Ano Kaisha no Shikumi
Search
Menu

Blue innovation

Blue innovation Co., Ltd.

Company highlights

The largest holder on the register is 熊田 貴之, at 37.0%.

Key figures

Period Jan 2025 to Dec 2025Parent onlyJapanese GAAP

RevenueDisclosed ¥1.1B
Operating marginCalculated -52.1%
Net assets to total assetsCalculated 14.6%

Company profile

Securities code 5597 / EDINET code E39114 / Information and Communication / Fiscal year end December 31

文京区本郷五丁目33番10号/Capital stock ¥799 million
Address, capital stock, fiscal year end and industry: the FSA’s EDINET code list.

Company details
熊田 貴之 Representative
6/10/1999 Date of incorporation

Tables scroll sideways

Disclosed data

Source: Annual Securities Report (Jan 2025 to Dec 2025) · filed 2026-03-30

Profitability ★☆☆☆☆position among all companies -52.1%
Growth (revenue, 4-year average) ★★★★☆position among all companies 9.7%
Capital efficiency Could not be retrieved

Business activities and revenue composition

Revenue and profit by business segment

Disclosed segments (business divisions used in reporting): one

Revenue and profit

Blue innovation

Period Jan 2025 to Dec 2025Source Annual securities reports

Net sales and operating revenue ¥1.1B 100% Cost of sales ¥0.6B 61% Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥1.0B 91% Operating income ¥-0.5B 52%
Amounts by account
GroupAccountAmountConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Selling, general and administrative expenses Salaries and allowances ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Research and development expenses ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Directors' compensations ¥71.29 million Parent only
Profit by stage Ordinary income ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Operating income ¥-0.5 billion Parent only
Gross profit (loss) ¥0.4 billion Parent only

Blue innovation

Selling, general and administrative expenses

Period Jan 2025 to Dec 2025Source Annual securities reports

Salaries and allowances ¥0.3 billion (32.6%)33%Research and development expenses ¥0.2 billion (15.7%)16%Directors' compensations ¥0.1 billion (7.4%)7%Other (not itemized) ¥0.4 billion (44.3%)44%¥1.0B
  • Salaries and allowances ¥0.3 billion
  • Research and development expenses ¥0.2 billion
  • Directors' compensations ¥0.1 billion
  • Other (not itemized) ¥0.4 billion

Performance, financial position and capital allocation

Finance
14.6% Net assets to total assets Industry median 63.6% FY ending 12/2025 · consolidated / calculated
¥50.02 Net assets per share
¥1.4 billion Total assets

Blue innovation

Recent performance trends

Source Annual securities reports

1 1 0 -1 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net sales and operating revenue Ordinary income ¥ billion

Year-on-year comparison

Period 2021 to 2025Disclosed

Item20212022202320242025
Net sales ¥0.7B ¥0.9B ¥1.3B ¥1.2B ¥1.1B
Year on year (%) Could not be retrieved +25.2%◆ +39.2%◆ -3.3% -14.0%
Ordinary income (loss) -¥0.4B -¥0.3B -¥0.3B -¥0.4B -¥0.6B
Change from prior year Could not be retrieved 0.87x 0.87x 1.33x 1.43x
Ordinary income (loss) as a share of Net sales -54.3% -37.6% -23.4% -32.0% -53.4%
Change (percentage points) Could not be retrieved +16.7 points◆ +14.2 points◆ -8.7 points◆ -21.3 points◆

Fiscal periods marked for changes

Earlier fiscal periods (1)
  • 2022Net sales year on year +25.2%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +16.7 points
  • 2023Net sales year on year +39.2%, Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue +14.2 points
  • 2024Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -8.7 points
  • 2025Ordinary income (loss) as a share of revenue -21.3 points

Blue innovation

Earnings and net assets per share over time

Unit yenSource Annual securities reports

-90 -114 -137 -161 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Earnings per share yen 261 174 87 0 4 years ago 3 years ago 2 years ago Last year This year Net assets per share yen
Parent only indicators (14 items)
Item4 years ago3 years ago2 years agoLast yearThis year
Net sales ¥0.7 billion ¥0.9 billion ¥1.3 billion ¥1.2 billion ¥1.1 billion
Ordinary income (loss) ¥-0.4 billion ¥-0.3 billion ¥-0.3 billion ¥-0.4 billion ¥-0.6 billion
Net income (loss) ¥-0.4 billion ¥-0.3 billion ¥-0.3 billion ¥-0.4 billion ¥-0.6 billion
Capital stock ¥0.1 billion ¥0.2 billion ¥0.7 billion ¥0.7 billion ¥0.8 billion
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 3,174,807 shares 3,279,351 shares 3,939,051 shares 3,939,051 shares 4,025,671 shares
Net assets ¥0.5 billion ¥0.4 billion ¥1.0 billion ¥0.6 billion ¥0.2 billion
Total assets ¥1.0 billion ¥0.9 billion ¥1.8 billion ¥1.3 billion ¥1.4 billion
Net assets per share 151.37 yen 111.6 yen 260.99 yen 160.79 yen 50.02 yen
Basic earnings (loss) per share -124.42 yen -106.01 yen -90.35 yen -100.21 yen -160.55 yen
Equity-to-asset ratio 46.2% 39.1% 57.6% 47.2% 14.4%
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-0.3 billion ¥-0.4 billion ¥-0.3 billion ¥-0.5 billion ¥-0.3 billion
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-52.15 million ¥-12.55 million ¥-30.67 million ¥-37.47 million ¥-27.90 million
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥0.4 billion ¥0.2 billion ¥1.0 billion ¥-21.86 million ¥0.7 billion
Cash and cash equivalents ¥0.7 billion ¥0.5 billion ¥1.2 billion ¥0.7 billion ¥1.0 billion

Shareholder composition

As of 2025-12-31Disclosed

Share ownership by holder category

4,757 Shareholders
4.34% Foreign holders (total) Industry median 4.54%
84.46% Individuals and others Industry median 55.00%

Blue innovation

Unit %Source Annual securities reports

  • Financial institutions0.11%
  • Securities firms3.16%
  • Other corporations7.93%
  • Foreign holders (institutions)4.14%
  • Foreign holders (individuals)0.20%
  • Individuals and others84.46%

Major shareholders

RankShareholderShareholding ratioShares held
1 熊田 貴之 37.02% 1,490,400
2 福田 重男 4.47% 180,000
3 熊田 雅之 2.81% 113,400
4 いであ株式会社 2.0% 80,900
5 MSCO CUSTOMER SECURITIES(常任代理人 モルガン・スタンレーMUFG証券株式会社) 1.6% 64,500
6 FUSOグループホールディングス株式会社 1.24% 50,000
7 大成温調株式会社 1.24% 50,000
8 DRONE FUND3号投資事業有限責任組合 1.12% 45,454
9 横田 賢司 1.06% 42,800
10 大成株式会社 0.99% 40,000

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

Source: R&D and capital expenditure sections, annual securities reports · 2 years (2024 to 2025)Disclosed

¥0.2 billion Research and development
¥28.49 million Capital expenditure
Fiscal year Research and development Capital expenditure
FY ending 12/2025 ¥0.2 billion ¥28.49 million
FY ending 12/2024 ¥0.1 billion Could not be retrieved

Revenue scale in the same industry

Blue innovation

Source Annual securities reports of each company

Information and Communication: 642 companies · revenue · largest first・each company’s latest fiscal year・consolidated (parent-only where no consolidated figures)・Disclosed

Workforce information

Source: Annual Securities Report (Jan 2025 to Dec 2025)Parent-onlyDisclosed

68 Employees (parent only) Industry median 138
41.4 Average age Industry median 38.1
4.6 years Average length of service Industry median 6.3 years
¥7.13 million Average annual salary Industry median ¥6.54 million
People and organisation
15.5¥ million Sales per employee Industry median 24.7¥ million FY ending 12/2025 · parent company only / calculated
¥-8.06 million Operating income per employee
7 Average temporary staff

Administrative filings and published information

Subsidy award information

1 awards, 2020-07-14 to 2020-07-14Disclosed

Date approvedSubsidyMinistryAmount
2020-07-14先進的造林技術推進事業農林水産省 ¥30.00 million

Audit and disclosure information

Annual securities report, year ended 2025-12-31Disclosed

ItemValue
Audit firm 太陽有限責任監査法人
Audit fees (this year, filing company) ¥20.00 million
Non-audit fees (this year, total) Not applicable
Going concern note Cannot be determined
Accounting standard Japanese GAAP

Ad: Amazon Associates links (the operator may earn a referral fee) · books by the site operator

Books that cover companies in the same industry

This company: not covered in the books below

Cover of “Kaisha no Shikumi: Selling the Same Hit Again and Again” Same industry: Information and Communication “Kaisha no Shikumi: Selling the Same Hit Again and Again” Reads the filings of game and film companies for how many years and in how many ways they resell the same title. Information and Communication companies in this book: CAPCOM, TOHO, GungHo Online Entertainment “Ano Kaisha no Shikumi” series, Vol.9 — Kindle and paperback Find it on Amazon → Cover of “Kaisha no Shikumi: Free” Same industry: Information and Communication “Kaisha no Shikumi: Free” Reads the filings of internet and broadcasting companies for who pays for services that users get free. Information and Communication companies in this book: LY, Mercari, Nippon Television “Ano Kaisha no Shikumi” series, Vol.6 — Kindle and paperback Find it on Amazon →

Sources and methodology

Retrieved disclosed figures

Accounts and values from the annual securities report, by section

Major management indicators (5 years) (14 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Net sales ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-27.90 million Parent only
Cash and cash equivalents ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Total number of issued shares (common stock) 4,025,671 shares Parent only
Net assets ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Ordinary income (loss) ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥1.4 billion Parent only
Equity-to-asset ratio 14.4% Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Basic earnings (loss) per share -160.55 yen Parent only
Net assets per share 50.02 yen Parent only

Employees (5 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Average length of service (years) 4.6 years Parent only
Average annual salary ¥7.13 million Parent only
Average age (years) 41.4 years old Parent only
Number of employees 68 people Parent only
Number of employees 68 people Parent only

Other disclosed items (3 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Average number of temporary employees 7 people Parent only
Average number of temporary employees 7 people Parent only
Total return on the share price index 95.6% Parent only

Shares (5 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Number of shares held 2,157,454 shares Consolidated
Number of shares 4,025,671 shares Consolidated
Shareholding ratio 53.6% Consolidated
Number of voting rights 40,139 units Consolidated
Total shareholder return 74.9% Parent only

Research and development (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Research and development expenses ¥0.2 billion Consolidated
Research and development expenses included in general and administrative expenses and manufacturing cost for current period ¥0.2 billion Parent only

Property and facilities (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Capital expenditures ¥28.49 million Consolidated

Audit (1 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Fees for audit and attestation services - reporting company ¥20.00 million Consolidated

Balance sheet (43 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥2.04 million Parent only
Other ¥13.18 million Parent only
Other ¥0.84 million Parent only
Other ¥2.84 million Parent only
Other capital surplus ¥35.97 million Parent only
Work in process ¥1.50 million Parent only
Retained earnings ¥-1.3 billion Parent only
Advances received ¥9.19 million Parent only
Prepaid expenses ¥20.02 million Parent only
Advance payments trade ¥0.57 million Parent only
Raw materials and supplies ¥2.63 million Parent only
Notes receivable - trade ¥1.34 million Parent only
Merchandise and finished goods ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Non-current liabilities ¥0.9 billion Parent only
Non-current assets ¥13.92 million Parent only
Accounts receivable - trade ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Contract assets ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Investments and other assets ¥13.92 million Parent only
Subscription rights to shares ¥3.89 million Parent only
Income taxes payable ¥9.19 million Parent only
Accrued expenses ¥55.52 million Parent only
Accounts payable - other ¥26.57 million Parent only
Shareholders' equity ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Current liabilities ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Current assets ¥1.4 billion Parent only
Accumulated depreciation ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Cash and cash equivalents ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Cash and deposits ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Bonds payable ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Net assets ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Total assets ¥1.4 billion Parent only
Retained earnings brought forward ¥-1.3 billion Parent only
Liabilities ¥1.2 billion Parent only
Liabilities and net assets ¥1.4 billion Parent only
Accounts payable - trade ¥0.1 billion Parent only
Capital surplus ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Legal capital surplus ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Capital stock ¥0.8 billion Parent only
Long-term loans payable ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Long-term prepaid expenses ¥0.74 million Parent only
Deposits received ¥17.30 million Parent only
Current portion of long-term loans payable ¥25.57 million Parent only

Accounts unique to this company (6 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Revenue ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥3.29 million Parent only
Revenue ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Revenue ¥-3.29 million Parent only
Revenue ¥14.48 million Parent only
Revenue ¥-14.48 million Parent only

Statement of income (31 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥0.78 million Parent only
Commission for insurance office work ¥1.86 million Parent only
Interest income ¥0.95 million Parent only
Operating income ¥-0.5 billion Parent only
Non-operating income ¥6.87 million Parent only
Non-operating expenses ¥20.09 million Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Loss on retirement of non-current assets ¥0 Parent only
Cost of sales ¥0.6 billion Parent only
Gross profit (loss) ¥0.4 billion Parent only
Net sales ¥1.1 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Net income (loss) ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Directors' compensations ¥71.29 million Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities ¥-27.90 million Parent only
Interest expenses ¥3.43 million Parent only
Issuance of new shares ¥3.50 million Parent only
Income taxes - current ¥2.70 million Parent only
Income taxes ¥2.70 million Parent only
Impairment loss ¥71.49 million Parent only
Foreign exchange losses ¥2.18 million Parent only
Extraordinary loss ¥71.49 million Parent only
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Research and development expenses ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Income (loss) before income taxes ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Ordinary income ¥-0.6 billion Parent only
Salaries and allowances ¥0.3 billion Parent only
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities ¥0.7 billion Parent only
Selling, general and administrative expenses ¥1.0 billion Parent only
Financing expenses ¥14.48 million Parent only

Statement of changes in equity (2 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Total changes during the period ¥-0.4 billion Parent only
Net changes in items other than shareholders' equity ¥3.89 million Parent only

Statement of cash flows (23 items)

ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidated
Other ¥6.68 million Parent only
Increase decrease in notes and accounts payable trade ¥12.27 million Parent only
Proceeds from insurance income ¥3.29 million Parent only
Interest expenses paid ¥-3.43 million Parent only
Interest and dividends income received ¥0.95 million Parent only
Increase (decrease) in advances received ¥0.46 million Parent only
Decrease (increase) in advance payments to suppliers ¥8.94 million Parent only
Interest and dividend income ¥-0.95 million Parent only
Decrease increase in notes and accounts receivable trade ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Subtotal ¥-0.3 billion Parent only
Interest expenses ¥3.43 million Parent only
Proceeds from issuance of subscription rights to shares ¥3.89 million Parent only
Purchase of property plant and equipment ¥-27.90 million Parent only
Decrease in consumption taxes payable ¥12.38 million Parent only
Increase (decrease) in accounts payable-other ¥2.38 million Parent only
Proceeds from issuance of common stock ¥0.2 billion Parent only
Decrease (increase) in inventories ¥-65.54 million Parent only
Income taxes refund (paid) ¥-2.61 million Parent only
Depreciation ¥46.59 million Parent only
Impairment loss ¥71.49 million Parent only
Proceeds from issuance of bonds ¥0.5 billion Parent only
Increase (decrease) in provision for bonuses ¥-8.96 million Parent only
Repayment of long term loans payable ¥-17.58 million Parent only
Basic indicators
ItemValueConsolidated / Non-consolidatedSource
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities ¥-0.3 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Number of employees 68 Parent onlyDisclosed
Net assets ¥0.2 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Net sales ¥1.1 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Operating income ¥-0.5 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Ordinary income ¥-0.6 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Total assets ¥1.4 billion Parent onlyDisclosed
Operating margin -52.1%Parent onlyCalculated
Net margin Not disclosedNot applicableNot calculated (a required value is not disclosed)
Sales per employee 15462735 yenParent onlyCalculated
Total asset turnover 0.75 timesParent onlyCalculated
Net assets to total assets 14.6%Parent onlyCalculated
How to read the figures, and caveats

Terms

  • Consolidated: the parent company together with the subsidiaries it consolidates
  • Parent-only: the single company that filed the annual securities report
  • Calculated: a disclosed figure put through the formula shown
  • Not disclosed: no such value in the filing (not treated as zero)
  • Not retrieved: a value this page could not extract, including values in the filing that could not be matched. The same item may appear in another table
  • Segment: a business division the company uses in its disclosures
  • Industry median: the middle value among companies in the same industry that disclose the item
  • ★: position when every company is lined up by value (not a judgement of the company)See the formulas
  • Source: document name, period covered, filing date and where it was obtained
  • Tables scroll sideways

Key figures

  • Operating margin -52.1% Operating income ÷ net sales  = ¥-0.5 billion ÷ ¥1.1 billion
    Operating income ÷ net sales. The denominator is Net sales (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).
  • Sales per employee 15,462,735 yen Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees  = ¥1.1 billion ÷ 68 people
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ employees. The denominator is Number of employees (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).
  • Total asset turnover 0.75 times Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets  = ¥1.1 billion ÷ ¥1.4 billion
    Sales or operating revenue ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).
  • Net assets to total assets 14.6% Net assets ÷ total assets  = ¥0.2 billion ÷ ¥1.4 billion
    Net assets ÷ total assets. The denominator is Total assets (Parent only, Japanese GAAP).

Company details

  • Representative 代表取締役社長 最高執行役員, gBizINFO
  • Date of incorporation gBizINFO · 27 years since incorporation

Amounts by account

  • Totals and their component lines together; consolidated and parent-only figures mixed (right-hand column)

Selling, general and administrative expenses

  • Breakdown of selling, general and administrative expenses (costs of selling and running the company). Cost of sales not included
  • Each item: already inside the SG&A total (not added to it)

Finance

  • Net assets to total assets Net assets ÷ total assets
  • Net assets per share Parent only
  • Total assets Parent only

Year-on-year comparison

  • Year on year: calculated only where the item, reporting range and accounting standard match and the periods are consecutive
  • Comparison basis not confirmed: periods with a change of accounting standard or reporting range, a moved fiscal year end, or an unconfirmed period
  • ◆: a period where revenue moved 20% or more from the prior year, profit as a share of revenue moved 2.0 percentage points or more, or profit or loss changed sign. Item used named in the table and list. Not a ranking of companies

Earnings and net assets per share over time

  • Earnings per share = net profit ÷ shares; net assets per share = net assets ÷ shares. Disclosed values from the key financial indicators of the annual securities report. No share prices used

Share ownership by holder category

  • Source: ownership table, annual securities report. Percentages as disclosed, calculated on trading units (some companies do not total exactly 100%). Foreign holders (total): institutions and individuals combined. “Individuals and others”: a register category (not necessarily the share actually held by individuals). Industry median: the middle value among companies in Information and Communication that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

Major shareholders

  • Source: major shareholders table, annual securities report. Trust bank holdings as written (whose trust is not disclosed)

Research and development expenses and capital expenditure

  • Research and development: total in the R&D section of the annual securities report. Capital expenditure: this year’s actual spending in the capital expenditure overview (not a plan). Years: only those available in the annual securities reports on hand (one to four per company); no row for other years.

Revenue scale in the same industry

  • Revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry, using the same grouping as the industry pages. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Bar length relative to the largest company (100). An order of size, not a ranking of quality

Workforce information

  • All four: the reporting company (parent-only), as disclosed in the employee section of the annual securities report. Industry median: the middle value among companies in Information and Communication that disclose the item (industries with at least 5 companies only).

People and organisation

  • Sales per employee Net sales (or operating revenue) ÷ employees
  • Operating income per employee Operating income ÷ employees
  • Average temporary staff Parent only, average headcount other than regular employees

Subsidy award information

  • Source: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry). Subsidy award records published by each ministry, matched by corporate number gBizINFO (METI)

Audit and disclosure information

  • Whether there is a going concern note (the accounting assumption that a company will continue operating), and audit information
  • Audit firm, audit fees, going concern note and accounting standard: facts written in the latest annual securities report and the audit report filed with it (not a judgement of the company). Going concern note: “note” when the note text is present, “not applicable” when the report states nothing to report, “cannot be determined” when neither appears. Note text not reproduced. Amended filings not shown (annual securities reports only)

Data sources and calculation methods

Primary source: the annual securities report of Blue innovation Co., Ltd. on EDINET, the FSA’s disclosure system (free to read)
Corporate number: 7010002053617 / Accounting standard: Japanese GAAP

  • Amounts: machine transcription of EDINET XBRL (no manual re-keying). Long narrative notes are text and not in the account list. Identifiers: machine transcription of the EDINET code list (retrieved 2026-08-22)
  • ★: position of the value calculated from disclosed figures among the 4,240 companies on this site, on a five-step scale. Not a judgement of the company. No forecasts usedThe formulas and how they are counted
  • No rank: net assets as a share of total assets, cash conversion and revenue per employee (size alone does not show quality). Industry median shown for comparison. Cash conversion of 100%: operating cash flow equal to operating profit
  • Profit-and-loss chart: only where “sales − cost of sales − SG&A = operating income” holds between disclosed values. Cost breakdown: the six largest SG&A items
  • Trend charts: key financial indicators of the annual securities report. Amounts in billions of yen (dividend per share in yen). Long-run chart joins reports filed in different years (newer report for overlapping years). Some items stop part-way after a change of accounting standard. A stock split changes the weight of one share. Consolidated and parent-only in separate tables
  • Revenue scale in the same industry: bars of revenue (disclosed values) of companies in the same industry grouping as the industry pages, largest first. Only the top three and the two companies either side of this one. Each company’s latest fiscal year. An order of size, not a ranking of quality or an investment view
  • Share prices: not published (no data source allows redistribution). No share-price-based indicators (such as the price earnings ratio) and no extension of past growth into the future
  • Average age, average length of service and average annual salary: the reporting company alone (the parent). At a holding company, a small head-office staff. Payout ratio (basic facts): dividend per share ÷ consolidated earnings per share, calculated here (the payout ratio in the annual securities report is the reporting company’s figure, on a different basis). Representative and founding date: gBizINFO (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), some companies only
  • “Retrieved disclosed figures”: every value readable as a number from the annual securities report. Company-wide values only (no segment or other breakdowns)
  • Segment table: machine transcription of the segment information in the annual securities report. Business names as labelled by the company in its XBRL. No table where segment sales differ from the disclosed total by more than 1%. Adjustments, corporate, eliminations and “other” left out of the table and the share denominator, as they are not businesses
  • Breakdowns of amounts, not diagrams of how the business works. Who pays whom, and for what, is not in the disclosed figures; no lines drawn from guesswork