0.4 billion | ¥0.4 billion | ¥0.4 billion |
| Total number of issued shares (common stock) | 2,320,000 shares | 2,320,000 shares | 2,320,400 shares | 2,320,600 shares | 2,321,800 shares |
| Net assets | ¥3.8 billion | ¥3.9 billion | ¥4.2 billion | ¥4.5 billion | ¥4.9 billion |
| Total assets | ¥5.1 billion | ¥5.3 billion | ¥5.8 billion | ¥6.5 billion | ¥6.9 billion |
| Net assets per share | 1,634.19 yen | 1,665.55 yen | 1,810.44 yen | 1,949.65 yen | 2,108.05 yen |
| Dividend per share | 45 yen | 45 yen | 45 yen | 45 yen | 90 yen |
| Basic earnings (loss) per share | 84.91 yen | 88.68 yen | 177.57 yen | 172.05 yen | 193.15 yen |
| Diluted earnings per share | 84.86 yen | 88.63 yen | 177.48 yen | 171.99 yen | 193.14 yen |
| Equity-to-asset ratio | 74.0% | 72.7% | 71.8% | 69.7% | 70.7% |
| Return on equity | 5.2% | 5.4% | 10.2% | 9.2% | 9.5% |
| Payout ratio | 53.0% | 50.7% | 25.3% | 26.2% | 46.6% |
| Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities | ¥0.5 billion | ¥0.2 billion | ¥0.2 billion | ¥0.4 billion | ¥0.2 billion |
| Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities | ¥-0.3 billion | ¥-0.3 billion | ¥-0.3 billion | ¥-0.5 billion | ¥-0.5 billion |
| Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities | ¥-0.1 billion | ¥-0.1 billion | ¥-0.1 billion | ¥-0.1 billion | ¥-0.1 billion |
| Cash and cash equivalents | ¥1.8 billion | ¥1.6 billion | ¥1.4 billion | ¥1.2 billion | ¥0.8 billion |
Dividend history
| Fiscal year | Annual dividend per share | Of which interim | Payout ratio (as reported, parent only) | Flag |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY ending 8/2025 | ¥90 | Could not be retrieved | 46.6% | |
| FY ending 8/2024 | ¥45 | Could not be retrieved | 26.2% | |
| FY ending 8/2023 | ¥45 | Could not be retrieved | 25.3% | |
| FY ending 8/2022 | ¥45 | Could not be retrieved | 50.7% | |
| FY ending 8/2021 | ¥45 | Could not be retrieved | 53.0% | |
| FY ending 8/2020 | ¥45 | Could not be retrieved | 68.7% | |
| FY ending 8/2019 | ¥45 | Could not be retrieved | 23.6% | |
| FY ending 8/2018 | ¥45 | Could not be retrieved | 26.8% | |
| FY ending 8/2017 | ¥45 | Could not be retrieved | 28.4% | Stock split or share consolidation noted |
| FY ending 8/2016 | ¥4,500 | Could not be retrieved | 29.5% |
Hobonichi
Dividends per share over time
Unit yenSource Annual securities reports
Shareholder composition
Share ownership by holder category
Hobonichi
Unit %Source Annual securities reports
- Financial institutions1.83%
- Securities firms0.82%
- Other corporations0.31%
- Foreign holders (institutions)0.26%
- Foreign holders (individuals)0.03%
- Individuals and others96.75%
Major shareholders
| Rank | Shareholder | Shareholding ratio | Shares held |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 糸井 重里 | 26.7% | 619,000 |
| 2 | 池田 あんだ | 20.69% | 480,000 |
| 3 | 山本 英俊 | 14.08% | 326,000 |
| 4 | ほぼ日従業員持株会 | 4.45% | 103,000 |
| 5 | 株式会社日本カストディ銀行(信託口) | 1.8% | 41,000 |
| 6 | 小泉 絢子 | 0.94% | 21,000 |
| 7 | 永田 泰大 | 0.9% | 21,000 |
| 8 | 松元 太郎 | 0.76% | 17,000 |
| 9 | 齋藤 里香 | 0.74% | 17,000 |
| 10 | 佐藤 智行 | 0.58% | 13,000 |
Research and development expenses and capital expenditure
| Fiscal year | Research and development | Capital expenditure |
|---|---|---|
| FY ending 8/2025 | Could not be retrieved | ¥0.4 billion |
| FY ending 8/2020 | ¥1.50 million | ¥0.1 billion |
Revenue scale in the same industry
Hobonichi
Source Annual securities reports of each company
Retail Trade: 343 companies · revenue · largest first・each company’s latest fiscal year・consolidated (parent-only where no consolidated figures)・Disclosed
- 1 AEONFY Feb 2026 ¥10.7T
- 2 Seven & iFY Feb 2026 ¥10.4T
- 3 FAST RETAILINGFY Aug 2025 ¥3.4T
- … 278 companies
- 282 FLYING GARDENFY Mar 2026 ¥9.2B
- 283 happiness and dFY Aug 2025 ¥8.8B
- 284 HobonichiThis companyFY Aug 2025 ¥8.7B
- 285 Taka-QFY Feb 2026 ¥8.7B
- 286 HACHI-BANFY Mar 2026 ¥8.6B
- … 57 companies
Workforce information
Women 6.5 yrs Average length of service by gender
Women 101 Employees by gender
Administrative filings and published information
Workplace information filings
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Employees | 156 |
| Average monthly overtime (statutory overtime plus work on statutory days off) |
24.5 hours |
| Share of managers who are women | 33.3% |
| Share of board members who are women | 25% |
Audit and disclosure information
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Audit firm | 太陽有限責任監査法人 |
| Audit fees (this year, filing company) | ¥20.00 million |
| Non-audit fees (this year, total) | Not applicable |
| Going concern note | Cannot be determined |
| Accounting standard | Japanese GAAP |
Related books, articles and videos
Books that cover companies in the same industry
This company: not covered in the books below
Same industry: Retail Trade
“Kaisha no Shikumi: Raising Prices”
Reads the filings of restaurant, clothing and household goods chains for how price increases relate to customer numbers.
Retail Trade companies in this book: saizeriya, FOOD & LIFE COMPANIES, FAST RETAILING and others (6 in all)
“Ano Kaisha no Shikumi” series, Vol.2 — Kindle and paperback
Find it on Amazon →
Same industry: Retail Trade
“Kaisha no Shikumi: Earning Beyond the Till”
Reads the filings of supermarkets, department stores and drugstores for money received under headings other than product sales, such as finance and rent.
Retail Trade companies in this book: AEON, TSURUHA, Takashimaya and others (5 in all)
“Ano Kaisha no Shikumi” series, Vol.5 — Kindle and paperback
Find it on Amazon →
Sources and methodology
Retrieved disclosed figures
Major management indicators (5 years) (18 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Dividend per share | 90 yen | Parent only |
| Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Net sales | ¥8.7 billion | Parent only |
| Net income (loss) | ¥0.4 billion | Parent only |
| Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities | ¥-0.5 billion | Parent only |
| Diluted earnings per share | 193.14 yen | Parent only |
| Cash and cash equivalents | ¥0.8 billion | Parent only |
| Total number of issued shares (common stock) | 2,321,800 shares | Parent only |
| Net assets | ¥4.9 billion | Parent only |
| Ordinary income (loss) | ¥0.7 billion | Parent only |
| Total assets | ¥6.9 billion | Parent only |
| Return on equity | 9.5% | Parent only |
| Equity-to-asset ratio | 70.7% | Parent only |
| Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities | ¥-0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Capital stock | ¥0.4 billion | Parent only |
| Payout ratio | 46.6% | Parent only |
| Basic earnings (loss) per share | 193.15 yen | Parent only |
| Net assets per share | 2,108.05 yen | Parent only |
Employees (6 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Average length of service (years) | 6 years | Parent only |
| Average length of service months | 3 months | Parent only |
| Average annual salary | ¥6.95 million | Parent only |
| Average age (years) | 38.5 years old | Parent only |
| Number of employees | 156 people | Parent only |
| Number of employees | 156 people | Parent only |
Other disclosed items (5 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Rate of male employees taking childcare leave (all employees) | 33.3% | Parent only |
| Average number of temporary employees | 10 people | Parent only |
| Average number of temporary employees | 10 people | Parent only |
| Total return on the share price index | 214.3% | Parent only |
| Ratio of female employees in managerial positions | 33.3% | Parent only |
Shares (8 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Number of shares held | 1,664,000 shares | Consolidated |
| Total number of shares held treasury shares etc | 400 shares | Consolidated |
| Number of shares | 2,321,800 shares | Consolidated |
| Shareholding ratio treasury shares etc | 0.0% | Consolidated |
| Shareholding ratio | 71.7% | Consolidated |
| Number of shares held in own name treasury shares etc | 400 shares | Consolidated |
| Number of voting rights | 23,187 units | Consolidated |
| Total shareholder return | 84.6% | Parent only |
Property and facilities (1 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Capital expenditures | ¥0.4 billion | Consolidated |
Audit (1 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Fees for audit and attestation services - reporting company | ¥20.00 million | Consolidated |
Balance sheet (60 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Other | ¥32.93 million | Parent only |
| Other | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Other | ¥0.02 million | Parent only |
| Other | ¥6.29 million | Parent only |
| Other | ¥4.87 million | Parent only |
| Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Software | ¥0.6 billion | Parent only |
| Software in progress | ¥0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Lease obligations | ¥2.59 million | Parent only |
| Work in process | ¥49.17 million | Parent only |
| General reserve | ¥0.5 billion | Parent only |
| Retained earnings | ¥4.0 billion | Parent only |
| Legal retained earnings | ¥2.50 million | Parent only |
| Advances received | ¥1.58 million | Parent only |
| Prepaid expenses | ¥88.87 million | Parent only |
| Advance payments trade | ¥15.86 million | Parent only |
| Merchandise | ¥2.5 billion | Parent only |
| Right of trademark | ¥4.77 million | Parent only |
| Non-current liabilities | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Non-current assets | ¥2.0 billion | Parent only |
| Accounts receivable - trade | ¥1.4 billion | Parent only |
| Tools, furniture and fixtures | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Buildings | ¥0.4 billion | Parent only |
| Construction in progress | ¥13.59 million | Parent only |
| Investments and other assets | ¥0.9 billion | Parent only |
| Investment securities | ¥0.4 billion | Parent only |
| Property, plant and equipment | ¥0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Income taxes payable | ¥0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Accrued consumption taxes | ¥7.32 million | Parent only |
| Accrued expenses | ¥31.90 million | Parent only |
| Accounts payable - other | ¥0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Shareholders' equity | ¥4.7 billion | Parent only |
| Structures | ¥7.95 million | Parent only |
| Current liabilities | ¥1.8 billion | Parent only |
| Current assets | ¥4.9 billion | Parent only |
| Accumulated depreciation | ¥-0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Intangible assets | ¥0.9 billion | Parent only |
| Cash and cash equivalents | ¥0.8 billion | Parent only |
| Cash and deposits | ¥0.8 billion | Parent only |
| Net assets | ¥4.9 billion | Parent only |
| Net assets | ¥4.9 billion | Parent only |
| Total assets | ¥6.9 billion | Parent only |
| Deferred tax assets | ¥0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Retained earnings brought forward | ¥3.5 billion | Parent only |
| Treasury stock | ¥-1.98 million | Parent only |
| Valuation and translation adjustments | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Liabilities | ¥2.0 billion | Parent only |
| Liabilities and net assets | ¥6.9 billion | Parent only |
| Supplies | ¥20.74 million | Parent only |
| Accounts payable - trade | ¥1.2 billion | Parent only |
| Allowance for doubtful accounts | ¥-1.14 million | Parent only |
| Capital surplus | ¥0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Legal capital surplus | ¥0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Capital stock | ¥0.4 billion | Parent only |
| Asset retirement obligations | ¥3.98 million | Parent only |
| Provision for bonuses | ¥0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Vehicle and delivery equipment | ¥3.81 million | Parent only |
| Provision for retirement benefits | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Long-term prepaid expenses | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Deposits received | ¥25.29 million | Parent only |
Accounts unique to this company (1 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ¥6.37 million | Parent only |
Statement of income (43 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Other | ¥1.83 million | Parent only |
| Other | ¥0.23 million | Parent only |
| Recoveries of written off receivables | ¥0.06 million | Parent only |
| Dividends from surplus | ¥-0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Interest income | ¥3.10 million | Parent only |
| Guaranty money income | ¥36.67 million | Parent only |
| Total | ¥6.5 billion | Parent only |
| Goods transfer to other account cos | ¥32.83 million | Parent only |
| Cost of merchandize sold | ¥3.7 billion | Parent only |
| Ending goods | ¥2.8 billion | Parent only |
| Beginning goods | ¥2.4 billion | Parent only |
| Loss on valuation of goods | ¥-18.94 million | Parent only |
| Operating income | ¥0.6 billion | Parent only |
| Non-operating income | ¥41.66 million | Parent only |
| Non-operating expenses | ¥7.51 million | Parent only |
| Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Loss on sales and retirement of noncurrent assets | ¥1.73 million | Parent only |
| Gross profit (loss) | ¥4.9 billion | Parent only |
| Net sales | ¥8.7 billion | Parent only |
| Cost of purchased goods | ¥4.1 billion | Parent only |
| Net income (loss) | ¥0.4 billion | Parent only |
| Net income (loss) | ¥0.4 billion | Parent only |
| Directors' compensations | ¥96.60 million | Parent only |
| Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities | ¥-0.5 billion | Parent only |
| Issuance of new shares | ¥1.38 million | Parent only |
| Income taxes - current | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Income taxes | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Income taxes - deferred | ¥0.17 million | Parent only |
| Depreciation | ¥0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Foreign exchange losses | ¥5.54 million | Parent only |
| Effect of exchange rate change on cash and cash equivalents | ¥-7.26 million | Parent only |
| Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | ¥-0.4 billion | Parent only |
| Shipping expense | ¥0.9 billion | Parent only |
| Income (loss) before income taxes | ¥0.7 billion | Parent only |
| Income (loss) before income taxes | ¥0.7 billion | Parent only |
| Ordinary income | ¥0.7 billion | Parent only |
| Payrolls and allowances-SGA | ¥0.9 billion | Parent only |
| Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities | ¥-0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Sales commission | ¥0.5 billion | Parent only |
| Selling, general and administrative expenses | ¥4.3 billion | Parent only |
| Provision of allowance for doubtful accounts | ¥1.92 million | Parent only |
| Provision for bonuses | ¥0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Retirement benefit expenses | ¥25.46 million | Parent only |
Statement of changes in equity (2 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Total changes during the period | ¥0.4 billion | Parent only |
| Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity | ¥24.71 million | Parent only |
Statement of cash flows (26 items)
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated |
|---|---|---|
| Other | ¥1.01 million | Parent only |
| Increase (decrease) in other liabilities | ¥13.99 million | Parent only |
| Decrease (increase) in other assets | ¥-17.95 million | Parent only |
| Repayments of finance lease obligations | ¥-2.25 million | Parent only |
| Increase decrease in notes and accounts payable trade | ¥-14.58 million | Parent only |
| Interest and dividends income received | ¥3.10 million | Parent only |
| Interest and dividend income | ¥-3.10 million | Parent only |
| Guaranty money income | ¥-36.67 million | Parent only |
| Decrease increase in notes and accounts receivable trade | ¥-0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Subtotal | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only |
| Payments for guarantee deposits | ¥-11.64 million | Parent only |
| Proceeds from exercise of share acquisition rights | ¥1.38 million | Parent only |
| Purchase of property plant and equipment | ¥-30.49 million | Parent only |
| Decrease/increase in consumption taxes receivable/payable | ¥-65.92 million | Parent only |
| Decrease (increase) in inventories | ¥-0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Income taxes refund (paid) | ¥-0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Depreciation | ¥0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Foreign exchange loss (gain) | ¥7.25 million | Parent only |
| Purchase of intangible assets | ¥-0.3 billion | Parent only |
| Proceeds from compensation | ¥36.67 million | Parent only |
| Decrease increase in supplies | ¥-10.86 million | Parent only |
| Increase (decrease) in allowance for doubtful accounts | ¥-2.69 million | Parent only |
| Increase (decrease) in provision for bonuses | ¥9.99 million | Parent only |
| Accrued pension cost | ¥4.11 million | Parent only |
| Dividends | ¥-0.1 billion | Parent only |
| Purchase of long-term prepaid expenses | ¥-96.60 million | Parent only |
Basic indicators
| Item | Value | Consolidated / Non-consolidated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities | ¥0.2 billion | Parent only | Disclosed |
| Dividend per share | 90 | Parent only | Disclosed |
| Number of employees | 156 | Parent only | Disclosed |
| Net assets | ¥4.9 billion | Parent only | Disclosed |
| Net sales | ¥8.7 billion | Parent only | Disclosed |
| Operating income | ¥0.6 billion | Parent only | Disclosed |
| Ordinary income | ¥0.7 billion | Parent only | Disclosed |
| Total assets | ¥6.9 billion | Parent only | Disclosed |
| Operating margin | 7.1% | Parent only | Calculated |
| Net margin | Not disclosed | Not applicable | Not calculated (a required value is not disclosed) |
| Sales per employee | 55627423 yen | Parent only | Calculated |
| Total asset turnover | 1.25 times | Parent only | Calculated |
| Net assets to total assets | 70.7% | Parent only | Calculated |