Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

Central Japan Railway

Central Japan Railway Company

Company highlights

The largest segment by revenue is Transportation, at 87.7% of the total.

Key figures

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP

RevenueDisclosed ¥2.0T
Operating marginCalculated 41.4%
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 47.2%

Company profile

Securities code 9022 / EDINET code E04149 / Land Transportation / Fiscal year end March 31

名古屋市中村区名駅一丁目1番4号/Capital stock ¥112,000 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Official website: https://jr-central.co.jp
Official website: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry).

Company details
丹羽俊介 Representative
4/1/1987 Date of incorporation
27 Consolidated subsidiaries

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · filed 2026-06-22

Profitability ★★★★★position among all companies 41.4%
Growth (revenue, 4-year average) ★★★★★position among all companies 21.0%
Capital efficiency ★★★★☆position among all companies 11.4%

Business activities and revenue composition

Central Japan Railway

Revenue and profit by business segment

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026Source Annual securities reportsConsolidated・Disclosed

SalesProfit Transportat…Transportation Sales 87.7% 88% Profit 94.9% 95% LogisticsLogistics Sales 9.3% 9% Profit 2.0% 2% Real estateReal estate Sales 3.0% 3% Profit 3.1% 3%
BusinessNet sales to external customers Operating income
This yearShareLast year This yearShareMarginLast year
Transportation ¥1,641.7 billion 87.7% ¥1,490.5 billion ¥767.5 billion 94.9% 46.7% ¥649.7 billion
Logistics ¥174.5 billion 9.3% ¥163.2 billion ¥15.8 billion 2.0% 9.1% ¥15.6 billion
Real estate ¥55.5 billion 3.0% ¥51.8 billion ¥25.3 billion 3.1% 45.5% ¥22.9 billion
Total of the businesses ¥1,871.7 billion100.0% ¥808.6 billion 100.0%

Revenue and profit

Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses Personnel expenses ¥90.8 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥14.6 billion Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥8.4 billion Consolidated
Retirement benefit expenses ¥97.00 million Consolidated
Profit by stage Operating income ¥830.2 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income ¥780.9 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥552.9 billion Consolidated

Central Japan Railway

Selling, general and administrative expenses

Period Apr 2025 to Mar 2026Source Annual securities reports

Personnel expenses ¥90.8 billion (79.7%)80%Depreciation ¥14.6 billion (12.8%)13%Provision for bonuses ¥8.4 billion (7.4%)7%Retirement benefit expenses ¥0.1 billion (0.1%)¥113.9B
  • Personnel expenses ¥90.8 billion
  • Depreciation ¥14.6 billion
  • Provision for bonuses ¥8.4 billion
  • Retirement benefit expenses ¥0.1 billion

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
47.2% Net assets to total assets Industry median 41.8% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
5.1% Return on assets (ROA)
¥5,306.02 Net assets per share
¥126.7 billion Free cash flow
¥10,876.2 billion Total assets
Capital allocation
90.1% Cash conversion Industry median 151.8% FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
1.8% Increase in working capital ★★★★☆ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
239.6% Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation ★★★★★ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
18.9% Return to shareholders ★★☆☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
-0.2% Extraordinary gains and losses relative to ordinary profit ★★★☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
10.5% Investment securities to net assets ★★★☆☆ position among all companies FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated

Long-term changes in performance

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Revenue ×1.27 from 2013 to 2026

Central Japan Railway

Long-term revenue, profit and asset trends

Period 2013 to 2026Source Annual securities reportsDisclosed

Mark on the chart
2,006 1,250 494 -262 2013 2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 2025 2026 Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income 2014 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.8 points 2016 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.8 points 2017 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +2.7 points 2020 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -2.6 points 2021 Operating revenue year on year -55.4%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -63.0 points, Ordinary income (loss) profit to loss 2022 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +24.6 points 2023 Operating revenue year on year +49.7%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +29.2 points, Ordinary income (loss) loss to profit 2024 Operating revenue year on year +22.1%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +10.0 points 2025 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.5 points 2026 Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.5 points 2,006Latest value 2026 2,006¥ billion 2,006Highest in the period shown 2026 2,006¥ billion 824Lowest in the period shown 2021 824¥ billion ¥ billion

Central Japan Railway

Recent performance trends

Source Annual securities reports

2,006 1,315 624 -67 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income ¥ billion

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2013 to 2026Disclosed

Item20222023202420252026
Operating revenue ¥935.1B ¥1,400.3B ¥1,710.4B ¥1,831.8B ¥2,006.2B
Year on year (%) +13.6% +49.7%◆ +22.1%◆ +7.1% +9.5%
Ordinary income (loss) -¥67.3B ¥307.5B ¥546.9B ¥649.3B ¥780.9B
Change from prior year 0.26x loss to profit◆ +77.9% +18.7% +20.3%
Ordinary income (loss) as a share of Operating revenue -7.2% 22.0% 32.0% 35.4% 38.9%
Change (percentage points) +24.6 points◆ +29.2 points◆ +10.0 points◆ +3.5 points◆ +3.5 points◆

Fiscal periods marked for changes

Earlier fiscal periods (7)
  • 2014Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.8 points
  • 2016Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.8 points
  • 2017Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +2.7 points
  • 2020Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -2.6 points
  • 2021Operating revenue year on year -55.4%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -63.0 points, Ordinary income (loss) profit to loss
  • 2022Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +24.6 points
  • 2023Operating revenue year on year +49.7%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +29.2 points, Ordinary income (loss) loss to profit
  • 2024Operating revenue year on year +22.1%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +10.0 points
  • 2025Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.5 points
  • 2026Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +3.5 points

Central Japan Railway

Earnings and net assets per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

571 363 155 -53 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Earnings per share yen 5,306 3,537 1,769 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net assets per share yen

Central Japan Railway

Return on equity over time

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

11 7 3 -1 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Return on equity (ROE, %)
Consolidated indicators (14 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Operating revenue ¥935.1 billion ¥1,400.3 billion ¥1,710.4 billion ¥1,831.8 billion ¥2,006.2 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥-67.3 billion ¥307.5 billion ¥546.9 billion ¥649.3 billion ¥780.9 billion
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent ¥-51.9 billion ¥219.4 billion ¥384.4 billion ¥458.4 billion ¥552.9 billion
Comprehensive income ¥-52.1 billion ¥223.6 billion ¥444.7 billion ¥464.7 billion ¥620.5 billion
Net assets ¥3,609.3 billion ¥3,807.1 billion ¥4,223.7 billion ¥4,658.6 billion ¥5,136.6 billion
Total assets ¥9,450.5 billion ¥9,514.4 billion ¥9,941.9 billion ¥10,323.3 billion ¥10,876.2 billion
Net assets per share 3,622.05 yen 3,820.4 yen 4,237.48 yen 4,675.36 yen 5,306.02 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share -52.77 yen 222.99 yen 390.66 yen 465.88 yen 570.84 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 37.7% 39.5% 41.9% 44.6% 46.6%
Return on equity -1.4% 6.0% 9.7% 10.5% 11.4%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥71.7 billion ¥486.7 billion ¥672.9 billion ¥624.5 billion ¥748.2 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-153.0 billion ¥-175.0 billion ¥-436.6 billion ¥-956.0 billion ¥-621.4 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-19.2 billion ¥-220.6 billion ¥-125.1 billion ¥-95.5 billion ¥-150.9 billion
Cash and cash equivalents ¥619.5 billion ¥710.5 billion ¥821.7 billion ¥394.7 billion ¥370.6 billion
Parent only indicators (14 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Operating revenue ¥726.1 billion ¥1,143.4 billion ¥1,417.4 billion ¥1,511.3 billion ¥1,663.2 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥-74.0 billion ¥278.9 billion ¥504.6 billion ¥600.0 billion ¥720.9 billion
Net income (loss) ¥-68.2 billion ¥201.9 billion ¥358.8 billion ¥430.6 billion ¥512.6 billion
Capital stock ¥112.0 billion ¥112.0 billion ¥112.0 billion ¥112.0 billion ¥112.0 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 206,000,000 shares 206,000,000 shares 1,030,000,000 shares 1,030,000,000 shares 1,001,177,000 shares
Net assets ¥3,369.9 billion ¥3,548.6 billion ¥3,914.5 billion ¥4,314.9 billion ¥4,738.3 billion
Total assets ¥9,246.7 billion ¥9,287.2 billion ¥9,692.4 billion ¥10,054.8 billion ¥10,579.7 billion
Net assets per share 3,421.18 yen 3,602.6 yen 3,974.15 yen 4,380.63 yen 4,955.4 yen
Dividend per share 130 yen 135 yen 85 yen 31 yen 32 yen
Interim dividend per share 65 yen 65 yen 70 yen 15 yen 16 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share -69.22 yen 205 yen 364.23 yen 437.19 yen 528.76 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 36.4% 38.2% 40.4% 42.9% 44.8%
Return on equity -2.0% 5.8% 9.6% 10.5% 11.3%
Payout ratio Could not be retrieved 13.2% 8.0% 7.1% 6.1%

Dividend history

Source: reporting company’s key figures, annual securities reports · 14 years (2013 to 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

1 periods Consecutive increases (own definition) through FY ending 3/2026
2 periods Consecutive periods with dividends (site definition) through FY ending 3/2026
+3.2% Dividend growth (year on year)
Fewer than six years Dividend growth (5-year annual rate)
Fiscal yearAnnual dividend per share Of which interimPayout ratio (as reported, parent only) Flag
FY ending 3/2026 ¥32 ¥16 6.1%
FY ending 3/2025 ¥31 ¥15 7.1%
FY ending 3/2024 ¥85 ¥70 8.0% Stock split or share consolidation noted
FY ending 3/2023 ¥135 ¥65 13.2%
FY ending 3/2022 ¥130 ¥65 Could not be retrieved
FY ending 3/2021 ¥130 ¥65 Could not be retrieved
FY ending 3/2020 ¥150 ¥75 7.8%
FY ending 3/2019 ¥145 ¥70 6.9%
FY ending 3/2018 ¥140 ¥70 7.2%
FY ending 3/2017 ¥135 ¥65 7.0%
FY ending 3/2016 ¥125 ¥60 7.5%
FY ending 3/2015 ¥120 ¥60 9.1%
FY ending 3/2014 ¥115 ¥55 9.4%
FY ending 3/2013 ¥105 ¥50 11.0%

Central Japan Railway

Dividends per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

135 90 45 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Dividend per share yen

Shareholder composition

As of 2026-03-31Disclosed

Share ownership by holder category

125,800 Shareholders
32.14% Foreign holders (total) Industry median 11.50%
15.03% Individuals and others Industry median 36.62%

Central Japan Railway

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

  • Financial institutions42.10%
  • Securities firms1.10%
  • Other corporations9.61%
  • Foreign holders (institutions)32.13%
  • Foreign holders (individuals)0.01%
  • Individuals and others15.03%
  • Government and municipalities0.02%

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 日本マスタートラスト信託銀行株式会社(信託口) 12.6% 120,431,700
2 株式会社日本カストディ銀行(信託口) 4.73% 45,188,850
3 野村信託銀行株式会社(退職給付信託三菱UFJ銀行口) 3.73% 35,625,000
4 株式会社みずほ銀行 2.84% 27,157,500
5 日本生命保険相互会社 2.41% 23,000,000
6 株式会社三菱UFJ銀行 1.82% 17,390,500
7 農林中央金庫 1.75% 16,750,000
8 STATE STREET BANK AND TRUST COMPANY 505001(常任代理人 株式会社みずほ銀行決済営業部) 1.61% 15,403,105
9 JR東海社員持株会 1.6% 15,346,400
10 住友生命保険相互会社 1.36% 13,030,900

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

Source: R&D and capital expenditure sections, annual securities reports · 6 years (2016 to 2026)Disclosed

¥43.0 billion Research and development 2.1% of revenue (industry median 0.1%)
¥609.0 billion Capital expenditure 30.4% of revenue (industry median 8.7%)
Fiscal year Research and development Capital expenditure
FY ending 3/2026 ¥43.0 billion ¥609.0 billion
FY ending 3/2025 ¥36.8 billion Could not be retrieved
FY ending 3/2021 ¥36.0 billion ¥543.2 billion
FY ending 3/2020 ¥54.0 billion Could not be retrieved
FY ending 3/2017 ¥66.6 billion Could not be retrieved
FY ending 3/2016 ¥75.2 billion Could not be retrieved

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure by segment (FY ending 3/2026)

Segment Capital expenditure
Logistics ¥8.3 billion
Real estate ¥20.7 billion

Revenue scale in the same industry

Central Japan Railway

Source Annual securities reports of each company

Land Transportation: 93 companies · revenue · largest first・each company’s latest fiscal year・Consolidated・Disclosed

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026)Parent-onlyDisclosed

18,518 Employees (parent only) Industry median 349
37.0 Average age Industry median 43.9
16.3 years Average length of service Industry median 15.6 years
¥8.61 million Average annual salary Industry median ¥6.52 million
People and organisation
67.8¥ million Sales per employee Industry median 24.1¥ million FY ending 3/2026 · consolidated / calculated
¥28.08 million Operating income per employee
75.9% Wage gap between men and women
2.8% Women in managerial positions
99.0% Men taking childcare leave
Men 17.2 yrs
Women 11.8 yrs
Average length of service by gender
Men 16,014
Women 2,504
Employees by gender
24 / 843 Female managers
2 / 16 Female officers
7,634 Average temporary staff

Administrative filings and published information

Workplace information filings

Filed 2026-08-27Disclosed

ItemValue
Employees 18,173
Average monthly overtime (statutory overtime plus work on statutory days off)
Scope: その他
18.4 hours
Annual paid leave taken (all employees) 92.2%
Childcare leave taken, men
Scope: その他
86%
Childcare leave taken, women
Scope: その他
102%
Share of managers who are women 2.8%
Share of board members who are women 12.5%

Subsidy award information

6 awards, 2019-05-13 to 2022-08-24Disclosed

Date approvedSubsidyMinistryAmount
2022-08-24文化施設の活動継続・発展等支援事業文部科学省 ¥0.27 million
2022-03-28令和3年度鉄道施設総合安全対策事業費補助国土交通省 ¥90.00 million
2022-03-16令和3年度新型コロナウイルス感染症患者等入院受入医療機関緊急支援事業補助金厚生労働省 ¥6.54 million
2021-07-27文化施設の感染拡大予防・活動支援環境整備事業文部科学省 ¥1.39 million
2021-03-24令和2年度新型インフルエンザ流行期における発熱外来診療体制確保支援補助金(インフルエンザ流行期に備えた発熱患者の外来診療・検査体制確保事業)厚生労働省 ¥34.70 million
2019-05-13戦傷病者等無賃乗車船等負担金国土交通省 ¥0.98 million

Greenhouse gas emissions

Reported to the government for fiscal 2023Disclosed

CategoryEmissions
特定旅客輸送事業者1,254,375 t-CO2
特定事業所排出者37,694 t-CO2
Sites covered by the report6

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2026-03-31Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm 有限責任監査法人トーマツ
Audit fees (this year, total) ¥0.4 billion
Non-audit fees (this year, total) ¥75.00 million
Non-audit fees (this year, network firms) ¥26.00 million
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard Japanese GAAP

See the book series →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Major management indicators (5 years) (28 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥620.5 billion Consolidated
Operating revenue ¥2,006.2 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥748.2 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-621.4 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥370.6 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥5,136.6 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income (loss) ¥780.9 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥10,876.2 billion Consolidated
Return on equity 11.4% Consolidated
Equity-to-asset ratio 46.6% Consolidated
Net income (loss) attributable to owners of parent ¥552.9 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-150.9 billion Consolidated
Basic earnings (loss) per share 570.84 yen Consolidated
Net assets per share 5,306.02 yen Consolidated
Dividend per share 32 yen Parent only
Operating revenue ¥1,663.2 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥512.6 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 1,001,177,000 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥4,738.3 billion Parent only
Ordinary income (loss) ¥720.9 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥10,579.7 billion Parent only
Return on equity 11.3% Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 44.8% Parent only
Capital stock ¥112.0 billion Parent only
Payout ratio 6.1% Parent only
Interim dividend per share 16 yen Parent only
Basic earnings (loss) per share 528.76 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 4,955.4 yen Parent only

Employees (11 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of employees 29,569 people Consolidated
Number of employees 29,569 people Consolidated
Wage gap between men and women (all employees) 75.9% Parent only
Average length of service (years) 16.3 years Parent only
Average annual salary ¥8.61 million Parent only
Average age (years) 37 years old Parent only
Number of employees 18,518 people Parent only
Number of employees 18,518 people Parent only
Number of employees 18,518 people Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (regular employees) 74.9% Parent only
Wage gap between men and women (non-regular employees) 78.9% Parent only

Other disclosed items (12 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Net sales to external customers ¥2,006.2 billion Consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 7,634 people Consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 7,634 people Consolidated
Number of associates accounted for using equity method 2 companies Consolidated
Investments accounted for using equity method ¥13.8 billion Consolidated
Increase in property plant and equipment and intangible assets ¥571.0 billion Consolidated
Write-downs of inventories ¥0.3 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥205.9 billion Consolidated
Number of consolidated subsidiaries 27 companies Consolidated
Rate of male employees taking childcare leave (all employees) 99.0% Parent only
Total return on the share price index 202.2% Parent only
Ratio of female employees in managerial positions 2.8% Parent only

Shares (19 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of shares held 329,323,955 shares Consolidated
Total number of shares held treasury shares etc 45,081,900 shares Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares increased shares not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 1 issues Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares increased shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 1 issues Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares decreased shares not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 1 issues Consolidated
Number of issues whose number of shares decreased shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company 2 issues Consolidated
Total acquisition cost for increased shares shares not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company ¥1.0 billion Consolidated
Total acquisition cost for increased shares shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company ¥3.0 billion Consolidated
Total sale amount for decreased shares shares other than those not listed investment shares held for purposes other than pure investment reporting company ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Number of shares 1,001,177,100 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio treasury shares etc 4.5% Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 34.4% Consolidated
Number of shares held in own name treasury shares etc 45,081,900 shares Consolidated
Number of voting rights 9,558,135 units Consolidated
Carrying amount on the balance sheet ¥7.7 billion Consolidated
Carrying amount on the balance sheet ¥267.5 billion Consolidated
Number of issues 22 issues Consolidated
Number of issues 47 issues Consolidated
Total shareholder return 127.8% Parent only

Research and development (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Research and development expenses included in general and administrative expenses and manufacturing cost for current period ¥43.1 billion Consolidated
Research and development expenses ¥43.0 billion Consolidated

Property and facilities (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Capital expenditures ¥609.0 billion Consolidated

Audit (8 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - reporting company ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - total ¥0.4 billion Consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - consolidated subsidiaries ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Fees for non-audit services - reporting company ¥7.00 million Consolidated
Fees for non-audit services - reporting company ¥75.00 million Consolidated
Fees for non-audit services - total ¥26.00 million Consolidated
Fees for non-audit services - total ¥75.00 million Consolidated
Non audit fees consolidated subsidiaries network firms ¥18.00 million Consolidated

Accounts unique to this company (16 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue ¥849.6 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥1,904.8 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥3,000.0 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Revenue ¥241.2 billion Consolidated
Change in average annual salary from the previous year 6.2% Parent only
Revenue 0.264 Parent only
Revenue 0.135 Parent only
Revenue 0.051 Parent only
Revenue 0.922 Parent only
Revenue 1.02 Parent only
Revenue ¥849.6 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥1,904.8 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥3,000.0 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥0.2 billion Parent only

Balance sheet (138 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥41.2 billion Consolidated
Other ¥32.2 billion Consolidated
Other ¥50.8 billion Consolidated
Other ¥166.3 billion Consolidated
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥136.2 billion Consolidated
Other, net ¥33.6 billion Consolidated
Work in process ¥17.4 billion Consolidated
Land and buildings for sale in lots ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Retained earnings ¥4,867.0 billion Consolidated
Advances received ¥78.8 billion Consolidated
Raw materials and supplies ¥26.9 billion Consolidated
Notes receivable - trade ¥4.2 billion Consolidated
Notes receivable - trade ¥98.8 billion Consolidated
Merchandise and finished goods ¥7.7 billion Consolidated
Non-current liabilities ¥4,807.5 billion Consolidated
Non-current assets ¥9,201.3 billion Consolidated
Land ¥2,392.1 billion Consolidated
Accounts receivable - trade ¥67.3 billion Consolidated
Contract liabilities ¥45.3 billion Consolidated
Contract assets ¥25.2 billion Consolidated
Buildings and structures, net ¥1,230.0 billion Consolidated
Construction in progress ¥2,441.3 billion Consolidated
Investments and other assets ¥2,644.5 billion Consolidated
Investment securities ¥538.5 billion Consolidated
Notes and accounts payable - trade ¥92.7 billion Consolidated
Securities ¥22.9 billion Consolidated
Property, plant and equipment ¥6,371.3 billion Consolidated
Accrued fares receivables ¥137.4 billion Consolidated
Income taxes payable ¥137.8 billion Consolidated
Accounts payable - other ¥324.1 billion Consolidated
Shareholders' equity ¥4,902.9 billion Consolidated
Inventories ¥54.3 billion Consolidated
Machinery, equipment and vehicles, net ¥274.4 billion Consolidated
Current liabilities ¥932.1 billion Consolidated
Current assets ¥1,674.8 billion Consolidated
Accumulated depreciation ¥-5,385.7 billion Consolidated
Intangible assets ¥185.5 billion Consolidated
Cash and cash equivalents ¥370.6 billion Consolidated
Cash and deposits ¥345.7 billion Consolidated
Short-term loans payable ¥37.5 billion Consolidated
Bonds payable ¥699.6 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥5,136.6 billion Consolidated
Net assets ¥5,136.6 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥10,876.2 billion Consolidated
Total assets ¥10,876.2 billion Consolidated
Deferred tax assets ¥149.2 billion Consolidated
Treasury stock ¥-130.3 billion Consolidated
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥165.3 billion Consolidated
Liabilities ¥5,739.5 billion Consolidated
Liabilities and net assets ¥10,876.2 billion Consolidated
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-62.00 million Consolidated
Allowance for doubtful accounts ¥-0.1 billion Consolidated
Capital surplus ¥54.2 billion Consolidated
Capital stock ¥112.0 billion Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥34.3 billion Consolidated
Remeasurements of defined benefit plans ¥29.1 billion Consolidated
Net defined benefit liability ¥141.4 billion Consolidated
Net defined benefit asset ¥19.9 billion Consolidated
Long term accounts payable railway equipment nclrwy ¥489.5 billion Consolidated
Long-term loans payable ¥435.7 billion Consolidated
Non-controlling interests ¥68.5 billion Consolidated
Deposits received ¥32.4 billion Consolidated
Current portion of long term accounts payable railway equipment clrwy ¥8.3 billion Consolidated
Current portion of bonds payable ¥29.8 billion Consolidated
Current portion of long-term loans payable ¥105.5 billion Consolidated
Other ¥11.0 billion Parent only
Other ¥3.4 billion Parent only
Other ¥4.0 billion Parent only
Other ¥26.4 billion Parent only
Other ¥122.7 billion Parent only
Valuation difference on available-for-sale securities ¥132.8 billion Parent only
General reserve ¥3,731.0 billion Parent only
Retained earnings ¥4,569.3 billion Parent only
Legal retained earnings ¥12.5 billion Parent only
Deferred contribution for construction ¥25.0 billion Parent only
Prepaid fares received clrwy ¥37.0 billion Parent only
Prepaid expenses ¥1.9 billion Parent only
Noncurrent assets affiliated rwy ¥39.4 billion Parent only
Non-current liabilities ¥4,791.6 billion Parent only
Non-current assets ¥9,043.0 billion Parent only
Reserve for reduction entry1 ¥9.9 billion Parent only
Construction in progress ¥2,573.6 billion Parent only
Investments and other assets ¥2,764.4 billion Parent only
Investment securities ¥498.4 billion Parent only
Securities ¥22.9 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥102.4 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥8,508.3 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment ¥125.8 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment, net ¥39.2 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment, net ¥3,563.3 billion Parent only
Property, plant and equipment, net ¥79.2 billion Parent only
Accrued fares receivables ¥139.9 billion Parent only
Accounts receivable-other ¥19.7 billion Parent only
Income taxes payable ¥129.9 billion Parent only
Accrued expenses ¥11.8 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥373.0 billion Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥4,605.5 billion Parent only
Current liabilities ¥1,049.8 billion Parent only
Current assets ¥1,536.7 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-63.2 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-4,945.0 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-46.6 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥22.5 billion Parent only
Intangible assets ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Cash and deposits ¥337.1 billion Parent only
Short-term loans payable ¥260.9 billion Parent only
Short-term loans receivable with resale agreement ¥19.7 billion Parent only
Bonds payable ¥699.6 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥4,738.3 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥4,738.3 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥10,579.7 billion Parent only
Deferred tax assets ¥140.4 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥815.6 billion Parent only
Treasury stock ¥-129.4 billion Parent only
Valuation and translation adjustments ¥132.8 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥5,841.4 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥10,579.7 billion Parent only
Supplies ¥23.1 billion Parent only
Capital surplus ¥53.5 billion Parent only
Legal capital surplus ¥53.5 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥112.0 billion Parent only
Provision for bonuses ¥24.6 billion Parent only
Provision for retirement benefits ¥155.8 billion Parent only
Railway service ¥2,570.2 billion Parent only
Noncurrent assets railway rwy ¥3,585.8 billion Parent only
Long term accounts payable railway equipment nclrwy ¥489.5 billion Parent only
Long-term loans payable ¥435.7 billion Parent only
Long-term prepaid expenses ¥22.6 billion Parent only
Shares of subsidiaries and associates ¥125.3 billion Parent only
Long-term loans receivable from subsidiaries and affiliates ¥68.9 billion Parent only
Construction in progress related rwy ¥3.00 million Parent only
Noncurrent assets related rwy ¥79.8 billion Parent only
Inter line fares received clrwy ¥1.5 billion Parent only
Deposits received ¥16.0 billion Parent only
Current portion of long term accounts payable railway equipment clrwy ¥8.3 billion Parent only
Current portion of bonds payable ¥29.8 billion Parent only
Current portion of long-term loans payable ¥105.5 billion Parent only

Statement of income (104 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥7.9 billion Consolidated
Other ¥3.7 billion Consolidated
Other ¥52.00 million Consolidated
Other ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Other comprehensive income ¥58.8 billion Consolidated
Valuation difference on available for sale securities net of tax ¥52.0 billion Consolidated
Personnel expenses ¥90.8 billion Consolidated
Dividends from surplus ¥-31.3 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income ¥620.5 billion Consolidated
Interest income ¥18.9 billion Consolidated
Dividend income ¥5.6 billion Consolidated
Operating income ¥830.2 billion Consolidated
Operating income ¥830.2 billion Consolidated
Operating revenue ¥2,006.2 billion Consolidated
Non-operating income ¥33.2 billion Consolidated
Non-operating expenses ¥82.4 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥748.2 billion Consolidated
Operating expenses ¥1,176.0 billion Consolidated
Loss on tax purpose reduction entry of non-current assets ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Loss on sale of non-current assets ¥0.9 billion Consolidated
Gain on sales of non-current assets ¥1.2 billion Consolidated
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥1.9 billion Consolidated
Net sales ¥2,006.2 billion Consolidated
Contribution for construction ¥2.4 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥552.9 billion Consolidated
Net income ¥552.9 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥561.7 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) ¥561.7 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-621.4 billion Consolidated
Share of profit of investments accounted for using equity method ¥0.8 billion Consolidated
Share of other comprehensive income of investments accounted for using equity method ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥46.0 billion Consolidated
Income taxes - current ¥225.3 billion Consolidated
Income taxes ¥217.6 billion Consolidated
Income taxes - deferred ¥-7.6 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥14.6 billion Consolidated
Extraordinary income ¥3.6 billion Consolidated
Extraordinary loss ¥5.1 billion Consolidated
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents ¥-24.1 billion Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥779.4 billion Consolidated
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥779.4 billion Consolidated
Ordinary income ¥780.9 billion Consolidated
Deferred gains or losses on hedges net of tax ¥1.00 million Consolidated
Purchase of treasury stock ¥-110.0 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to owners of parent ¥609.5 billion Consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥-150.9 billion Consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥216.8 billion Consolidated
Provision for bonuses ¥8.4 billion Consolidated
Remeasurements of defined benefit plans net of tax ¥6.5 billion Consolidated
Retirement benefit expenses ¥97.00 million Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents resulting from change in scope of consolidation ¥-3.00 million Consolidated
Purchase of shares of consolidated subsidiaries ¥-0 Consolidated
Change of scope of consolidation ¥-0.8 billion Consolidated
Operating expenses and cost of sales of transportation rwy ¥959.2 billion Consolidated
Interest on long term accounts payable railway equipment rwy ¥32.8 billion Consolidated
Comprehensive income attributable to non-controlling interests ¥11.0 billion Consolidated
Net income (loss) attributable to non-controlling interests ¥8.9 billion Consolidated
Other ¥6.0 billion Parent only
Other ¥3.3 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Other ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Other operating revenue ¥1.3 billion Parent only
General and administrative expenses ¥92.1 billion Parent only
Cost of real estate rent ¥4.2 billion Parent only
Rent income of real estate ¥16.9 billion Parent only
Dividends from surplus ¥-31.3 billion Parent only
Interest income ¥2.3 billion Parent only
Dividend income ¥5.4 billion Parent only
Operating income ¥774.4 billion Parent only
Non-operating income ¥31.1 billion Parent only
Non-operating expenses ¥84.7 billion Parent only
Loss on tax purpose reduction entry of non-current assets ¥2.6 billion Parent only
Loss on sale of non-current assets ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Gain on sales of non-current assets ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Contribution for construction ¥1.8 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥512.6 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥512.6 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥34.9 billion Parent only
Passenger transportation ¥1,585.4 billion Parent only
Interest on securities ¥17.4 billion Parent only
Income taxes - current ¥212.8 billion Parent only
Income taxes ¥208.2 billion Parent only
Income taxes - deferred ¥-4.6 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥187.9 billion Parent only
Depreciation ¥2.8 billion Parent only
Extraordinary income ¥3.2 billion Parent only
Extraordinary loss ¥3.2 billion Parent only
Interest on bonds ¥13.6 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥720.9 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥720.9 billion Parent only
Purchase of treasury stock ¥-110.0 billion Parent only
Taxes ¥43.9 billion Parent only
Taxes ¥2.6 billion Parent only
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Miscellaneous income of transportation ¥55.7 billion Parent only
Transportation operating expenses ¥554.7 billion Parent only
Operating income railway rwy ¥766.4 billion Parent only
Operating revenue railway rwy ¥1,645.0 billion Parent only
Operating expenses railway rwy ¥878.6 billion Parent only
Interest on long term accounts payable railway equipment rwy ¥32.8 billion Parent only
Trackage revenue orrwy ¥4.0 billion Parent only
Operating income related rwy ¥8.0 billion Parent only
Operating revenue related rwy ¥18.2 billion Parent only
Operating expenses related rwy ¥10.2 billion Parent only

Statement of changes in equity (4 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥478.1 billion Consolidated
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥67.1 billion Consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥423.3 billion Parent only
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥51.7 billion Parent only

Statement of cash flows (35 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥17.3 billion Consolidated
Other ¥6.5 billion Consolidated
Other ¥1.1 billion Consolidated
Increase decrease in notes and accounts payable trade ¥9.3 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses paid ¥-78.5 billion Consolidated
Interest and dividends income received ¥20.0 billion Consolidated
Interest and dividend income ¥-24.5 billion Consolidated
Loss on tax purpose reduction entry of non-current assets ¥2.2 billion Consolidated
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥6.2 billion Consolidated
Decrease increase in notes and accounts receivable trade ¥-24.7 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from withdrawal of time deposits ¥123.0 billion Consolidated
Payments into time deposits ¥-123.0 billion Consolidated
Subtotal ¥1,030.3 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from contribution received for construction ¥7.2 billion Consolidated
Contribution for construction ¥-2.4 billion Consolidated
Purchase of investment securities ¥-4.0 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from sales and redemption of investment securities ¥67.3 billion Consolidated
Interest expenses ¥78.8 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from redemption of securities ¥27.0 billion Consolidated
Purchase of short term investment securities ¥-27.0 billion Consolidated
Purchase of property plant and equipment ¥-493.3 billion Consolidated
Decrease (increase) in inventories ¥-12.4 billion Consolidated
Income taxes paid ¥-223.7 billion Consolidated
Depreciation ¥205.9 billion Consolidated
Purchase of intangible assets ¥-30.8 billion Consolidated
Decrease/increase in short-term loans payable ¥-0.1 billion Consolidated
Regarding purchase of treasury stock ¥-110.0 billion Consolidated
Increase (decrease) in net defined benefit liability ¥-4.7 billion Consolidated
Dividends ¥-31.3 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from cancellation of money held in trust ¥4.5 billion Consolidated
Payments for money held in trust inv cfbnk ¥-420.0 billion Consolidated
Payments for long term accounts payable railway equipment fin cfrwy ¥-7.8 billion Consolidated
Proceeds from long term loans payable ¥73.8 billion Consolidated
Repayment of long term loans payable ¥-76.2 billion Consolidated
Dividends paid to non-controlling interests ¥-0.4 billion Consolidated
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥748.2 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Dividend per share 32 Parent onlyDisclosed
Number of employees 29,569 ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net assets ¥5,136.6 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net sales ¥2,006.2 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating income ¥830.2 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥780.9 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Net income ¥552.9 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Total assets ¥10,876.2 billion ConsolidatedDisclosed
Operating margin 41.4%ConsolidatedCalculated
Net margin 27.6%ConsolidatedCalculated
Sales per employee 67848693 yenConsolidatedCalculated
Total asset turnover 0.18 timesConsolidatedCalculated
Net assets to total assets 47.2%ConsolidatedCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Operating margin 41.4% Operating income ÷ net sales  = ¥830.2 billion ÷ ¥2,006.2 billion
    Operating income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net margin 27.6% Net income ÷ net sales  = ¥552.9 billion ÷ ¥2,006.2 billion
    Net income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Sales per employee 67,848,693 yen Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees  = ¥2,006.2 billion ÷ 29,569 people
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees. The denominator is Number of employees (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Total asset turnover 0.18 times Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets  = ¥2,006.2 billion ÷ ¥10,876.2 billion
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net assets to total assets 47.2% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥5,136.6 billion ÷ ¥10,876.2 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Consolidated, Japanese GAAP).

Company details

  • Representative President, Representative Director, gBizINFO
  • Date of incorporation gBizINFO · 39 years since incorporation
  • Consolidated subsidiaries Annual Securities Report

Revenue and profit by business segment

  • Source: segment information, Annual Securities Report (Apr 2025 to Mar 2026) · Consolidated · Net sales to external customers · filed 2026-06-22
  • Share: against the total of Net sales to external customers disclosed by business (100%). Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out as they are not businesses (so no match with company-wide Net sales to external customers). Margin: calculated against the Net sales to external customers on the same row“Total” in the segment information of the annual securities report: ¥2,006.2 billion. Gap against this table’s total (the part not listed as a business, such as “other”) within 1%The account may differ from “Revenue” at the top of this page

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Selling, general and administrative expenses

  • Breakdown of selling, general and administrative expenses (costs of selling and running the company). Cost of sales not included
  • Each item: already inside the SG&A total (not added to it)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Return on assets (ROA) Net income ÷ total assets (consolidated)
  • Net assets per share Consolidated
  • Free cash flow Free cash flow: operating cash flow (cash generated by the business) plus investing cash flow (asset purchases, disposals and other investments), consolidated
  • Total assets Consolidated

Capital allocation

  • ★: position when all companies are sorted by value and cut into fifths (a position, not a rating). The five items with ★: only where both numerator and denominator are available on a consolidated basisSee the formulas
  • Cash conversion Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ÷ operating income
  • Increase in working capital (increase in trade receivables + increase in inventories) ÷ net sales (or operating revenue)。Trade receivables up ¥24.7 billion + inventories up ¥12.4 billion, over net sales ¥2,006.2 billion
  • Property, plant and equipment purchases relative to depreciation Purchase of property, plant and equipment ÷ depreciation。Purchase of property, plant and equipment ¥493.3 billion, over depreciation ¥205.9 billion
  • Return to shareholders (dividends paid + purchase of treasury stock) ÷ net cash provided by operating activities。Dividends paid ¥31.3 billion + purchase of treasury stock ¥110.0 billion, over operating cash flow ¥748.2 billion
  • Extraordinary gains and losses relative to ordinary profit (extraordinary income − extraordinary loss) ÷ ordinary income。Extraordinary income ¥3.6 billion − extraordinary loss ¥5.1 billion, over ordinary income ¥780.9 billion
  • Investment securities to net assets Investment securities ÷ net assets。Investment securities ¥538.5 billion, over net assets ¥5,136.6 billion

Long-term changes in performance

  • Revenue Disclosed value for 2026 ÷ disclosed value for 2013

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Earnings and net assets per share over time

  • Earnings per share = net profit ÷ shares; net assets per share = net assets ÷ shares. Disclosed values from the key financial indicators of the annual securities report. No share prices used

Return on equity over time

  • Return on equity (ROE): net profit as a proportion of equity. For Japanese companies, the disclosed value in the key financial indicators of the annual securities report (decimals converted to percentages)

Dividend history

  • Payout ratio: dividends as a proportion of net profit. Dividend amounts and payout ratios: the reporting company’s parent-only disclosed values (as written in the annual securities report, not recalculated from consolidated profit). Consecutive increases: years in a row, from the latest backwards, in which the annual dividend per share rose. Consecutive years with a dividend: years in a row with an annual dividend per share above zero. Both this site’s own count (not the criteria of any published index). A year with no disclosure not read as zero; counting stops there. Range limited to the years listed above. Flagged 1 years: a note about a stock split or share consolidation, or a period other than 12 months. No calculation across those years, as the dividend per share may rest on a different share base.

Share ownership by holder category

  • Source: ownership table, annual securities report. Percentages as disclosed, calculated on trading units (some companies do not total exactly 100%). Foreign holders (total): institutions and individuals combined. “Individuals and others”: a register category (not necessarily the share actually held by individuals). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Land Transportation that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

  • Research and development: total in the R&D section of the annual securities report. Capital expenditure: this year’s actual spending in the capital expenditure overview (not a plan). Years: only those available in the annual securities reports on hand (one to four per company); no row for other years. Share of revenue: divided by consolidated revenue in the same annual securities report. Industry median: the middle value among companies in Land Transportation that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only). Segment names and order: the same as the segment table above. Group-wide research and adjustments mean segment figures may not add up to the company-wide amount.

Revenue scale in the same industry

  • Revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry, using the same grouping as the industry pages. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Bar length relative to the largest company (100). An order of size, not a ranking of quality

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Employees across the consolidated group: 29,569 (a different scope, kept apart from the four above). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Land Transportation that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

People and organisation

  • Sales per employee Net sales (or operating revenue) ÷ employees
  • Operating income per employee Operating income ÷ employees
  • Wage gap between men and women Women's pay with men's pay set to 100, reporting company
  • Women in managerial positions Reporting company (parent only)
  • Men taking childcare leave Reporting company (parent only)
  • Average length of service by gender gBizINFO, covering その他
  • Employees by gender gBizINFO
  • Female managers gBizINFO: 24 women among 843 managers
  • Female officers gBizINFO: 2 women among 16 officers
  • Average temporary staff Consolidated, average headcount other than regular employees

Workplace information filings

  • Source: processed from Shokuba-labo, the workplace information site of the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. Items the company filed only Shokuba-labo

Subsidy award information

  • Source: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry). Subsidy award records published by each ministry, matched by corporate number gBizINFO (METI)

Greenhouse gas emissions

  • Categories count different things; not added together Source: processed from the Ministry of the Environment’s greenhouse gas calculation, reporting and disclosure system (EEGS). Companies required to report only Ministry of the Environment (EEGS)

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of Central Japan Railway Company on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 3180001031569 / Accounting standard: Japanese GAAP

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork