Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

KOTOBUKIYA

KOTOBUKIYA CO., LTD.

Company highlights

The latest annual dividend per share is higher than the year before.

Key figures

Period Jul 2025 to Jun 2026ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP

RevenueDisclosed ¥16.8B
Operating marginCalculated 4.6%
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 64.4%

Company profile

Securities code 7809 / EDINET code E33392 / Other Products / Fiscal year end June 30

立川市緑町4-5/Capital stock ¥469 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Company details
清水 一行 Representative
2 Consolidated subsidiaries

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Jul 2025 to Jun 2026) · filed 2026-09-24

Profitability ★★☆☆☆position among all companies 4.6%
Growth (revenue, 4-year average) ★★☆☆☆position among all companies 3.6%
Capital efficiency ★★☆☆☆position among all companies 5.8%

Business activities and revenue composition

Revenue and profit by business segment

Disclosed segments (business divisions used in reporting): one

Revenue and profit

KOTOBUKIYA

Period Jul 2025 to Jun 2026Source Annual securities reports

Net sales and operating revenue ¥16.8B 100% Cost of sales ¥11.7B 70% Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥4.3B 26% Operating income ¥0.8B 5%
Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses Payrolls and allowances ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Research and development expenses ¥67.35 million Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥53.39 million Parent only
Retirement benefit expenses ¥36.27 million Parent only
Provision for dividend ¥13.80 million Parent only
Provision for directors' retirement benefits ¥13.18 million Parent only
Profit by stage Gross profit (loss) ¥5.1 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Operating income ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥0.5 billion Consolidated

KOTOBUKIYA

Selling, general and administrative expenses

Period Jul 2025 to Jun 2026Source Annual securities reports

Payrolls and allowances ¥0.9 billion (19.8%)20%Depreciation ¥0.1 billion (3.2%)Research and development expenses ¥0.1 billion (1.6%)Provision for bonuses ¥0.1 billion (1.2%)Retirement benefit expenses ¥0.0 billion (0.8%)Provision for dividend ¥0.0 billion (0.3%)Other (not itemized) ¥3.1 billion (73.0%)73%¥4.3B
  • Payrolls and allowances ¥0.9 billion
  • Depreciation ¥0.1 billion
  • Research and development expenses ¥0.1 billion
  • Provision for bonuses ¥0.1 billion
  • Retirement benefit expenses ¥0.0 billion
  • Provision for dividend ¥0.0 billion
  • Other (not itemized) ¥3.1 billion

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
64.4% Net assets to total assets Industry median 60.2% FY ending 6/2026 · consolidated / calculated
3.9% Return on assets (ROA)
¥1,026.95 Net assets per share
¥1.0 billion Free cash flow
¥12.9 billion Total assets
Capital allocation
261.8% Cash conversion Industry median 113.3% FY ending 6/2026 · consolidated / calculated
-5.6% Increase in working capital ★☆☆☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 6/2026 · consolidated / calculated
111.9% Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation ★★★★☆ position among all companies FY ending 6/2026 · consolidated / calculated
11.3% Return to shareholders ★★☆☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 6/2026 · consolidated / calculated

Long-term changes in performance

Period 2016 to 2026Disclosed

Revenue ×2.07 from 2016 to 2026

KOTOBUKIYA

Long-term revenue, profit and asset trends

Period 2016 to 2026Source Annual securities reportsDisclosed

Mark on the chart
18 12 6 0 2016 2018 2020 2022 2024 2026 Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income 2017 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -2.3 points 2019 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -4.0 points 2021 Net sales year on year +29.4%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +7.2 points 2022 Net sales year on year +49.8%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +6.0 points 2023 Net sales year on year +26.6%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -2.3 points 2024 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -4.3 points 17Latest value 2026 17¥ billion 18Highest in the period shown 2023 18¥ billion 7Lowest in the period shown 2020 7¥ billion ¥ billion

Recent performance trends

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2016 to 2026Disclosed

Item20222023202420252026
Net sales ¥14.3B ¥18.1B ¥16.4B ¥16.5B ¥16.8B
Year on year (%) +49.8%◆ +26.6%◆ -9.5% +0.8% comparison basis not confirmed
Ordinary income (loss) ¥2.3B ¥2.5B ¥1.6B ¥1.6B ¥0.8B
Change from prior year +135.8% +9.1% -37.1% -0.9% comparison basis not confirmed
Ordinary income (loss) as a share of Net sales 16.3% 14.1% 9.8% 9.6% 5.0%
Change (percentage points) +6.0 points◆ -2.3 points◆ -4.3 points◆ -0.2 points comparison basis not confirmed

Fiscal periods marked for changes

Earlier fiscal periods (3)
  • 2017Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -2.3 points
  • 2019Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -4.0 points
  • 2021Net sales year on year +29.4%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +7.2 points
  • 2022Net sales year on year +49.8%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +6.0 points
  • 2023Net sales year on year +26.6%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -2.3 points
  • 2024Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -4.3 points
Consolidated indicators (14 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Net sales Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥16.8 billion
Ordinary income (loss) Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥0.8 billion
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥0.5 billion
Comprehensive income Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥0.5 billion
Net assets Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥8.3 billion
Total assets Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥12.9 billion
Net assets per share Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved 1,026.95 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved 61.65 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved 64.4%
Return on equity Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved 6.1%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥3.0 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥-1.9 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥-1.1 billion
Cash and cash equivalents Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved ¥2.0 billion
Parent only indicators (18 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Net sales ¥14.3 billion ¥18.1 billion ¥16.4 billion ¥16.5 billion ¥16.5 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥2.3 billion ¥2.5 billion ¥1.6 billion ¥1.6 billion ¥0.8 billion
Net income (loss) ¥1.6 billion ¥1.8 billion ¥1.1 billion ¥1.1 billion ¥0.5 billion
Capital stock ¥0.5 billion ¥0.5 billion ¥0.5 billion ¥0.5 billion ¥0.5 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 2,797,800 shares 2,813,400 shares 8,444,700 shares 8,550,900 shares 8,550,900 shares
Net assets ¥4.8 billion ¥6.4 billion ¥7.2 billion ¥8.0 billion ¥8.2 billion
Total assets ¥10.6 billion ¥11.5 billion ¥12.0 billion ¥13.4 billion ¥12.6 billion
Net assets per share 606.67 yen 801.84 yen 909.42 yen 999.85 yen 1,015.19 yen
Dividend per share 70 yen 90 yen 35 yen 40 yen 45 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share 206.54 yen 222.5 yen 139.14 yen 136.72 yen 58.36 yen
Diluted earnings per share 202.34 yen 218.92 yen 137.46 yen 135.91 yen Could not be retrieved
Equity-to-asset ratio 45.0% 55.2% 60.0% 59.8% 64.9%
Return on equity 40.4% 31.6% 16.3% 14.3% 5.8%
Payout ratio 11.3% 13.5% 25.2% 29.3% 77.1%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥1.2 billion ¥3.2 billion ¥1.1 billion ¥2.0 billion Could not be retrieved
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-0.9 billion ¥-1.2 billion ¥-1.4 billion ¥-1.7 billion Could not be retrieved
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-0.2 billion ¥-0.8 billion ¥-65.84 million ¥-0.1 billion Could not be retrieved
Cash and cash equivalents ¥0.4 billion ¥1.6 billion ¥1.1 billion ¥1.4 billion Could not be retrieved

Dividend history

Source: reporting company’s key figures, annual securities reports · 11 years (2016 to 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

1 periods Consecutive increases (own definition) through FY ending 6/2026
2 periods Consecutive periods with dividends (site definition) through FY ending 6/2026
+12.5% Dividend growth (year on year)
Fewer than six years Dividend growth (5-year annual rate)
Fiscal yearAnnual dividend per share Of which interimPayout ratio (as reported, parent only) Flag
FY ending 6/2026 ¥45 Could not be retrieved 77.1%
FY ending 6/2025 ¥40 Could not be retrieved 29.3%
FY ending 6/2024 ¥35 Could not be retrieved 25.2% Stock split or share consolidation noted
FY ending 6/2023 ¥90 Could not be retrieved 13.5%
FY ending 6/2022 ¥70 Could not be retrieved 11.3%
FY ending 6/2021 ¥40 Could not be retrieved 15.6%
FY ending 6/2020 ¥15 Could not be retrieved 53.7%
FY ending 6/2019 ¥30 Could not be retrieved 59.7%
FY ending 6/2018 ¥30 Could not be retrieved 18.8% Stock split or share consolidation noted
FY ending 6/2017 ¥51 Could not be retrieved 16.2%
FY ending 6/2016 ¥60 Could not be retrieved 12.0%

KOTOBUKIYA

Dividends per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

90 60 30 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Dividend per share yen

Shareholder composition

As of 2026-06-30Disclosed

Share ownership by holder category

7,389 Shareholders
5.22% Foreign holders (total) Industry median 3.88%
55.25% Individuals and others Industry median 50.86%

KOTOBUKIYA

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

  • Financial institutions7.75%
  • Securities firms0.70%
  • Other corporations31.08%
  • Foreign holders (institutions)5.12%
  • Foreign holders (individuals)0.10%
  • Individuals and others55.25%

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 株式会社テレビ朝日 15.1% 1,260,000
2 清水 一行 10.93% 912,000
3 株式会社立飛ホールディングス 10.79% 900,000
4 壽屋社員持株会 4.45% 371,100
5 株式会社日本カストディ銀行(信託E口)) 3.14% 262,000
6 清水 浩代 2.95% 246,000
7 Boom Securities(H.K.)Limited-Clients' Account (常任代理人 マネックス証券株式会社) 2.64% 220,500
8 多摩信用金庫 2.16% 180,000
9 西武信用金庫 2.16% 180,000
10 DBS BANK LTD. 700104 (常任代理人 株式会社みずほ銀行 決済営業部) 1.72% 143,700

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

Source: R&D and capital expenditure sections, annual securities reports · 4 years (2020 to 2026)Disclosed

¥67.35 million Research and development 0.4% of revenue (industry median 1.1%)
¥1.7 billion Capital expenditure 10.1% of revenue (industry median 4.1%)
Fiscal year Research and development Capital expenditure
FY ending 6/2026 ¥67.35 million ¥1.7 billion
FY ending 6/2025 ¥11.10 million ¥1.2 billion
FY ending 6/2024 ¥5.45 million Could not be retrieved
FY ending 6/2020 Could not be retrieved ¥0.6 billion

Revenue scale in the same industry

KOTOBUKIYA

Source Annual securities reports of each company

Other Products: 120 companies · revenue · largest first・each company’s latest fiscal year・consolidated (parent-only where no consolidated figures)・Disclosed

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Jul 2025 to Jun 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

204 Employees (parent only) Industry median 291
38.8 Average age Industry median 42.7
11.2 years Average length of service Industry median 14.5 years
¥5.44 million Average annual salary Industry median ¥5.67 million
People and organisation
80.3¥ million Sales per employee Industry median 33.9¥ million FY ending 6/2026 · consolidated / calculated
¥3.66 million Operating income per employee
80.5% Wage gap between men and women
17.0% Women in managerial positions
Men 11.8 yrs
Women 8.1 yrs
Average length of service by gender
9 / 42 Female managers
1 / 9 Female officers
93 Average temporary staff

Administrative filings and published information

Workplace information filings

Filed 2026-09-25Disclosed

ItemValue
Employees 230
Share of managers who are women 17%
Share of board members who are women 11.1%

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2026-06-30Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm 東陽監査法人
Audit fees (this year, total) ¥31.00 million
Non-audit fees (this year, total) Not applicable
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard Japanese GAAP

See the book series →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Major management indicators (5 years) (27 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥3.0 billion Consolidated
Net sales ¥16.8 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-1.9 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥2.0 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥8.3 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income (loss) ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥12.9 billion Consolidated
Return on equity 6.1% Consolidated
Equity-to-asset ratio 64.4% Consolidated
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-1.1 billion Consolidated
Basic earnings (loss) per share 61.65 yen Consolidated
Net assets per share 1,026.95 yen Consolidated
Dividend per share 45 yen Parent only
Net sales ¥16.5 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 8,550,900 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥8.2 billion Parent only
Ordinary income (loss) ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥12.6 billion Parent only
Return on equity 5.8% Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 64.9% Parent only
Capital stock ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Payout ratio 77.1% Parent only
Basic earnings (loss) per share 58.36 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 1,015.19 yen Parent only

Employees (9 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of employees 209 people Consolidated
Wage gap between men and women (all employees) 80.5% Parent only
Average length of service (years) 11.2 years Parent only
Average annual salary ¥5.44 million Parent only
Average age (years) 38.8 years old Parent only
Number of employees 204 people Parent only
Number of employees 204 people Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (regular employees) 83.0% Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (non-regular employees) 98.2% Parent only

Other disclosed items (7 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 93 people Consolidated
Write-downs of inventories ¥-51.84 million Consolidated
Number of consolidated subsidiaries 2 companies Consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 93 people Parent only
Average number of temporary employees 93 people Parent only
Total return on the share price index 232.1% Parent only
Ratio of female employees in managerial positions 17.0% Parent only

Shares (8 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of shares held 4,675,300 shares Consolidated
Total number of shares held treasury shares etc 208,400 shares Consolidated
Number of shares 8,550,900 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio treasury shares etc 2.4% Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 56.0% Consolidated
Number of shares held in own name treasury shares etc 208,400 shares Consolidated
Number of voting rights 83,308 units Consolidated
Total shareholder return 198.6% Parent only

Research and development (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Research and development expenses ¥67.35 million Consolidated

Property and facilities (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Capital expenditures ¥1.7 billion Consolidated

Audit (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - reporting company ¥31.00 million Consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - total ¥31.00 million Consolidated

Accounts unique to this company (18 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥-6.96 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥-0.1 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.9 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥53.39 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥13.80 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥36.27 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥13.18 million Consolidated
Change in average annual salary from the previous year 2.6% Parent only
Revenue ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.5 billion Parent only

Balance sheet (116 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥45.19 million Consolidated
Other ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Other ¥18.44 million Consolidated
Other ¥60.98 million Consolidated
Other ¥0.11 million Consolidated
Software ¥66.32 million Consolidated
Software in progress ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Work in process ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Retained earnings ¥7.6 billion Consolidated
Prepaid expenses ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Advance payments trade ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Merchandise and finished goods ¥1.0 billion Consolidated
Non-current liabilities ¥2.1 billion Consolidated
Non-current assets ¥4.2 billion Consolidated
Land ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Accounts receivable - trade ¥1.9 billion Consolidated
Contract liabilities ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Tools, furniture and fixtures ¥60.87 million Consolidated
Buildings, net ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Construction in progress ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Provision for directors' retirement benefits ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Investments and other assets ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Lease and guarantee deposits ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Property, plant and equipment ¥3.3 billion Consolidated
Income taxes refund receivable ¥37.65 million Consolidated
Income taxes payable ¥28.23 million Consolidated
Accrued consumption taxes ¥0.63 million Consolidated
Accrued expenses ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Accounts payable - other ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Shareholders' equity ¥8.3 billion Consolidated
Provision for stocks payment-NCL ¥25.72 million Consolidated
Current liabilities ¥2.5 billion Consolidated
Current assets ¥8.6 billion Consolidated
Accumulated depreciation ¥-11.6 billion Consolidated
Foreign currency translation adjustment ¥37.41 million Consolidated
Intangible assets ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥2.0 billion Consolidated
Cash and deposits ¥4.1 billion Consolidated
Short-term loans payable ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥8.3 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥8.3 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥12.9 billion Consolidated
Deferred tax assets ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Treasury stock ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥37.41 million Consolidated
Liabilities ¥4.6 billion Consolidated
Liabilities and net assets ¥12.9 billion Consolidated
Supplies ¥5.72 million Consolidated
Accounts payable - trade ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Capital surplus ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Capital stock ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Asset retirement obligations ¥21.50 million Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥60.66 million Consolidated
Net defined benefit liability ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Long-term loans payable ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Deposits received ¥53.12 million Consolidated
Current portion of long-term loans payable ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Other ¥45.19 million Parent only
Other ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Other ¥18.44 million Parent only
Other ¥60.82 million Parent only
Other ¥0.11 million Parent only
Software ¥66.32 million Parent only
Software in progress ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Work in process ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Investments in capital ¥12.33 million Parent only
Retained earnings ¥7.6 billion Parent only
Legal retained earnings ¥5.55 million Parent only
Prepaid expenses ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Advance payments trade ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Merchandise and finished goods ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Non-current liabilities ¥2.1 billion Parent only
Non-current assets ¥4.5 billion Parent only
Land ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable - trade ¥2.3 billion Parent only
Contract liabilities ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Tools, furniture and fixtures ¥57.25 million Parent only
Buildings, net ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Construction in progress ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Provision for directors' retirement benefits ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Investments and other assets ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Lease and guarantee deposits ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥3.3 billion Parent only
Income taxes refund receivable ¥37.65 million Parent only
Accrued expenses ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥8.2 billion Parent only
Provision for stocks payment-NCL ¥25.72 million Parent only
Current liabilities ¥2.4 billion Parent only
Current assets ¥8.1 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Cash and deposits ¥3.2 billion Parent only
Short-term loans payable ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥8.2 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥8.2 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥12.6 billion Parent only
Deferred tax assets ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥7.6 billion Parent only
Treasury stock ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥4.4 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥12.6 billion Parent only
Supplies ¥5.72 million Parent only
Accounts payable - trade ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Capital surplus ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Legal capital surplus ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Asset retirement obligations ¥21.50 million Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥60.66 million Parent only
Provision for retirement benefits ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Long-term loans payable ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Long-term prepaid expenses ¥5.33 million Parent only
Investments in capital of subsidiaries and affiliates ¥27.00 million Parent only
Shares of subsidiaries and associates ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Long-term loans receivable from subsidiaries and affiliates ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Deposits received ¥52.84 million Parent only
Current portion of long-term loans payable ¥0.4 billion Parent only

Statement of income (72 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥8.02 million Consolidated
Other ¥0.79 million Consolidated
Other comprehensive income ¥37.12 million Consolidated
Dividends from surplus ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Interest and dividend income ¥6.96 million Consolidated
Operating income ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Non-operating income ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Non-operating expenses ¥35.09 million Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥3.0 billion Consolidated
Cost of sales ¥11.7 billion Consolidated
Gross profit (loss) ¥5.1 billion Consolidated
Net sales ¥16.8 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-1.9 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥34.31 million Consolidated
Increases in cash and cash equivalents from newly consolidated subsidiaries ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Income taxes - current ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Income taxes ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Income taxes - deferred ¥-7.70 million Consolidated
Depreciation ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Foreign exchange gains ¥98.78 million Consolidated
Foreign currency translation adjustment net of tax ¥37.12 million Consolidated
Extraordinary loss ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Effect of exchange rate change on cash and cash equivalents ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents ¥45.04 million Consolidated
Research and development expenses ¥67.35 million Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Disposal of treasury stock ¥25.92 million Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to owners of parent ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-1.1 billion Consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥4.3 billion Consolidated
Loss on valuation of investments in capital of subsidiaries and associates ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Other ¥7.86 million Parent only
Other ¥0.79 million Parent only
Dividends from surplus ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Interest and dividend income ¥10.35 million Parent only
Total ¥12.7 billion Parent only
Ending merchandise and finished goods ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Beginning merchandise and finished goods ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Operating income ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Non-operating income ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Non-operating expenses ¥35.09 million Parent only
Cost of sales ¥11.7 billion Parent only
Gross profit (loss) ¥4.8 billion Parent only
Net sales ¥16.5 billion Parent only
Cost of purchased goods ¥1.6 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Cost of products manufactured ¥9.7 billion Parent only
Provision for directors' retirement benefits ¥13.18 million Parent only
Interest expenses ¥34.31 million Parent only
Provision for dividend ¥13.80 million Parent only
Income taxes - current ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes - deferred ¥-9.81 million Parent only
Depreciation ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Foreign exchange gains ¥85.50 million Parent only
Extraordinary loss ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Payrolls and allowances-SGA ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Disposal of treasury stock ¥25.92 million Parent only
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥4.1 billion Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥53.39 million Parent only
Retirement benefit expenses ¥36.27 million Parent only
Loss on valuation of investments in capital of subsidiaries and associates ¥0.1 billion Parent only

Statement of changes in equity (3 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥37.12 million Consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥0.2 billion Parent only

Statement of cash flows (28 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥-83.98 million Consolidated
Other ¥-3.65 million Consolidated
Increase decrease in notes and accounts payable trade ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses paid ¥-34.31 million Consolidated
Interest and dividends income received ¥4.83 million Consolidated
Decrease (increase) in prepaid expenses ¥-0.1 billion Consolidated
Decrease (increase) in advance payments to suppliers ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Decrease increase in notes and accounts receivable trade ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in contract liabilities ¥24.87 million Consolidated
Proceeds from withdrawal of time deposits ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Payments into time deposits ¥-2.6 billion Consolidated
Subtotal ¥3.5 billion Consolidated
Increase decrease in provision for directors retirement benefits ¥13.18 million Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥34.31 million Consolidated
Purchase of property plant and equipment ¥-1.7 billion Consolidated
Decrease in consumption taxes payable ¥-24.97 million Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in provision for share awards ¥7.32 million Consolidated
Decrease (increase) in inventories ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Income taxes paid ¥-0.5 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Foreign exchange loss (gain) ¥-46.59 million Consolidated
Purchase of intangible assets ¥-27.72 million Consolidated
Decrease in short term loans payable ¥-0.6 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in provision for bonuses ¥7.24 million Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in net defined benefit liability ¥22.63 million Consolidated
Dividends ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from long term loans payable ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Repayment of long term loans payable ¥-0.5 billion Consolidated
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥3.0 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Dividend per share 45 Parent onlyDisclosed
Number of employees 209 ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net assets ¥8.3 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net sales ¥16.8 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating income ¥0.8 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥0.8 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net income ¥0.5 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Total assets ¥12.9 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating margin 4.6%ConsolidatedCalculated
Net margin 3.0%ConsolidatedCalculated
Sales per employee 80273617 yenConsolidatedCalculated
Total asset turnover 1.3 timesConsolidatedCalculated
Net assets to total assets 64.4%ConsolidatedCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Operating margin 4.6% Operating income ÷ net sales  = ¥0.8 billion ÷ ¥16.8 billion
    Operating income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net margin 3% Net income ÷ net sales  = ¥0.5 billion ÷ ¥16.8 billion
    Net income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Sales per employee 80,273,617 yen Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees  = ¥16.8 billion ÷ 209 people
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees. The denominator is Number of employees (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Total asset turnover 1.3 times Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets  = ¥16.8 billion ÷ ¥12.9 billion
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net assets to total assets 64.4% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥8.3 billion ÷ ¥12.9 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).

Company details

  • Representative President, Representative Director, gBizINFO
  • Consolidated subsidiaries Annual Securities Report

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Selling, general and administrative expenses

  • Breakdown of selling, general and administrative expenses (costs of selling and running the company). Cost of sales not included
  • Each item: already inside the SG&A total (not added to it)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Return on assets (ROA) Net income ÷ total assets (consolidated)
  • Net assets per share Consolidated
  • Free cash flow Free cash flow: operating cash flow (cash generated by the business) plus investing cash flow (asset purchases, disposals and other investments), consolidated
  • Total assets Consolidated

Capital allocation

  • ★: position when all companies are sorted by value and cut into fifths (a position, not a rating). The five items with ★: only where both numerator and denominator are available on a consolidated basisSee the formulas
  • Cash conversion Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ÷ operating income
  • Increase in working capital (increase in trade receivables + increase in inventories) ÷ net sales (or operating revenue)。Trade receivables down ¥0.5 billion + inventories down ¥0.5 billion, over net sales ¥16.8 billion
  • Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation Purchase of property, plant and equipment ÷ depreciation。Purchase of property, plant and equipment ¥1.7 billion, over depreciation ¥1.5 billion
  • Return to shareholders (dividends paid + purchase of treasury stock) ÷ net cash provided by operating activities。Dividends paid ¥0.3 billion (no treasury stock purchase disclosed), over operating cash flow ¥3.0 billion

Long-term changes in performance

  • Revenue Disclosed value for 2026 ÷ disclosed value for 2016

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Dividend history

  • Payout ratio: dividends as a proportion of net profit. Dividend amounts and payout ratios: the reporting company’s parent-only disclosed values (as written in the annual securities report, not recalculated from consolidated profit). Consecutive increases: years in a row, from the latest backwards, in which the annual dividend per share rose. Consecutive years with a dividend: years in a row with an annual dividend per share above zero. Both this site’s own count (not the criteria of any published index). A year with no disclosure not read as zero; counting stops there. Range limited to the years listed above. Flagged 2 years: a note about a stock split or share consolidation, or a period other than 12 months. No calculation across those years, as the dividend per share may rest on a different share base.

Share ownership by holder category

  • Source: ownership table, annual securities report. Percentages as disclosed, calculated on trading units (some companies do not total exactly 100%). Foreign holders (total): institutions and individuals combined. “Individuals and others”: a register category (not necessarily the share actually held by individuals). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Other Products that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

  • Research and development: total in the R&D section of the annual securities report. Capital expenditure: this year’s actual spending in the capital expenditure overview (not a plan). Years: only those available in the annual securities reports on hand (one to four per company); no row for other years. Share of revenue: divided by consolidated revenue in the same annual securities report. Industry median: the middle value among companies in Other Products that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Revenue scale in the same industry

  • Revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry, using the same grouping as the industry pages. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Bar length relative to the largest company (100). An order of size, not a ranking of quality

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Employees across the consolidated group: 209 (a different scope, kept apart from the four above). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Other Products that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

People and organisation

  • Sales per employee Net sales (or operating revenue) ÷ employees
  • Operating income per employee Operating income ÷ employees
  • Wage gap between men and women Women's pay with men's pay set to 100, reporting company
  • Women in managerial positions Reporting company (parent only)
  • Average length of service by gender gBizINFO, covering 正社員
  • Female managers gBizINFO: 9 women among 42 managers
  • Female officers gBizINFO: 1 women among 9 officers
  • Average temporary staff Consolidated, average headcount other than regular employees

Workplace information filings

  • Source: processed from Shokuba-labo, the workplace information site of the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. Items the company filed only Shokuba-labo

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of KOTOBUKIYA CO., LTD. on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 7012801000492 / Accounting standard: Japanese GAAP

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork