Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

日本貨物鉄道

日本貨物鉄道株式会社

Company highlights

The largest segment by revenue is 鉄道ロジスティクス事業, at 88.4% of the total.

Key figures

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP

RevenueDisclosed ¥207.6B
Operating marginCalculated 1.6%
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 23.1%

Company profile

No securities code (not listed) / EDINET code E08587 / Land Transportation / Fiscal year end March 31

港区港南1-8-15Wビル/Capital stock ¥19,000 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Company details
21 Consolidated subsidiaries

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · filed 2026-06-26

Profitability ★☆☆☆☆position among all companies 1.6%
Growth (revenue, 4-year average) ★★☆☆☆position among all companies 2.7%
Capital efficiency ★☆☆☆☆position among all companies 1.2%

Business activities and revenue composition

日本貨物鉄道

Revenue and profit by business segment

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026Source Annual securities reportsConsolidated・Disclosed

鉄道ロジスティクス事業鉄道ロジスティクス事業 Sales 88.4% 88% Real estateReal estate Sales 11.6% 12%
BusinessNet sales to external customers Operating income
This yearShareLast year This yearMarginLast year
鉄道ロジスティクス事業 ¥183.0 billion 88.4% ¥180.1 billion ¥-12.0 billion -6.6% ¥-8.5 billion
Real estate ¥24.1 billion 11.6% ¥20.1 billion ¥14.9 billion 61.7% ¥10.9 billion
Total of the businesses ¥207.0 billion100.0%

Revenue and profit

Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses Personnel expenses ¥8.1 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥1.1 billion Consolidated
Profit by stage Operating income ¥3.2 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥1.2 billion Consolidated

日本貨物鉄道

Selling, general and administrative expenses

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026Source Annual securities reports

Personnel expenses ¥8.1 billion (87.8%)88%Depreciation ¥1.1 billion (12.2%)12%¥9.3B
  • Personnel expenses ¥8.1 billion
  • Depreciation ¥1.1 billion

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
23.1% Net assets to total assets Industry median 41.8% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
0.3% Return on assets (ROA)
¥266,978.82 Net assets per share
¥-8.5 billion Free cash flow
¥466.8 billion Total assets
Capital allocation
765.4% Cash conversion Industry median 151.8% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
0.3% Extraordinary gains and losses relative to ordinary profit ★★★☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
15.7% Investment securities to net assets ★★★★☆ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated

日本貨物鉄道

Recent performance trends

Source Annual securities reports

208 137 66 -4 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income ¥ billion

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2022 to 2026Disclosed

Item20222023202420252026
Operating revenue ¥186.7B ¥187.7B ¥188.5B ¥200.8B ¥207.6B
Year on year (%) Could not be retrieved +0.6% +0.5% +6.5% +3.4%
Ordinary income (loss) ¥0.3B -¥4.4B -¥4.3B ¥1.5B ¥2.4B
Change from prior year Could not be retrieved profit to loss◆ 0.98x loss to profit◆ +65.2%
Ordinary income (loss) as a share of Operating revenue 0.1% -2.3% -2.3% 0.7% 1.2%
Change (percentage points) Could not be retrieved -2.5 points◆ +0.0 points +3.0 points◆ +0.4 points

Fiscal periods marked for changes

  • 2023Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -2.5 points, Ordinary income (loss) profit to loss
  • 2025Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.0 points, Ordinary income (loss) loss to profit

日本貨物鉄道

Earnings and net assets per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

17,785 8,262 -1,262 -10,785 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Earnings per share yen 266,979 177,986 88,993 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net assets per share yen

日本貨物鉄道

Return on equity over time

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

7 3 -0 -4 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Return on equity (ROE, %)
Consolidated indicators (14 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Operating revenue ¥186.7 billion ¥187.7 billion ¥188.5 billion ¥200.8 billion ¥207.6 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥0.3 billion ¥-4.4 billion ¥-4.3 billion ¥1.5 billion ¥2.4 billion
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent ¥-1.4 billion ¥-4.1 billion ¥-3.5 billion ¥6.8 billion ¥1.2 billion
Comprehensive income ¥-1.6 billion ¥-4.1 billion ¥-2.9 billion ¥9.6 billion ¥5.1 billion
Net assets ¥100.2 billion ¥96.1 billion ¥93.2 billion ¥102.8 billion ¥107.9 billion
Total assets ¥432.6 billion ¥436.9 billion ¥437.7 billion ¥456.8 billion ¥466.8 billion
Net assets per share 249,563.65 yen 238,457.57 yen 229,827.7 yen 254,612.79 yen 266,978.82 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share -3,760.14 yen -10,785.41 yen -9,224.43 yen 17,785.37 yen 3,226.52 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 21.9% 20.7% 20.0% 21.2% 21.7%
Return on equity -1.5% -4.4% -3.9% 7.3% 1.2%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥19.8 billion ¥19.1 billion ¥16.8 billion ¥18.7 billion ¥25.4 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-34.3 billion ¥-33.6 billion ¥-25.8 billion ¥-17.4 billion ¥-33.9 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥19.0 billion ¥6.4 billion ¥6.0 billion ¥18.4 billion ¥10.6 billion
Cash and cash equivalents ¥32.1 billion ¥24.1 billion ¥21.1 billion ¥40.8 billion ¥43.0 billion
Parent only indicators (11 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Operating revenue ¥151.3 billion ¥152.2 billion ¥152.6 billion ¥162.3 billion ¥167.5 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥-1.2 billion ¥-6.3 billion ¥-6.3 billion ¥-0.9 billion ¥3.00 million
Net income (loss) ¥-2.7 billion ¥-5.3 billion ¥-4.8 billion ¥5.3 billion ¥-0.3 billion
Capital stock ¥19.0 billion ¥19.0 billion ¥19.0 billion ¥19.0 billion ¥19.0 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 380,000 shares 380,000 shares 380,000 shares 380,000 shares 380,000 shares
Net assets ¥71.6 billion ¥66.5 billion ¥61.9 billion ¥67.1 billion ¥66.9 billion
Total assets ¥397.0 billion ¥402.2 billion ¥398.7 billion ¥417.4 billion ¥427.8 billion
Net assets per share 188,484.23 yen 175,072.07 yen 162,840.01 yen 176,547.65 yen 175,956.81 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share -6,978.13 yen -13,918.13 yen -12,553.81 yen 13,950.7 yen -680.5 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 18.0% 16.5% 15.5% 16.1% 15.6%
Return on equity -3.6% -7.7% -7.4% 8.2% -0.4%

Shareholder composition

As of 2026-03-31Disclosed

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 独立行政法人鉄道建設・運輸施設整備支援機構 100.0% 380,000

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

Source: R&D and capital expenditure sections, annual securities reports · 2 years (2025 to 2026)Disclosed

¥0.1 billion Research and development 0.1% of revenue (industry median 0.1%)
Not disclosed Capital expenditure
Fiscal year Research and development
FY ending 3/2026 ¥0.1 billion
FY ending 3/2025 ¥0.1 billion

Revenue scale in the same industry

日本貨物鉄道

Source Annual securities reports of each company

Land Transportation: 93 companies · revenue · largest first・each company’s latest fiscal year・Consolidated・Disclosed

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

5,147 Employees (parent only) Industry median 349
Could not be retrieved Average age Industry median 43.9
Could not be retrieved Average length of service Industry median 15.6 years
Could not be retrieved Average annual salary Industry median ¥6.52 million
People and organisation
27.4¥ million Sales per employee Industry median 24.1¥ million FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
¥0.43 million Operating income per employee
1,356 Average temporary staff

Administrative filings and published information

Workplace information filings

Filed 2026-07-23Disclosed

ItemValue
Employees 6,463
Childcare leave taken, men
Scope: その他
71.3%
Childcare leave taken, women
Scope: その他
100%
Share of managers who are women 2.7%

Greenhouse gas emissions

Reported to the government for fiscal 2023Disclosed

CategoryEmissions
特定貨物輸送事業者433,350 t-CO2
特定事業所排出者35,288 t-CO2
Sites covered by the report2

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2026-03-31Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm 有限責任あずさ監査法人
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard Japanese GAAP

See the book series →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Major management indicators (5 years) (25 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥5.1 billion Consolidated
Operating revenue ¥207.6 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥25.4 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-33.9 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥43.0 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥107.9 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income (loss) ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥466.8 billion Consolidated
Return on equity 1.2% Consolidated
Equity-to-asset ratio 21.7% Consolidated
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent ¥1.2 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥10.6 billion Consolidated
Basic earnings (loss) per share 3,226.52 yen Consolidated
Net assets per share 266,978.82 yen Consolidated
Operating revenue ¥167.5 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 380,000 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥66.9 billion Parent only
Ordinary income (loss) ¥3.00 million Parent only
Total assets ¥427.8 billion Parent only
Return on equity -0.4% Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 15.6% Parent only
Capital stock ¥19.0 billion Parent only
Basic earnings (loss) per share -680.5 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 175,956.81 yen Parent only

Employees (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of employees 7,586 people Consolidated
Number of employees 5,147 people Parent only

Other disclosed items (8 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Net sales to external customers ¥207.6 billion Consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 1,356 people Consolidated
Number of unconsolidated subsidiaries and associates accounted for using equity method 11 companies Consolidated
Investments accounted for using equity method ¥11.0 billion Consolidated
Increase in property plant and equipment and intangible assets ¥29.9 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥23.9 billion Consolidated
Number of consolidated subsidiaries 21 companies Consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 737 people Parent only

Shares (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of shares held 380,000 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 100.0% Consolidated

Balance sheet (140 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥8.8 billion Consolidated
Other ¥8.6 billion Consolidated
Other ¥6.7 billion Consolidated
Other ¥4.8 billion Consolidated
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Other, net ¥11.7 billion Consolidated
Work in process ¥1.00 million Consolidated
Retained earnings ¥54.9 billion Consolidated
Advances received ¥12.4 billion Consolidated
Notes and accounts receivable trade ¥9.8 billion Consolidated
Merchandise ¥17.00 million Consolidated
Non-current liabilities ¥286.9 billion Consolidated
Non-current assets ¥380.2 billion Consolidated
Land ¥43.6 billion Consolidated
Buildings and structures, net ¥162.8 billion Consolidated
Construction in progress ¥14.0 billion Consolidated
Provision for directors' retirement benefits ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Investments and other assets ¥31.7 billion Consolidated
Investment securities ¥17.0 billion Consolidated
Property, plant and equipment ¥342.9 billion Consolidated
Accounts receivable - other ¥9.1 billion Consolidated
Accrued fares receivables ¥8.7 billion Consolidated
Income taxes payable ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Accrued consumption taxes ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Accounts payable - other ¥24.2 billion Consolidated
Shareholders' equity ¥90.5 billion Consolidated
Inventories ¥10.8 billion Consolidated
Machinery, equipment and vehicles, net ¥110.7 billion Consolidated
Current liabilities ¥72.1 billion Consolidated
Current assets ¥86.6 billion Consolidated
Accumulated depreciation ¥-536.9 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets ¥5.7 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥43.0 billion Consolidated
Cash and deposits ¥43.5 billion Consolidated
Provision for environmental measures ¥2.00 million Consolidated
Provision for environmental measures ¥0 Consolidated
Short-term loans payable ¥1.2 billion Consolidated
Bonds payable ¥54.0 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥107.9 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥107.9 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥466.8 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥466.8 billion Consolidated
Deferred tax liabilities ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Deferred tax assets ¥6.1 billion Consolidated
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥10.9 billion Consolidated
Liabilities ¥358.9 billion Consolidated
Liabilities and net assets ¥466.8 billion Consolidated
Real estate for sale ¥3.3 billion Consolidated
Supplies ¥7.5 billion Consolidated
Accounts payable - trade ¥1.4 billion Consolidated
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-30.00 million Consolidated
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-7.00 million Consolidated
Capital surplus ¥16.7 billion Consolidated
Capital stock ¥19.0 billion Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥5.2 billion Consolidated
Remeasurements of defined benefit plans ¥9.4 billion Consolidated
Net defined benefit liability ¥28.1 billion Consolidated
Long-term loans payable ¥171.4 billion Consolidated
Non-controlling interests ¥6.4 billion Consolidated
Guarantee deposited-NCL ¥24.0 billion Consolidated
Current portion of long-term loans payable ¥19.8 billion Consolidated
Other ¥3.6 billion Parent only
Other ¥5.7 billion Parent only
Other ¥1.8 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Lease obligations ¥7.7 billion Parent only
Lease obligations ¥3.8 billion Parent only
Work in process ¥1.00 million Parent only
Retained earnings ¥32.3 billion Parent only
Unearned revenue ¥2.1 billion Parent only
Advances received ¥12.1 billion Parent only
Prepaid expenses ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Advance payments ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Construction in progress affiliated rwy ¥24.00 million Parent only
Noncurrent assets affiliated rwy ¥8.5 billion Parent only
Merchandise ¥1.00 million Parent only
Non-current liabilities ¥291.6 billion Parent only
Non-current assets ¥361.7 billion Parent only
Reserve for reduction entry2 ¥12.3 billion Parent only
Construction in progress ¥14.1 billion Parent only
Provision for directors' retirement benefits ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Investments and other assets ¥28.0 billion Parent only
Investment securities ¥1.4 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥24.4 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥684.7 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥101.8 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment, net ¥7.7 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment, net ¥257.9 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment, net ¥49.4 billion Parent only
Accrued income ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Consumption taxes receivable ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Accrued fares receivables ¥13.5 billion Parent only
Income taxes refund receivable ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable-other ¥6.8 billion Parent only
Income taxes payable ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Accrued expenses ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥24.9 billion Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥66.6 billion Parent only
Current liabilities ¥69.3 billion Parent only
Current assets ¥66.1 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-16.6 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-426.8 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-52.4 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥3.7 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥0 Parent only
Cash and deposits ¥31.6 billion Parent only
Provision for environmental measures ¥2.00 million Parent only
Provision for environmental measures ¥0 Parent only
Bonds payable ¥54.0 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥66.9 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥66.9 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥427.8 billion Parent only
Deferred tax assets ¥9.2 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥20.1 billion Parent only
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥360.9 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥427.8 billion Parent only
Real estate for sale ¥3.3 billion Parent only
Supplies ¥7.5 billion Parent only
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-0.5 billion Parent only
Capital surplus ¥15.3 billion Parent only
Legal capital surplus ¥15.3 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥19.0 billion Parent only
Asset retirement obligations ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Asset retirement obligations ¥26.00 million Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥3.8 billion Parent only
Provision for retirement benefits ¥39.2 billion Parent only
Railway service ¥13.7 billion Parent only
Noncurrent assets railway rwy ¥261.6 billion Parent only
Long-term loans payable ¥68.6 billion Parent only
Long-term prepaid expenses ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Long-term loans receivable ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Shares of subsidiaries and associates ¥10.4 billion Parent only
Construction in progress related rwy ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Noncurrent assets related rwy ¥49.4 billion Parent only
Guarantee deposited-NCL ¥22.9 billion Parent only
Deposits received ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Current portion of long-term loans payable ¥13.5 billion Parent only

Statement of income (103 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Other ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Other ¥41.00 million Consolidated
Other ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Other comprehensive income ¥3.6 billion Consolidated
Valuation difference on available for sale securities net of tax ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Personnel expenses ¥8.1 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥5.1 billion Consolidated
Gain on investments in silent partnerships ¥14.00 million Consolidated
Loss on investments in silent partnerships ¥16.00 million Consolidated
Interest income ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Dividend income ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Operating income ¥3.2 billion Consolidated
Operating income ¥3.2 billion Consolidated
Operating revenue ¥207.6 billion Consolidated
Non-operating income ¥0.9 billion Consolidated
Non-operating expenses ¥1.8 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥25.4 billion Consolidated
Operating expenses ¥204.4 billion Consolidated
Loss on tax purpose reduction entry of non-current assets ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Gain on sales of non-current assets ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥0.9 billion Consolidated
Net sales ¥207.6 billion Consolidated
Contribution for construction ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥1.2 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥1.2 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Gain on sales of investment securities ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-33.9 billion Consolidated
Share of profit of investments accounted for using equity method ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Share of other comprehensive income of investments accounted for using equity method ¥89.00 million Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥1.4 billion Consolidated
Income taxes - current ¥1.2 billion Consolidated
Income taxes ¥0.9 billion Consolidated
Income taxes - deferred ¥-0.4 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥1.1 billion Consolidated
Impairment loss ¥68.00 million Consolidated
Impairment loss ¥68.00 million Consolidated
Impairment loss ¥68.00 million Consolidated
Gain on sales of goods ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Extraordinary income ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Extraordinary loss ¥1.5 billion Consolidated
Effect of exchange rate change on cash and cash equivalents ¥-0 Consolidated
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Environmental expenses ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to owners of parent ¥4.7 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥10.6 billion Consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥16.2 billion Consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥16.2 billion Consolidated
Remeasurements of defined benefit plans net of tax ¥3.1 billion Consolidated
Operating expenses and cost of sales of transportation rwy ¥188.2 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to non-controlling interests ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) attributable to non-controlling interests ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Other ¥10.00 million Parent only
Other ¥0.1 billion Parent only
General and administrative expenses ¥9.2 billion Parent only
Revenue from real estate leasing business ¥15.8 billion Parent only
Interest income ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Dividend income ¥61.00 million Parent only
Operating income ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Non-operating income ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Non-operating expenses ¥1.7 billion Parent only
Loss on tax purpose reduction entry of non-current assets ¥96.00 million Parent only
Gain on sales of non-current assets ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Cost of sales ¥2.2 billion Parent only
Contribution for construction ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Gain on sales of investment securities ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Income taxes - current ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Income taxes ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes - deferred ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥19.8 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥2.3 billion Parent only
Impairment loss ¥51.00 million Parent only
Gain on sales of goods ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Extraordinary income ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Extraordinary loss ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Environmental expenses ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Interest on bonds ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥-0.1 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥3.00 million Parent only
Taxes ¥6.6 billion Parent only
Taxes ¥1.8 billion Parent only
Freight transportation orrwy ¥123.9 billion Parent only
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Miscellaneous income of transportation ¥21.9 billion Parent only
Transportation operating expenses ¥123.8 billion Parent only
Operating income railway rwy ¥-13.6 billion Parent only
Operating revenue railway rwy ¥145.8 billion Parent only
Operating expenses railway rwy ¥159.4 billion Parent only
Operating income related rwy ¥14.7 billion Parent only
Operating revenue related rwy ¥21.7 billion Parent only
Operating expenses related rwy ¥7.0 billion Parent only
Miscellaneous income ¥48.00 million Parent only
Miscellaneous income ¥53.00 million Parent only
Miscellaneous expenses noerwy ¥0.3 billion Parent only

Statement of changes in equity (4 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥5.1 billion Consolidated
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥3.9 billion Consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥-0.2 billion Parent only
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥34.00 million Parent only

Statement of cash flows (40 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥0.7 billion Consolidated
Other ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
Other ¥-1.0 billion Consolidated
Increase decrease in other noncurrent liabilities ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses paid ¥-1.2 billion Consolidated
Interest and dividends income received ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Interest and dividend income ¥-0.3 billion Consolidated
Increase decrease in operating debt ¥3.8 billion Consolidated
Decrease increase in operating receivables ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Payments for retirement of noncurrent assets ¥-1.0 billion Consolidated
Loss on tax purpose reduction entry of non-current assets ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Loss (gain) on sales of fixed assets ¥-0.4 billion Consolidated
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥2.5 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from withdrawal of time deposits ¥15.0 billion Consolidated
Payments into time deposits ¥-15.3 billion Consolidated
Subtotal ¥28.4 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from contribution received for construction ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Contribution for construction ¥-0.7 billion Consolidated
Purchase of investment securities ¥-0.9 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from sales of investment securities ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Equity in earnings losses of affiliates ¥-0.2 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥1.4 billion Consolidated
Purchase of property plant and equipment and intangible assets ¥-34.9 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from sales of property plant and equipment and intangible assets ¥0.5 billion Consolidated
(Increase)/decrease in consumption tax/value-added tax receivables ¥-0.5 billion Consolidated
Decrease in consumption taxes payable ¥-0.7 billion Consolidated
Decrease (increase) in inventories ¥-3.4 billion Consolidated
Income taxes paid ¥-2.1 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥23.9 billion Consolidated
Impairment loss ¥68.00 million Consolidated
Increase decrease in provision for environmental measures ¥-67.00 million Consolidated
Decrease/increase in short-term loans payable ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from issuance of bonds ¥10.0 billion Consolidated
Payments for asset retirement obligations ¥-0.8 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in net defined benefit liability ¥0.6 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from long term loans payable ¥15.9 billion Consolidated
Repayment of long term loans payable ¥-15.0 billion Consolidated
Amortization of long term prepaid expenses ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Dividends paid to non-controlling interests ¥-11.00 million Consolidated
Increase decrease in guarantee deposits received ¥-1.9 billion Consolidated

Accounts unique to this company (5 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue ¥6.0 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.9 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥5.3 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥95.0 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥5.8 billion Parent only

Research and development (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Research and development expenses included in general and administrative expenses and manufacturing cost for current period ¥0.1 billion Consolidated
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥25.4 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Number of employees 7,586 ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net assets ¥107.9 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net sales ¥207.6 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating income ¥3.2 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating revenue ¥207.6 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥2.4 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net income ¥1.2 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Total assets ¥466.8 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating margin 1.6%ConsolidatedCalculated
Net margin 0.6%ConsolidatedCalculated
Sales per employee 27366860 yenConsolidatedCalculated
Total asset turnover 0.44 timesConsolidatedCalculated
Net assets to total assets 23.1%ConsolidatedCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Operating margin 1.6% Operating income ÷ net sales  = ¥3.2 billion ÷ ¥207.6 billion
    Operating income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Operating revenue (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net margin 0.6% Net income ÷ net sales  = ¥1.2 billion ÷ ¥207.6 billion
    Net income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Operating revenue (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Sales per employee 27,366,860 yen Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees  = ¥207.6 billion ÷ 7,586 people
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees. The denominator is Number of employees (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Total asset turnover 0.44 times Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets  = ¥207.6 billion ÷ ¥466.8 billion
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net assets to total assets 23.1% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥107.9 billion ÷ ¥466.8 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).

Company details

  • Consolidated subsidiaries Annual Securities Report

Revenue and profit by business segment

  • Source: segment information, Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · Consolidated · Net sales to external customers · filed 2026-06-26
  • Share: against the total of Net sales to external customers disclosed by business (100%). Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out as they are not businesses (so no match with company-wide Net sales to external customers). Margin: calculated against the Net sales to external customers on the same row“Total” in the segment information of the annual securities report: ¥207.6 billion. Gap against this table’s total (the part not listed as a business, such as “other”) within 1%The account may differ from “Revenue” at the top of this pageProfit share: not shown (one or more loss-making businesses)

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Selling, general and administrative expenses

  • Breakdown of selling, general and administrative expenses (costs of selling and running the company). Cost of sales not included
  • Each item: already inside the SG&A total (not added to it)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Return on assets (ROA) Net income ÷ total assets (consolidated)
  • Net assets per share Consolidated
  • Free cash flow Free cash flow: operating cash flow (cash generated by the business) plus investing cash flow (asset purchases, disposals and other investments), consolidated
  • Total assets Consolidated

Capital allocation

  • ★: position when all companies are sorted by value and cut into fifths (a position, not a rating). The five items with ★: only where both numerator and denominator are available on a consolidated basisSee the formulas
  • Cash conversion Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ÷ operating income
  • Extraordinary gains and losses relative to ordinary profit (extraordinary income − extraordinary loss) ÷ ordinary income。Extraordinary income ¥1.5 billion − extraordinary loss ¥1.5 billion, over ordinary income ¥2.4 billion
  • Investment securities to net assets Investment securities ÷ net assets。Investment securities ¥17.0 billion, over net assets ¥107.9 billion

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Earnings and net assets per share over time

  • Earnings per share = net profit ÷ shares; net assets per share = net assets ÷ shares. Disclosed values from the key financial indicators of the annual securities report. No share prices used

Return on equity over time

  • Return on equity (ROE): net profit as a proportion of equity. For Japanese companies, the disclosed value in the key financial indicators of the annual securities report (decimals converted to percentages)

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

  • Research and development: total in the R&D section of the annual securities report. Capital expenditure: this year’s actual spending in the capital expenditure overview (not a plan). Years: only those available in the annual securities reports on hand (one to four per company); no row for other years. Share of revenue: divided by consolidated revenue in the same annual securities report. Industry median: the middle value among companies in Land Transportation that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Revenue scale in the same industry

  • Revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry, using the same grouping as the industry pages. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Bar length relative to the largest company (100). An order of size, not a ranking of quality

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Employees across the consolidated group: 7,586 (a different scope, kept apart from the four above). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Land Transportation that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

People and organisation

  • Sales per employee Net sales (or operating revenue) ÷ employees
  • Operating income per employee Operating income ÷ employees
  • Average temporary staff Consolidated, average headcount other than regular employees

Workplace information filings

  • Source: processed from Shokuba-labo, the workplace information site of the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. Items the company filed only Shokuba-labo

Greenhouse gas emissions

  • Categories count different things; not added together Source: processed from the Ministry of the Environment’s greenhouse gas calculation, reporting and disclosure system (EEGS). Companies required to report only Ministry of the Environment (EEGS)

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of 日本貨物鉄道株式会社 on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 7011001068366 / Accounting standard: Japanese GAAP

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork