Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

MATSUYA

MATSUYA CO., LTD.

Company highlights

The largest segment by revenue is Department, at 86.6% of the total.

Key figures

Period Mar 2025 to Feb 2026ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP

RevenueDisclosed ¥45.7B
Operating marginCalculated 5.8%
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 36.1%

Company profile

Securities code 8237 / EDINET code E03017 / Retail Trade / Fiscal year end end of February

中央区銀座三丁目6番1号/Capital stock ¥7,132 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Official website: http://www.matsuya.com/
Official website: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry).

Company details
古屋毅彦 Representative
3/1/1919 Date of incorporation
9 Consolidated subsidiaries

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Mar 2025 to Feb 2026) · filed 2026-05-27

Profitability ★★★☆☆position among all companies 5.8%
Growth (revenue, 4-year average) ★☆☆☆☆position among all companies -8.4%
Capital efficiency ★★★☆☆position among all companies 8.0%

Business activities and revenue composition

MATSUYA

Revenue and profit by business segment

Period Mar 2025 to Feb 2026Source Annual securities reportsConsolidated・Disclosed

SalesProfit DepartmentDepartment Sales 86.6% 87% Profit 92.4% 92% RestaurantRestaurant Sales 8.0% 8% Profit 1.7% 2% Building to…Building total service and advertisement Sales 5.5% 5% Profit 5.9% 6%
BusinessNet sales to external customers Operating income
This yearShareLast year This yearShareMarginLast year
Department ¥37.7 billion 86.6% ¥40.0 billion ¥2.1 billion 92.4% 5.6% ¥4.2 billion
Restaurant ¥3.5 billion 8.0% ¥3.4 billion ¥39.00 million 1.7% 1.1% ¥27.00 million
Building total service and advertisement ¥2.4 billion 5.5% ¥2.7 billion ¥0.1 billion 5.9% 5.7% ¥0.1 billion
Total of the businesses ¥43.5 billion100.0% ¥2.3 billion 100.0%

Revenue and profit

MATSUYA

Period Mar 2025 to Feb 2026Source Annual securities reports

Net sales and operating revenue ¥45.7B 100% Cost of sales ¥20.9B 46% Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥22.2B 49% Operating income ¥2.6B 6%
Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses Other ¥7.6 billion Consolidated
Directors compensations salaries and allowances ¥6.1 billion Consolidated
Rent expenses ¥2.7 billion Consolidated
Commission fees ¥2.0 billion Consolidated
Taxes and dues ¥2.0 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥1.3 billion Consolidated
Advertising expenses ¥1.2 billion Consolidated
Bonuses ¥1.0 billion Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Retirement benefit expenses ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Amortization of goodwill ¥90.00 million Consolidated
Profit by stage Gross profit (loss) ¥24.8 billion Consolidated
Operating income ¥2.6 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income ¥2.6 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥2.2 billion Consolidated

MATSUYA

Selling, general and administrative expenses

Period Mar 2025 to Feb 2026Source Annual securities reports

Other ¥7.6 billion (34.2%)34%Directors compensations salaries and allowances ¥6.1 billion (27.3%)27%Rent expenses ¥2.7 billion (12.0%)12%Commission fees ¥2.0 billion (9.2%)9%Taxes and dues ¥2.0 billion (8.9%)9%Depreciation ¥1.3 billion (5.9%)Other (not itemized) ¥0.5 billion (2.4%)¥22.2B
  • Other ¥7.6 billion
  • Directors compensations salaries and allowances ¥6.1 billion
  • Rent expenses ¥2.7 billion
  • Commission fees ¥2.0 billion
  • Taxes and dues ¥2.0 billion
  • Depreciation ¥1.3 billion
  • Other (not itemized) ¥0.5 billion

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
36.1% Net assets to total assets Industry median 45.6% FY ending 2/2026 · consolidated / calculated
2.9% Return on assets (ROA)
¥524.98 Net assets per share
¥4.9 billion Free cash flow
¥76.1 billion Total assets
Capital allocation
178.1% Cash conversion Industry median 121.9% FY ending 2/2026 · consolidated / calculated
0.2% Increase in working capital ★★★☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 2/2026 · consolidated / calculated
87.1% Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation ★★★☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 2/2026 · consolidated / calculated
101.5% Return to shareholders ★★★★★ position among all companies FY ending 2/2026 · consolidated / calculated
43.7% Extraordinary gains and losses relative to ordinary profit ★★★★★ position among all companies FY ending 2/2026 · consolidated / calculated
36.9% Investment securities to net assets ★★★★★ position among all companies FY ending 2/2026 · consolidated / calculated

Long-term changes in performance

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Revenue ×0.64 from 2013 to 2026

MATSUYA

Long-term revenue, profit and asset trends

Period 2013 to 2026Source Annual securities reportsDisclosed

Mark on the chart
93 61 28 -4 2013 2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 2025 2026 Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income 2021 Net sales year on year -41.3%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -8.6 points, Ordinary income (loss) profit to loss 2022 Net sales year on year +23.3%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +4.3 points 2023 Net sales year on year -47.1%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +4.0 points, Ordinary income (loss) loss to profit 2024 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +6.4 points 2025 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +2.2 points 2026 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -3.6 points 46Latest value 2026 46¥ billion 93Highest in the period shown 2016 93¥ billion 34Lowest in the period shown 2023 34¥ billion ¥ billion

MATSUYA

Recent performance trends

Source Annual securities reports

65 43 20 -2 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income ¥ billion

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Item20222023202420252026
Net sales ¥65.0B ¥34.4B ¥41.3B ¥48.1B ¥45.7B
Year on year (%) +23.3%◆ -47.1%◆ +19.9% +16.7% -5.0%
Ordinary income (loss) -¥2.1B ¥0.3B ¥2.9B ¥4.5B ¥2.6B
Change from prior year 0.53x loss to profit◆ +1,025.7% +51.9% -41.8%
Ordinary income (loss) as a share of Net sales -3.2% 0.8% 7.1% 9.3% 5.7%
Change (percentage points) +4.3 points◆ +4.0 points◆ +6.4 points◆ +2.2 points◆ -3.6 points◆

Fiscal periods marked for changes

Earlier fiscal periods (3)
  • 2021Net sales year on year -41.3%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -8.6 points, Ordinary income (loss) profit to loss
  • 2022Net sales year on year +23.3%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +4.3 points
  • 2023Net sales year on year -47.1%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +4.0 points, Ordinary income (loss) loss to profit
  • 2024Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +6.4 points
  • 2025Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +2.2 points
  • 2026Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -3.6 points

MATSUYA

Earnings and net assets per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

83 55 28 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Earnings per share yen 533 355 178 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net assets per share yen

MATSUYA

Return on equity over time

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

22 15 7 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Return on equity (ROE, %)
Consolidated indicators (14 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Net sales ¥65.0 billion ¥34.4 billion ¥41.3 billion ¥48.1 billion ¥45.7 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥-2.1 billion ¥0.3 billion ¥2.9 billion ¥4.5 billion ¥2.6 billion
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent ¥1.0 billion ¥4.4 billion ¥2.6 billion ¥2.4 billion ¥2.2 billion
Comprehensive income ¥1.0 billion ¥5.0 billion ¥4.2 billion ¥2.9 billion ¥3.2 billion
Net assets ¥18.0 billion ¥22.8 billion ¥26.8 billion ¥29.2 billion ¥27.5 billion
Total assets ¥54.3 billion ¥63.9 billion ¥68.9 billion ¥76.1 billion ¥76.1 billion
Net assets per share 325.05 yen 415.86 yen 489.17 yen 532.71 yen 524.98 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share 18.85 yen 82.62 yen 49.59 yen 44.93 yen 41.94 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 31.8% 34.5% 37.7% 37.1% 35.0%
Return on equity 6.0% 22.3% 11.0% 8.8% 8.0%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-1.2 billion ¥2.4 billion ¥2.3 billion ¥3.1 billion ¥4.7 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥5.4 billion ¥2.5 billion ¥-4.0 billion ¥-5.5 billion ¥0.1 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-4.7 billion ¥-1.0 billion ¥-1.3 billion ¥3.1 billion ¥-4.0 billion
Cash and cash equivalents ¥2.4 billion ¥6.3 billion ¥3.2 billion ¥3.9 billion ¥4.7 billion
Parent only indicators (14 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Net sales ¥59.5 billion ¥27.8 billion ¥34.4 billion ¥40.1 billion ¥37.7 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥-2.0 billion ¥0.2 billion ¥2.8 billion ¥4.6 billion ¥3.4 billion
Net income (loss) ¥0.8 billion ¥3.5 billion ¥2.6 billion ¥3.0 billion ¥1.3 billion
Capital stock ¥7.1 billion ¥7.1 billion ¥7.1 billion ¥7.1 billion ¥7.1 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 53,289,640 shares 53,289,640 shares 53,289,640 shares 53,289,640 shares 53,289,640 shares
Net assets ¥16.1 billion ¥20.1 billion ¥23.8 billion ¥26.3 billion ¥23.4 billion
Total assets ¥52.0 billion ¥61.9 billion ¥68.1 billion ¥75.2 billion ¥73.9 billion
Net assets per share 302.76 yen 379.19 yen 447.1 yen 495.92 yen 460 yen
Dividend per share Could not be retrieved 2.5 yen 10 yen 12 yen 12 yen
Interim dividend per share Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved 2.5 yen 3 yen 6 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share 15.52 yen 65.66 yen 48.19 yen 55.55 yen 24.55 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 30.9% 32.5% 34.9% 35.0% 31.7%
Return on equity 5.3% 19.3% 11.7% 11.8% 5.2%
Payout ratio Could not be retrieved 3.8% 20.7% 21.6% 48.9%

Dividend history

Source: reporting company’s key figures, annual securities reports · 11 years (2014 to 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

0 periods Consecutive increases (own definition) through FY ending 2/2026
4 periods Consecutive periods with dividends (site definition) through FY ending 2/2026
+0.0% Dividend growth (year on year)
Fewer than six years Dividend growth (5-year annual rate)
Fiscal yearAnnual dividend per share Of which interimPayout ratio (as reported, parent only) Flag
FY ending 2/2026 ¥12 ¥6 48.9%
FY ending 2/2025 ¥12 ¥3 21.6%
FY ending 2/2024 ¥10 ¥2.5 20.7%
FY ending 2/2023 ¥2.5 Could not be retrieved 3.8%
FY 2022 Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved
FY 2021 Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved Could not be retrieved
FY ending 2/2020 ¥8 ¥3.5 44.9%
FY ending 2/2019 ¥6 ¥3 20.6%
FY ending 2/2018 ¥6 ¥3 24.6%
FY ending 2/2017 ¥6 ¥3 43.4%
FY ending 2/2016 ¥6 ¥2.5 29.0%
FY ending 2/2015 ¥5 ¥2.5 22.5%
FY ending 2/2014 ¥2.5 Could not be retrieved 10.6%

MATSUYA

Dividends per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

12 8 4 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Dividend per share yen

Shareholder composition

As of 2026-02-28Disclosed

Share ownership by holder category

11,270 Shareholders
16.52% Foreign holders (total) Industry median 3.60%
21.14% Individuals and others Industry median 50.90%

MATSUYA

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

  • Financial institutions26.11%
  • Securities firms2.68%
  • Other corporations33.54%
  • Foreign holders (institutions)16.51%
  • Foreign holders (individuals)0.01%
  • Individuals and others21.14%
  • Government and municipalities0.00%

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 日本マスタートラスト信託銀行㈱(信託口) 6.61% 3,360,000
2 松屋取引先持株会 5.51% 2,801,000
3 ㈱三菱UFJ銀行 4.89% 2,483,000
4 東武鉄道㈱ 4.74% 2,411,000
5 東武シェアードサービス㈱ 4.61% 2,345,000
6 ㈱みずほ銀行(常任代理人 ㈱日本カストディ銀行) 3.9% 1,983,000
7 松岡地所㈱ 3.04% 1,544,000
8 ㈱オンワードホールディングス 2.64% 1,341,000
9 ㈱日本カストディ銀行(信託口) 2.59% 1,317,000
10 三菱UFJ信託銀行㈱ 1.97% 1,000,000

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

Source: R&D and capital expenditure sections, annual securities reports · 2 years (2021 to 2026)Disclosed

Not disclosed Research and development
¥1.5 billion Capital expenditure 3.4% of revenue (industry median 3.4%)
Fiscal year Capital expenditure
FY ending 2/2026 ¥1.5 billion
FY ending 2/2021 ¥1.5 billion

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure by segment (FY ending 2/2026)

Segment Capital expenditure
Department ¥1.5 billion
Building total service and advertisement ¥38.00 million

Revenue scale in the same industry

MATSUYA

Source Annual securities reports of each company

Retail Trade: 343 companies · revenue · largest first・each company’s latest fiscal year・Consolidated・Disclosed

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Mar 2025 to Feb 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

561 Employees (parent only) Industry median 226
47.5 Average age Industry median 41.8
21.9 years Average length of service Industry median 10.9 years
¥7.32 million Average annual salary Industry median ¥5.46 million
People and organisation
52.5¥ million Sales per employee Industry median 59.6¥ million FY ending 2/2026 · consolidated / calculated
¥3.03 million Operating income per employee
58.7% Wage gap between men and women
73.9% Share of female employees
100.0% Men taking childcare leave
Men 22.6 yrs
Women 21.3 yrs
Average length of service by gender
17 / 109 Female managers
3 / 13 Female officers
475 Average temporary staff

Administrative filings and published information

Workplace information filings

Filed 2026-05-28Disclosed

ItemValue
Employees 818
Childcare leave taken, men
Scope: 正社員
100%
Childcare leave taken, women
Scope: 正社員
100%
Share of managers who are women 15.6%
Share of board members who are women 23.1%

Greenhouse gas emissions

Reported to the government for fiscal 2023Disclosed

CategoryEmissions
特定事業所排出者8,086 t-CO2
Sites covered by the report1

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2026-02-28Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm 太陽有限責任監査法人
Audit fees (this year, total) ¥33.00 million
Non-audit fees (this year, total) Not applicable
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard Japanese GAAP

Ad: Amazon Associates links (the operator may earn a referral fee) · books by the site operator

Books that cover companies in the same industry

This company: not covered in the books below

Cover of “Kaisha no Shikumi: Raising Prices” Same industry: Retail Trade “Kaisha no Shikumi: Raising Prices” Reads the filings of restaurant, clothing and household goods chains for how price increases relate to customer numbers. Retail Trade companies in this book: saizeriya, FOOD & LIFE COMPANIES, FAST RETAILING and others (6 in all) “Ano Kaisha no Shikumi” series, Vol.2 — Kindle and paperback Find it on Amazon → Cover of “Kaisha no Shikumi: Earning Beyond the Till” Same industry: Retail Trade “Kaisha no Shikumi: Earning Beyond the Till” Reads the filings of supermarkets, department stores and drugstores for money received under headings other than product sales, such as finance and rent. Retail Trade companies in this book: AEON, TSURUHA, Takashimaya and others (5 in all) “Ano Kaisha no Shikumi” series, Vol.5 — Kindle and paperback Find it on Amazon →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Major management indicators (5 years) (28 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥3.2 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥4.7 billion Consolidated
Net sales ¥45.7 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥4.7 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥27.5 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income (loss) ¥2.6 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥76.1 billion Consolidated
Return on equity 8.0% Consolidated
Equity-to-asset ratio 35.0% Consolidated
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-4.0 billion Consolidated
Basic earnings (loss) per share 41.94 yen Consolidated
Net assets per share 524.98 yen Consolidated
Dividend per share 12 yen Parent only
Net sales ¥37.7 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥1.3 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 53,289,640 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥23.4 billion Parent only
Ordinary income (loss) ¥3.4 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥73.9 billion Parent only
Return on equity 5.2% Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 31.7% Parent only
Capital stock ¥7.1 billion Parent only
Payout ratio 48.9% Parent only
Interim dividend per share 6 yen Parent only
Basic earnings (loss) per share 24.55 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 460 yen Parent only

Employees (10 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of employees 871 people Consolidated
Number of employees 871 people Consolidated
Wage gap between men and women (all employees) 58.7% Parent only
Average length of service (years) 21.9 years Parent only
Average annual salary ¥7.32 million Parent only
Average age (years) 47.5 years old Parent only
Number of employees 561 people Parent only
Number of employees 561 people Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (regular employees) 73.4% Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (non-regular employees) 63.6% Parent only

Other disclosed items (11 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Net sales to external customers ¥45.7 billion Consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 475 people Consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 475 people Consolidated
Number of associates accounted for using equity method 2 companies Consolidated
Increase in property plant and equipment and intangible assets ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥1.4 billion Consolidated
Number of consolidated subsidiaries 9 companies Consolidated
Rate of male employees taking childcare leave (all employees) 100.0% Parent only
Average number of temporary employees 286 people Parent only
Average number of temporary employees 286 people Parent only
Total return on the share price index 238.4% Parent only

Shares (16 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of shares held 20,587,000 shares Consolidated
Total number of shares held treasury shares etc 2,605,400 shares Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares increased shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 1 issues Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares decreased shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 4 issues Consolidated
Total acquisition cost for increased shares shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company ¥6.00 million Consolidated
Total sale amount for decreased shares shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Number of shares 53,289,640 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio treasury shares etc 4.9% Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 40.5% Consolidated
Number of shares held in own name treasury shares etc 2,605,400 shares Consolidated
Number of voting rights 506,693 units Consolidated
Carrying amount on the balance sheet ¥95.00 million Consolidated
Carrying amount on the balance sheet ¥8.0 billion Consolidated
Number of issues 10 issues Consolidated
Number of issues 22 issues Consolidated
Total shareholder return 274.6% Parent only

Property and facilities (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Capital expenditures ¥1.5 billion Consolidated

Audit (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - reporting company ¥33.00 million Consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - total ¥33.00 million Consolidated

Balance sheet (146 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥86.00 million Consolidated
Other ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Other ¥2.9 billion Consolidated
Other ¥2.5 billion Consolidated
Other ¥3.6 billion Consolidated
Other ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥5.1 billion Consolidated
Other, net ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Software ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Lease obligations ¥4.00 million Consolidated
Lease obligations ¥11.00 million Consolidated
Leasehold right ¥9.5 billion Consolidated
Retained earnings ¥13.0 billion Consolidated
Raw materials and supplies ¥37.00 million Consolidated
Guarantee deposits received ¥2.1 billion Consolidated
Notes and accounts receivable trade ¥7.5 billion Consolidated
Merchandise ¥1.8 billion Consolidated
Gift certificates ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Non-current liabilities ¥17.1 billion Consolidated
Non-current assets ¥58.4 billion Consolidated
Land ¥24.9 billion Consolidated
Contract liabilities ¥3.0 billion Consolidated
Guarantee deposits ¥2.0 billion Consolidated
Provision for loss on store closing ¥28.00 million Consolidated
Buildings and structures ¥42.0 billion Consolidated
Buildings and structures, net ¥10.0 billion Consolidated
Construction in progress ¥55.00 million Consolidated
Investments and other assets ¥13.0 billion Consolidated
Investment securities ¥10.1 billion Consolidated
Notes and accounts payable - trade ¥10.6 billion Consolidated
Property, plant and equipment ¥35.3 billion Consolidated
Costs on uncompleted construction contracts ¥30.00 million Consolidated
Costs on uncompleted services ¥13.00 million Consolidated
Income taxes payable ¥1.3 billion Consolidated
Accounts payable - other ¥1.4 billion Consolidated
Shareholders' equity ¥21.3 billion Consolidated
Provision for stocks payment-NCL ¥61.00 million Consolidated
Inventories ¥1.9 billion Consolidated
Current liabilities ¥31.6 billion Consolidated
Current assets ¥17.8 billion Consolidated
Accumulated depreciation ¥-2.5 billion Consolidated
Accumulated depreciation ¥-32.0 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets ¥10.1 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥4.7 billion Consolidated
Cash and deposits ¥4.7 billion Consolidated
Provision for environmental measures ¥13.00 million Consolidated
Short-term loans payable ¥11.5 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥27.5 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥27.5 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥76.1 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥76.1 billion Consolidated
Deferred tax liabilities ¥2.7 billion Consolidated
Deferred tax assets ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Treasury stock ¥-4.3 billion Consolidated
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥5.3 billion Consolidated
Liabilities ¥48.7 billion Consolidated
Liabilities and net assets ¥76.1 billion Consolidated
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-58.00 million Consolidated
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-2.00 million Consolidated
Capital surplus ¥5.5 billion Consolidated
Capital stock ¥7.1 billion Consolidated
Asset retirement obligations ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Remeasurements of defined benefit plans ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Net defined benefit liability ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Net defined benefit asset ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Long-term loans payable ¥11.2 billion Consolidated
Non-controlling interests ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Other ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Other ¥1.00 million Parent only
Other ¥3.0 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥4.5 billion Parent only
Other capital surplus ¥1.9 billion Parent only
Software ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Lease obligations ¥4.00 million Parent only
Lease obligations ¥11.00 million Parent only
Lease assets ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Lease assets, net ¥14.00 million Parent only
Leasehold right ¥9.5 billion Parent only
Investments in capital ¥0 Parent only
Retained earnings ¥10.4 billion Parent only
Prepaid expenses ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Advance payments trade ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Guarantee deposits received ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Merchandise ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Gift certificates ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Non-current liabilities ¥15.6 billion Parent only
Non-current assets ¥60.0 billion Parent only
Reserve for advanced depreciation of noncurrent assets ¥2.0 billion Parent only
Land ¥24.5 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable - trade ¥7.1 billion Parent only
Contract liabilities ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Guarantee deposits ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Buildings ¥41.8 billion Parent only
Buildings, net ¥9.9 billion Parent only
Construction in progress ¥55.00 million Parent only
Investments and other assets ¥15.2 billion Parent only
Investment securities ¥8.2 billion Parent only
Lease deposits ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥34.7 billion Parent only
Income taxes payable ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Accrued expenses ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥1.4 billion Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥18.8 billion Parent only
Provision for stocks payment-NCL ¥61.00 million Parent only
Current liabilities ¥34.9 billion Parent only
Current assets ¥13.9 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-0.5 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-32.0 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-2.00 million Parent only
Intangible assets ¥10.1 billion Parent only
Cash and deposits ¥1.3 billion Parent only
Provision for environmental measures ¥13.00 million Parent only
Short-term loans payable ¥17.1 billion Parent only
Claims provable in bankruptcy claims provable in rehabilitation and other ¥58.00 million Parent only
Net assets ¥23.4 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥23.4 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥73.9 billion Parent only
Deferred tax liabilities ¥2.1 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥8.3 billion Parent only
Treasury stock ¥-4.2 billion Parent only
Notes payable facilities ¥23.00 million Parent only
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥4.5 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥50.5 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥73.9 billion Parent only
Supplies ¥27.00 million Parent only
Accounts payable - trade ¥10.0 billion Parent only
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-3.6 billion Parent only
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-0 Parent only
Capital surplus ¥5.6 billion Parent only
Legal capital surplus ¥3.7 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥7.1 billion Parent only
Asset retirement obligations ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Vehicle and delivery equipment ¥2.00 million Parent only
Vehicles, net ¥0 Parent only
Provision for retirement benefits ¥49.00 million Parent only
Long-term loans payable ¥11.2 billion Parent only
Long-term prepaid expenses ¥17.00 million Parent only
Long term accounts payable other ¥67.00 million Parent only
Shares of subsidiaries and associates ¥3.8 billion Parent only
Loans receivable to subsidiaries and affiliates ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Long-term loans receivable from subsidiaries and affiliates ¥4.5 billion Parent only
Deposits received ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Current portion of long-term loans payable ¥1.6 billion Parent only

Accounts unique to this company (16 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥94.00 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥2.00 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥11.00 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥-0.1 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥7.00 million Consolidated
Revenue ¥-0.5 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥1.7 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥-1.4 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥94.00 million Parent only
Revenue ¥0.1 billion Parent only

Statement of income (102 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥55.00 million Consolidated
Other ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Other ¥6.00 million Consolidated
Other ¥7.6 billion Consolidated
Other comprehensive income ¥0.9 billion Consolidated
Valuation difference on available for sale securities net of tax ¥0.9 billion Consolidated
Amortization of goodwill ¥90.00 million Consolidated
Gain on adjustment of account payable ¥85.00 million Consolidated
Dividends from surplus ¥-0.8 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥3.2 billion Consolidated
Interest income ¥8.00 million Consolidated
Dividend income ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Operating income ¥2.6 billion Consolidated
Operating income ¥2.6 billion Consolidated
Non-operating income ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Non-operating expenses ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥4.7 billion Consolidated
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥57.00 million Consolidated
Cost of sales ¥20.9 billion Consolidated
Gross profit (loss) ¥24.8 billion Consolidated
Net sales ¥45.7 billion Consolidated
Net sales ¥45.7 billion Consolidated
Advertising expenses ¥1.2 billion Consolidated
Reversal of provision for loss on store closings ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥2.3 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥2.3 billion Consolidated
Directors compensations salaries and allowances ¥6.1 billion Consolidated
Gain on sales of investment securities ¥1.8 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Share of loss of investments accounted for using equity method ¥16.00 million Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Commission fees ¥2.0 billion Consolidated
Income taxes - current ¥1.4 billion Consolidated
Income taxes ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Income taxes - deferred ¥60.00 million Consolidated
Depreciation ¥1.3 billion Consolidated
Impairment loss ¥1.0 billion Consolidated
Impairment loss ¥1.0 billion Consolidated
Extraordinary income ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Extraordinary loss ¥1.1 billion Consolidated
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥3.7 billion Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥3.7 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income ¥2.6 billion Consolidated
Purchase of treasury stock ¥-4.0 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to owners of parent ¥3.1 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-4.0 billion Consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥22.2 billion Consolidated
Rent expenses ¥2.7 billion Consolidated
Bonuses ¥1.0 billion Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Remeasurements of defined benefit plans net of tax ¥68.00 million Consolidated
Retirement benefit expenses ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Changes in equity of parent from transaction of non controlling interest ¥48.00 million Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to non-controlling interests ¥83.00 million Consolidated
Net income (loss) attributable to non-controlling interests ¥83.00 million Consolidated
Other ¥36.00 million Parent only
Other ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Other ¥6.00 million Parent only
Other ¥5.7 billion Parent only
Gain on adjustment of account payable ¥85.00 million Parent only
Dividends from surplus ¥-0.8 billion Parent only
Interest income ¥45.00 million Parent only
Rent income ¥37.00 million Parent only
Dividend income ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Total ¥17.4 billion Parent only
Ending goods ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Beginning goods ¥1.7 billion Parent only
Operating income ¥3.1 billion Parent only
Non-operating income ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Non-operating expenses ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥62.00 million Parent only
Cost of sales ¥15.9 billion Parent only
Gross profit (loss) ¥21.8 billion Parent only
Net sales ¥37.7 billion Parent only
Loss on valuation of shares of subsidiaries ¥43.00 million Parent only
Cost of purchased goods ¥15.7 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥1.3 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥1.3 billion Parent only
Directors compensations salaries and allowances ¥4.2 billion Parent only
Gain on sales of investment securities ¥1.8 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Commission fees ¥2.0 billion Parent only
Income taxes - current ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes ¥1.4 billion Parent only
Income taxes - deferred ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Extraordinary income ¥1.9 billion Parent only
Extraordinary loss ¥2.7 billion Parent only
Taxes and dues ¥2.0 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥2.7 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥3.4 billion Parent only
Purchase of treasury stock ¥-4.0 billion Parent only
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥18.7 billion Parent only
Reversal of allowance for doubtful accounts ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Provision of allowance for doubtful accounts ¥2.6 billion Parent only
Rent expenses ¥2.5 billion Parent only
Bonuses ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Retirement benefit expenses ¥83.00 million Parent only

Statement of changes in equity (4 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥-1.7 billion Consolidated
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥-3.0 billion Parent only
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥0.5 billion Parent only

Statement of cash flows (34 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Other ¥-67.00 million Consolidated
Other ¥-26.00 million Consolidated
Amortization of goodwill ¥90.00 million Consolidated
Increase decrease in notes and accounts payable trade ¥-0.9 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses paid ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Interest and dividends income received ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Interest and dividend income ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥57.00 million Consolidated
Decrease increase in notes and accounts receivable trade ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Subtotal ¥6.2 billion Consolidated
Increase decrease in provision for loss on store closing ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Purchase of investment securities ¥-9.00 million Consolidated
Proceeds from sales of investment securities ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Loss (gain) on sales of long-term investment securities ¥-1.8 billion Consolidated
Equity in earnings losses of affiliates ¥16.00 million Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Purchase of property plant and equipment ¥-1.2 billion Consolidated
(Increase)/decrease in consumption tax/value-added tax receivables ¥1.7 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in accounts payable-other ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in provision for share awards ¥61.00 million Consolidated
Decrease (increase) in inventories ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Income taxes refund (paid) ¥-1.5 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥1.4 billion Consolidated
Impairment loss ¥1.0 billion Consolidated
Purchase of intangible assets ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Decrease/increase in short-term loans payable ¥1.00 million Consolidated
Regarding purchase of treasury stock ¥-4.0 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-16.00 million Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in provision for bonuses ¥18.00 million Consolidated
Payments from changes in ownership interests in subsidiaries that do not result in change in scope of consolidation ¥-0.1 billion Consolidated
Dividends ¥-0.8 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from long term loans payable ¥8.5 billion Consolidated
Repayment of long term loans payable ¥-7.6 billion Consolidated
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥4.7 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Dividend per share 12 Parent onlyDisclosed
Number of employees 871 ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net assets ¥27.5 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net sales ¥45.7 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating income ¥2.6 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥2.6 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net income ¥2.2 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Total assets ¥76.1 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating margin 5.8%ConsolidatedCalculated
Net margin 4.8%ConsolidatedCalculated
Sales per employee 52475316 yenConsolidatedCalculated
Total asset turnover 0.6 timesConsolidatedCalculated
Net assets to total assets 36.1%ConsolidatedCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Operating margin 5.8% Operating income ÷ net sales  = ¥2.6 billion ÷ ¥45.7 billion
    Operating income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net margin 4.8% Net income ÷ net sales  = ¥2.2 billion ÷ ¥45.7 billion
    Net income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Sales per employee 52,475,316 yen Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees  = ¥45.7 billion ÷ 871 people
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees. The denominator is Number of employees (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Total asset turnover 0.6 times Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets  = ¥45.7 billion ÷ ¥76.1 billion
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net assets to total assets 36.1% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥27.5 billion ÷ ¥76.1 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).

Company details

  • Representative President and Executive Officer, Representative Director, gBizINFO
  • Date of incorporation gBizINFO · 107 years since incorporation
  • Consolidated subsidiaries Annual Securities Report

Revenue and profit by business segment

  • Source: segment information, Annual Securities Report (Mar 2025 to Feb 2026) · Consolidated · Net sales to external customers · filed 2026-05-27
  • Share: against the total of Net sales to external customers disclosed by business (100%). Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out as they are not businesses (so no match with company-wide Net sales to external customers). Margin: calculated against the Net sales to external customers on the same row“報告セグメント計” in the segment information of the annual securities report: ¥43.5 billion. Gap against this table’s total (the part not listed as a business, such as “other”) within 1%The account may differ from “Revenue” at the top of this page

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Selling, general and administrative expenses

  • Breakdown of selling, general and administrative expenses (costs of selling and running the company). Cost of sales not included
  • Each item: already inside the SG&A total (not added to it)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Return on assets (ROA) Net income ÷ total assets (consolidated)
  • Net assets per share Consolidated
  • Free cash flow Free cash flow: operating cash flow (cash generated by the business) plus investing cash flow (asset purchases, disposals and other investments), consolidated
  • Total assets Consolidated

Capital allocation

  • ★: position when all companies are sorted by value and cut into fifths (a position, not a rating). The five items with ★: only where both numerator and denominator are available on a consolidated basisSee the formulas
  • Cash conversion Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ÷ operating income
  • Increase in working capital (increase in trade receivables + increase in inventories) ÷ net sales (or operating revenue)。Trade receivables up ¥0.3 billion + inventories down ¥0.2 billion, over net sales ¥45.7 billion
  • Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation Purchase of property, plant and equipment ÷ depreciation。Purchase of property, plant and equipment ¥1.2 billion, over depreciation ¥1.4 billion
  • Return to shareholders (dividends paid + purchase of treasury stock) ÷ net cash provided by operating activities。Dividends paid ¥0.8 billion + purchase of treasury stock ¥4.0 billion, over operating cash flow ¥4.7 billion
  • Extraordinary gains and losses relative to ordinary profit (extraordinary income − extraordinary loss) ÷ ordinary income。Extraordinary income ¥2.2 billion − extraordinary loss ¥1.1 billion, over ordinary income ¥2.6 billion
  • Investment securities to net assets Investment securities ÷ net assets。Investment securities ¥10.1 billion, over net assets ¥27.5 billion

Long-term changes in performance

  • Revenue Disclosed value for 2026 ÷ disclosed value for 2013

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Earnings and net assets per share over time

  • Earnings per share = net profit ÷ shares; net assets per share = net assets ÷ shares. Disclosed values from the key financial indicators of the annual securities report. No share prices used

Return on equity over time

  • Return on equity (ROE): net profit as a proportion of equity. For Japanese companies, the disclosed value in the key financial indicators of the annual securities report (decimals converted to percentages)

Dividend history

  • Payout ratio: dividends as a proportion of net profit. Dividend amounts and payout ratios: the reporting company’s parent-only disclosed values (as written in the annual securities report, not recalculated from consolidated profit). Consecutive increases: years in a row, from the latest backwards, in which the annual dividend per share rose. Consecutive years with a dividend: years in a row with an annual dividend per share above zero. Both this site’s own count (not the criteria of any published index). A year with no disclosure not read as zero; counting stops there. Range limited to the years listed above.

Share ownership by holder category

  • Source: ownership table, annual securities report. Percentages as disclosed, calculated on trading units (some companies do not total exactly 100%). Foreign holders (total): institutions and individuals combined. “Individuals and others”: a register category (not necessarily the share actually held by individuals). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Retail Trade that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

  • Research and development: total in the R&D section of the annual securities report. Capital expenditure: this year’s actual spending in the capital expenditure overview (not a plan). Years: only those available in the annual securities reports on hand (one to four per company); no row for other years. Share of revenue: divided by consolidated revenue in the same annual securities report. Industry median: the middle value among companies in Retail Trade that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only). Segment names and order: the same as the segment table above. Group-wide research and adjustments mean segment figures may not add up to the company-wide amount.

Revenue scale in the same industry

  • Revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry, using the same grouping as the industry pages. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Bar length relative to the largest company (100). An order of size, not a ranking of quality

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Employees across the consolidated group: 871 (a different scope, kept apart from the four above). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Retail Trade that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

People and organisation

  • Sales per employee Net sales (or operating revenue) ÷ employees
  • Operating income per employee Operating income ÷ employees
  • Wage gap between men and women Women's pay with men's pay set to 100, reporting company
  • Share of female employees gBizINFO, covering 正社員
  • Men taking childcare leave Reporting company (parent only)
  • Average length of service by gender gBizINFO, covering 正社員
  • Female managers gBizINFO: 17 women among 109 managers
  • Female officers gBizINFO: 3 women among 13 officers
  • Average temporary staff Consolidated, average headcount other than regular employees

Workplace information filings

  • Source: processed from Shokuba-labo, the workplace information site of the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. Items the company filed only Shokuba-labo

Greenhouse gas emissions

  • Source: processed from the Ministry of the Environment’s greenhouse gas calculation, reporting and disclosure system (EEGS). Companies required to report only Ministry of the Environment (EEGS)

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of MATSUYA CO., LTD. on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 1010001034945 / Accounting standard: Japanese GAAP

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork